Jump to content


Why am I lagging?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

Yoyomah20 #1 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 07:29

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 360
  • Member since:
    09-24-2011
I don't understand why I am lagging still. Is it just world of tanks or is it really my computer?

Here are my specs:

i7-2670QM @ 2.8GHz
nVidia geforce GT 555M 2GB GDDR5 (96 cores @ 939MHz, memory clock @ 1880MHz)
8GB DDR3 RAM 1333mhz
500GB HDD 7200rpm

Running game at medium settings, yet only getting 20-30fps
I know WoT requires a 3.0GHz processor, but its not like if I overclock it 200mhz more it will magically go to 150fps
Also please dont overclock police me, I know what I'm doing and know how to keep my laptop cool

So....anyone have any ideas as to why I am lagging?

Sgt_Nev #2 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 07:32

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 278
  • Member since:
    02-27-2012
I think I may have the answer, when 7.4 came out my graphics reset to high, put them back at low or medium and your game shouldn't lag as much.

DadKarma08 #3 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 07:34

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    06-12-2012
You're using a laptop with a mobile graphics card in it... 20-30 FPS is actually pretty good.  There is/are some mods (check the mod section here or on curse.com) which might boost your fps a little, but will also make the game look worse.

dwaindwarf #4 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 07:54

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,967
  • Member since:
    06-18-2011
Try either Millbarges Slow PC Pack  or WoT Tweaker

either should help with the FPS

GolfFan0001a #5 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 15:58

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    06-24-2012
Check your router downstream also and use a program to check cpu usage and hdd usage.
And by the way if you have less than 4gb of ram you will find this game with swap alot of
graphics around all the time.

If thats not the problem consider this tool which works well.

I have started to use this portable anti ddos firewall thats been adapted for World of Tanks
its called AS3 Personal anti ddos firewall.
This program uses a local loopback which is then scanned.  Install to add filter for wot game
and you can also add extra filters to 3rd party chat like, teamspeak and ventrilo.
Please note you must edit preferences and add the ports and ip for your chat which you can get

from your admin host.

Its saved as a torrent download heres a sendspace link for it.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/sb590d

Have a good one.

Yoyomah20 #6 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 17:34

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 360
  • Member since:
    09-24-2011

View Postdwaindwarf, on Jun 24 2012 - 07:54, said:

Try either Millbarges Slow PC Pack  or WoT Tweaker

either should help with the FPS

Thats for slow PC's. This is a gaming PC, and even if it is a "mobile" graphics card, the specs on it are really amazing. 2GB GDDR5 @ 1880mhz 128bit 96 cores @ 939mhz. Putting aside the low amount of CUDA cores, you cant get MUCH better. and my processor is an i7 @2.8GHz!!!

Yoyomah20 #7 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 17:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 360
  • Member since:
    09-24-2011

View PostGolfFan0001a, on Jun 24 2012 - 15:58, said:

Check your router downstream also and use a program to check cpu usage and hdd usage.
And by the way if you have less than 4gb of ram you will find this game with swap alot of
graphics around all the time.

If thats not the problem consider this tool which works well.

I have started to use this portable anti ddos firewall thats been adapted for World of Tanks
its called AS3 Personal anti ddos firewall.
This program uses a local loopback which is then scanned.  Install to add filter for wot game
and you can also add extra filters to 3rd party chat like, teamspeak and ventrilo.
Please note you must edit preferences and add the ports and ip for your chat which you can get

from your admin host.

Its saved as a torrent download heres a sendspace link for it.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/sb590d

Have a good one.

Hmm firewall for WoT? I'll check it out. btw I have 8GB of DDR3 ram @ 1333mhz

Yoyomah20 #8 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 17:37

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 360
  • Member since:
    09-24-2011

View PostSgt_Nev, on Jun 24 2012 - 07:32, said:

I think I may have the answer, when 7.4 came out my graphics reset to high, put them back at low or medium and your game shouldn't lag as much.

Your right my graphics were at high, but I still think this laptop would be able to handle high settings a LITTLE better, don't you?

PanzerKriegen39 #9 Posted Jun 24 2012 - 17:47

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 857
  • Member since:
    05-20-2011
lagging or frame rate? There are more spikes in response time but they're not crazy.

Yoyomah20 #10 Posted Jun 25 2012 - 17:56

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 360
  • Member since:
    09-24-2011

View PostPanzerKriegen39, on Jun 24 2012 - 17:47, said:

lagging or frame rate? There are more spikes in response time but they're not crazy.

Sorry, framerate. Overclocked my graphics card and CPU to 3.1GHz, only getting 10-20fps. If thats not enough for WoT literally no laptop can play this game

Yoyomah20 #11 Posted Jun 25 2012 - 18:00

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 360
  • Member since:
    09-24-2011
Everyone- my sincere apologies for wasting your time. For some reason WoT was using my Intel HD 3000 graphics card instead of my Geforce GT 555M. In the control panel it was set to "Global setting: Auto select (Integrated graphics). I now get like 110-140 fps. lol

Franz_Schubert #12 Posted Jun 25 2012 - 21:52

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,069
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

View PostYoyomah20, on Jun 24 2012 - 17:34, said:

and my processor is an i7 @2.8GHz!!!

this game runs on a single core, so you're actually not much better off playing this game than a 4-5 year old PC