Jump to content


"random" lag spikes


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
44 replies to this topic

Windows_Are_Tasty #1 Posted May 17 2012 - 18:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 58750 battles
  • 3,909
  • [-WLU-] -WLU-
  • Member since:
    04-15-2011
It seems like every single game im in, as long as i sit ABSOLUTELY still, my connection remains at a steady 30-40 ping. however, the MOMENT i fire or move, my ping typically goes up to about 500 for a full second, often resulting in me crashing into things, or shooting allies when i was aimed nowhere near one. just my last battle, i was in my chaffee and fighting a type 59 (dumb i know but thats not my point), i was zoomed in, full view of his tank, with my reticule dead center about the same size as his wheels. i fire, lag for a second, "we've hit an ally!" :Smile_amazed:


anyone else getting this?

xamdams_ghost #2 Posted May 17 2012 - 18:32

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 6537 battles
  • 1,040
  • Member since:
    08-11-2010
yep

My lag lamp has flickered red more times in the past week than I can remember in recent history. Something does seem buggy in the barn.

xX_TK_Xx #3 Posted May 17 2012 - 18:32

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 60612 battles
  • 135
  • [SPED] SPED
  • Member since:
    06-28-2011
yep getting this too :Smile_ohmy:

Windows_Are_Tasty #4 Posted May 17 2012 - 18:36

    Major

  • Players
  • 58750 battles
  • 3,909
  • [-WLU-] -WLU-
  • Member since:
    04-15-2011
glad im not the only one. maybe they can do something to fix this? its hardly playable as is

RustBucket_VI #5 Posted May 17 2012 - 18:43

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 13869 battles
  • 448
  • Member since:
    03-18-2012
Yeah, but it happens at random.  Sometimes it won't happen at all in a battle then sometimes it happens several times.

USMarine #6 Posted May 17 2012 - 18:48

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 18322 battles
  • 3,803
  • [W-G] W-G
  • Member since:
    07-19-2010
same here ):<
Posted ImagePosted Image

wolfsoldier #7 Posted May 17 2012 - 18:53

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 15614 battles
  • 77
  • [6-ACR] 6-ACR
  • Member since:
    02-21-2011
i though i was the only one !!!!! :Smile_ohmy::Smile_ohmy:

JayR #8 Posted May 17 2012 - 19:03

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 17017 battles
  • 172
  • [TACBR] TACBR
  • Member since:
    01-20-2011
Make sure your graphics driver is updated.It may not help but worth a try.
This has been going on since day 1. It is processor lag spike.The reason for it is that the game is very,very poorly optimized; and only using 1 thread doesn't help either.Don't let anyone tell you it is your ISP.
The game uses the processor very poorly, and on some comps this causes the lag between the processor and graphics card.Some people have reported cpu usage of over 90% when playing WoT.
I had this problem for a long time (high end comp), until Nvidia eventually came out with a driver that seems to have fixed the problem for me.Probably just got lucky as the problem is WoT, not the driver.
Maybe someday Wargaming will get around to optimizing the game to 21st century technology, but I wouldn't hold my breathe.

Edited by JayR, May 17 2012 - 19:04.


ToothDecay #9 Posted May 17 2012 - 19:09

    Major

  • Players
  • 26964 battles
  • 6,014
  • [NARC] NARC
  • Member since:
    06-29-2011
I love when my tank drives itself.

Pings go thru the roof, lag-o-meter looks black.

Windows_Are_Tasty #10 Posted May 17 2012 - 20:35

    Major

  • Players
  • 58750 battles
  • 3,909
  • [-WLU-] -WLU-
  • Member since:
    04-15-2011

View PostJayR, on May 17 2012 - 19:03, said:

Make sure your graphics driver is updated.It may not help but worth a try.
This has been going on since day 1. It is processor lag spike.The reason for it is that the game is very,very poorly optimized; and only using 1 thread doesn't help either.Don't let anyone tell you it is your ISP.
The game uses the processor very poorly, and on some comps this causes the lag between the processor and graphics card.Some people have reported cpu usage of over 90% when playing WoT.
I had this problem for a long time (high end comp), until Nvidia eventually came out with a driver that seems to have fixed the problem for me.Probably just got lucky as the problem is WoT, not the driver.
Maybe someday Wargaming will get around to optimizing the game to 21st century technology, but I wouldn't hold my breathe.




if this has been a problem since day one, why has it only affected me for about a month?

Translucent_Chum #11 Posted May 17 2012 - 20:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 26209 battles
  • 49
  • Member since:
    02-26-2012
Just started in the past week. I normally get 40-50 fps and about 60 ping. Random times in battle it will drop down to 3 fps and the ping shoots up to the mid hundreds. Makes the game unplayable.

edit: This last about 30 seconds, then everything back to normal. Happens 2-3 times a match until I die a fiery death doing the lag shuffle.

Edited by Translucent_Chum, May 17 2012 - 20:37.


JayR #12 Posted May 18 2012 - 01:01

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 17017 battles
  • 172
  • [TACBR] TACBR
  • Member since:
    01-20-2011

View Posttmaaan54, on May 17 2012 - 20:35, said:

if this has been a problem since day one, why has it only affected me for about a month?
I said it has been A problem since day 1.I never said it has been YOUR problem since day 1.Some people have found ways to alleviate the problem, some people never had the problem, some didn't have the problem before but have it now.

SHaFT7 #13 Posted May 18 2012 - 04:02

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 8461 battles
  • 69
  • [SHACK] SHACK
  • Member since:
    02-07-2011
this has just started happening to me in the past 5 days.  nothing else has changed.

this also happened back in the 6.3 patch.  it was fixed in the 6.4 patch, but now it's back.

ColonelColt #14 Posted May 18 2012 - 05:21

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 1947 battles
  • 17
  • Member since:
    03-13-2012
Same here. Just today this started happening. All of my drivers are up to date, and it's not my connection.

Translucent_Chum #15 Posted May 18 2012 - 16:34

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 26209 battles
  • 49
  • Member since:
    02-26-2012
Did the ping plotter thing and the NYC, chi, ash servers all are having packet loss. I will even get 100% loss for 30-60 seconds every few minutes. This has only been happening in the past few days or so. Submitted a ticket, but not holding my breath.  Holding off on buying a t8 premium now as the game isn't playable.

Digital_Malamute #16 Posted May 19 2012 - 01:39

    Major

  • Players
  • 46759 battles
  • 10,179
  • [SHIMP] SHIMP
  • Member since:
    09-02-2011

View Posttmaaan54, on May 17 2012 - 18:21, said:

It seems like every single game im in, as long as i sit ABSOLUTELY still, my connection remains at a steady 30-40 ping. however, the MOMENT i fire or move, my ping typically goes up to about 500 for a full second, often resulting in me crashing into things, or shooting allies when i was aimed nowhere near one. just my last battle, i was in my chaffee and fighting a type 59 (dumb i know but thats not my point), i was zoomed in, full view of his tank, with my reticule dead center about the same size as his wheels. i fire, lag for a second, "we've hit an ally!" :Smile_amazed:


anyone else getting this?

Same

Just started, however I expect ZER0 support on the official forums.

MaStA819 #17 Posted May 19 2012 - 02:24

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16332 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    08-04-2011
Same issues here...

KRAL #18 Posted May 19 2012 - 02:24

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 19642 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    04-03-2011
Amen brothers, me too was runing fine then bam lag city.

a_Friendly #19 Posted May 19 2012 - 21:05

    Major

  • Players
  • 22659 battles
  • 2,449
  • [NTR] NTR
  • Member since:
    04-23-2012
Just for future reference, lag pertains to ping/network, not hardware.

When your ping is high, it is lag.
When your frames per second is low, it is stuttering.

When your ping is high, it is a network problem.
When your fps is low, it is a hardware problem.

Understand the difference yet?

misscleo #20 Posted May 20 2012 - 02:04

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 19857 battles
  • 2,130
  • Member since:
    12-02-2010
Can you guys run pathping or tracert, and post the results here?  
pathping login-master.worldoftanks.com
As well as some basic info like what part of the world you are living in(ex. US East) and your connection type, cable, dsl or other.


View PostTimedParadox, on May 19 2012 - 21:05, said:

Just for future reference, lag pertains to ping/network, not hardware.

When your ping is high, it is lag.
When your frames per second is low, it is stuttering.

When your ping is high, it is a network problem.
When your fps is low, it is a hardware problem.

Understand the difference yet?

That's somewhat false and pointless. Please don't argue semantics or clutter threads with useless posts in the tech-support forum. lol




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users