Jump to content


XVM installation


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
56 replies to this topic

sweenytodd #1 Posted Apr 12 2012 - 17:04

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 9121 battles
  • 1,076
  • [PARAX] PARAX
  • Member since:
    07-30-2010
I dont mod much (this is my first), but I wanted to try the XVM mod because I've had my own system of estimating the odds of a win for a while and would like to see how it stacks up.  I downloaded the version I want, but where do I extract the files to?  Any help would be appreciated.

Loksha #2 Posted Apr 12 2012 - 17:42

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 27349 battles
  • 248
  • Member since:
    03-04-2011
How to install

Step 1. Download and install DokanLib 0.6.0




Step 2. Download the xvm-full-2.0.zip file and save it into your World of Tanks mainfolder. Should normally be C:\Program Files\World_of_Tanks.




Step 3. Rightclick on the "xvm-full-2.0.zip" file and click on "Here unpack" or "Extract here". If you get asked if you want to replace the files, click yes (all)


.
Step 4. Now, there is a new folder into your WoT mainfolder, its called "xvm-doc". Open that folder, then open the "samples" folder and then open the "Full config" folder. Copy this XVM config file to C:\Program Files\World_of_Tanks\res_mods\0.7.2.\gui\flash




Step 5. Start the game with the new "wot-xvm-proxy" exe. It will open a black config window, and max. 5 secs later will WoT get startet. Dont close the black config window!





Step 6. Play the game!
:Smile_honoring:

sweenytodd #3 Posted Apr 12 2012 - 20:27

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 9121 battles
  • 1,076
  • [PARAX] PARAX
  • Member since:
    07-30-2010
I went through the steps (thanks for the help by the way) and when I tried to start it returned the following:
WoT XVM Proxy v1.1.429224
System.Exception: Game start file not found: WorldOfTanks.exe
      at wot.Program.Main<String[ ] args>

Any idea what I did wrong?


EDIT: Ok went through and got it working, still not showing the player win rates, efficiency ratings, or reload timer as I want it to. Any ideas on that?


2nd EDIT: All good, played with it and is fixed. Thanks for the initial help

ForcestormX #4 Posted Apr 17 2012 - 01:23

    Major

  • Wiki Staff
  • 10269 battles
  • 10,864
  • Member since:
    06-22-2011
The .exe keeps crashing on me. Why? :(

snipshot #5 Posted Apr 17 2012 - 01:39

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 18626 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    01-04-2011
Have you done the following:

Step 1. Download and install DokanLib 0.6.0

V_P_V #6 Posted Apr 19 2012 - 08:29

    Major

  • Players
  • 11398 battles
  • 2,231
  • [-PACK] -PACK
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011
Ugh!

I have installed dokanlib.
I have extracted XVM folder to C:\Games\WoT
I have placed XVM.xvconf file in res_mods\0.7.2\res\gui\flash

I have NO stats in-game, after restarting multiple times.

Will any one help me, please?

V_P_V #7 Posted Apr 19 2012 - 09:04

    Major

  • Players
  • 11398 battles
  • 2,231
  • [-PACK] -PACK
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011
Okay, I used the older version of XVM and it works. Never mind me.

Jagdfan #8 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 00:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 14889 battles
  • 2,190
  • [SM0KE] SM0KE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011
My res_mods/0.7.2 folder in WOT main folder does not have sub-folders gui/flash.  When I try to start using C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\xvm-full-2.1.1\wot-xvm-proxy.exe I get a message WorldofTanks.exe not found.  Anyone know what I have done wrong/how to correct this?

Fireguard #9 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 01:37

    Captain

  • Players
  • 8330 battles
  • 1,963
  • Member since:
    06-24-2011
Copy the whole 0.7.2 folder from the download into your res_mods folder.

You have to drop the wot-xvm-proxy.exe into the game folder, and make a shortcut on your desktop.

Make sure you have installed dokan 6.0.

Make sure you have dropped the Show Statistics xvm-config into your/res-mods/0.7.2/gui/flash.

Prepare to be enlightened when you have it working, it is mind-boggling.

Jagdfan #10 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 02:10

    Major

  • Players
  • 14889 battles
  • 2,190
  • [SM0KE] SM0KE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011

View PostFireguard, on Apr 26 2012 - 01:37, said:

Copy the whole 0.7.2 folder from the download into your res_mods folder.

You have to drop the wot-xvm-proxy.exe into the game folder, and make a shortcut on your desktop.

Make sure you have installed dokan 6.0.

Make sure you have dropped the Show Statistics xvm-config into your/res-mods/0.7.2/gui/flash.

Prepare to be enlightened when you have it working, it is mind-boggling.

Thanks - got all of that except  the Show Statistics xvm-config - I copied xvmconf file but can not find a Show Statistics file.  is "Show Statistics" part of the file name, or just a description of the function of the xvmconf file?

Fireguard #11 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 02:12

    Captain

  • Players
  • 8330 battles
  • 1,963
  • Member since:
    06-24-2011
On laptop. Gotta go to my PC. Stand by.

Fireguard #12 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 02:16

    Captain

  • Players
  • 8330 battles
  • 1,963
  • Member since:
    06-24-2011
In the downloaded zip file - xvm-doc/samples/Enable statistics/XVM.xvmconf that's the config file I used, drop it in res_mods/0.7.2/gui/flash

Jagdfan #13 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 02:28

    Major

  • Players
  • 14889 battles
  • 2,190
  • [SM0KE] SM0KE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011

View PostFireguard, on Apr 26 2012 - 02:16, said:

In the downloaded zip file - xvm-doc/samples/Enable statistics/XVM.xvmconf that's the config file I used, drop it in res_mods/0.7.2/gui/flash

Thanks again - got it.  Next up a test of the result.  I'm actually kind of dreading this - that all the mystery might be sucked right out of WoT.  Sweet mystery of life gone forever.   I'll report back on the results (if I haven't fainted).

Fireguard #14 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 02:36

    Captain

  • Players
  • 8330 battles
  • 1,963
  • Member since:
    06-24-2011
Answers lots of questions re high tier gameplay inconsistencies. My only MM gripe is being the only green island in a sea of red, and the other side is like a rainforest with a few nice purple flowers, maybe a few red ones too. Sigh.

Jagdfan #15 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 02:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 14889 battles
  • 2,190
  • [SM0KE] SM0KE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011
Thanks again - program ran, but with normal interface displayed in-battle.  I have several xvm.xvmconf files to choose from in the downloaded folder.   I chose 'full en' version.  Am I using the correct version of this mod?  Attached image shows modified WoT folder.  Any ideas?

Attached Files

  • Attached File   XVM files.jpg   91.51K


Fireguard #16 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 03:12

    Captain

  • Players
  • 8330 battles
  • 1,963
  • Member since:
    06-24-2011
WoT folder correct. I am assuming you launched with the wot-xvm-proxy.exe?

I am using version 2.0 full.

You need a xvmconfig file that shows stats. There is another xvm thread that explains how to edit the config file to show stats. Open it in notepad and change the word false to true basically.

Jagdfan #17 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 04:10

    Major

  • Players
  • 14889 battles
  • 2,190
  • [SM0KE] SM0KE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011

View PostFireguard, on Apr 26 2012 - 03:12, said:

WoT folder correct. I am assuming you launched with the wot-xvm-proxy.exe?

I am using version 2.0 full.

You need a xvmconfig file that shows stats. There is another xvm thread that explains how to edit the config file to show stats. Open it in notepad and change the word false to true basically.

I'll give it a try.  Thanks again.

Jagdfan #18 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 05:11

    Major

  • Players
  • 14889 battles
  • 2,190
  • [SM0KE] SM0KE
  • Member since:
    06-03-2011

View PostFireguard, on Apr 26 2012 - 03:12, said:

WoT folder correct. I am assuming you launched with the wot-xvm-proxy.exe?

I am using version 2.0 full.

You need a xvmconfig file that shows stats. There is another xvm thread that explains how to edit the config file to show stats. Open it in notepad and change the word false to true basically.

Finally got it to work - uninstalled 2.1.1 and installed 2.0 full.  Thanks for all the time and advice Fireguard - greatly appreciated.

No fainting yet - first battle with it working both sides had 6 team members green or purple.  Sadly, ours were statistically a little better, but were bested in a pretty well played fight.  I guess I should blame myself (only damaged 5 from P-14 in the Panther).

Doctuer #19 Posted Apr 26 2012 - 22:21

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 17544 battles
  • 745
  • Member since:
    07-19-2010
Ok I took all that stuff I was asking about out, as I finally got it working. What I haven't figured out (v2.0 not v2.1) is how to make the rating based on efficiency, and not win percentage. Is that possible ? I don't think win percentage is as big a factor as efficiency.

filthy1990 #20 Posted Apr 30 2012 - 01:27

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 8783 battles
  • 192
  • Member since:
    04-02-2011
the stats still not showing in the game, please help, thanks.

im using the v2.0 full, already pasted the  "full config" xvm in 7.2/gui/flash. When i ran the game with the proxy, all i see when i press tab is --%-- next to players name. What did i do wrong here?