Jump to content


Request/Question: Zoom-IN Modification

Zoom-In

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
25 replies to this topic

King_Of_Chaos #1 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 02:17

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 11980 battles
  • 814
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
Okay, so with all of these mods which give the player a larger zoom-out ability, would it be possible to create a zoom-in mod? The current zoom-in already magnifies up to 4X, however at long ranges I have always wondered if I could zoom in more. I have always wanted to have a zoom-in mod to see where my shells are hitting/falling more accurately. In my Jagdpanzer IV I'll have games where I hit everything I aim at and in other games I won't be able to hit the side of a barn. RNG is a problem, but it'd be nice if we could zoom in more to target weakspots at a longer range with accurate guns.

commander3 #2 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 02:29

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 15703 battles
  • 849
  • [3A82B] 3A82B
  • Member since:
    03-31-2011
sounds good not shore if allowed tho

Edited by commander3, Jun 28 2012 - 02:29.


rinying #3 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 02:31

    Major

  • Players
  • 11427 battles
  • 5,746
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011
i dont know about this mod.....probably legal though, if the zoom out mod is allowed.

Daeson #4 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 04:08

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 11190 battles
  • 145
  • [CRUX] CRUX
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
well, its been modable to REMOVE mod level, and you can zoom out, there's no reason you couldn't zoom in more, you're gun still won't hit more.

KingRiderBR #5 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 22:19

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 24978 battles
  • 506
  • Member since:
    04-23-2012
I have its a mod, i found a web russian... i no remember a link... later i send to you ok =)

BeingBadNotBeingGood #6 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 22:22

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 9808 battles
  • 5,662
  • Member since:
    10-15-2010
Open up the .xml/.txt file or something that changes the zoom out capability. Look through it, there should be a line that says something related to the sniper mode zoom and a bunch of numbers below it

In the vanilla game, the code should say
2 4 8
Change that to the zoom you want.

bigd555 #7 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 23:06

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4141 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    02-18-2012
its not possible because the zoom in is serverside while zoom out is client side, you cant modify server side stuff.

BeingBadNotBeingGood #8 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 23:38

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 9808 battles
  • 5,662
  • Member since:
    10-15-2010

View Postbigd555, on Jun 28 2012 - 23:06, said:

its not possible because the zoom in is serverside while zoom out is client side, you cant modify server side stuff.
Zoom in is client side too, you just need to open the .xml file which handles zoom and change the sniper zoom part. Easy stuff.

Gyarados #9 Posted Jun 28 2012 - 23:53

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 14368 battles
  • 11,504
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010
I'm not sure that's legal because the zoom out mod doesn't actually edit any properties, it just gives normal tanks the same amount of zoom out that artillery have, essentially just replacing the vehicle's zoom...erm...decider? I don't know if that makes sense.

TheRepoMan #10 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 00:03

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 12441 battles
  • 811
  • [-LEG-] -LEG-
  • Member since:
    05-27-2011

View PostGyarados, on Jun 28 2012 - 23:53, said:

I'm not sure that's legal because the zoom out mod doesn't actually edit any properties, it just gives normal tanks the same amount of zoom out that artillery have, essentially just replacing the vehicle's zoom...erm...decider? I don't know if that makes sense.

I don't think you have the arty version of 'Zoom Out' mod then.

Gyarados #11 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 01:03

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 14368 battles
  • 11,504
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010
I don't, because it was mentioned before from a developer that it was illegal.

2575dave #12 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 04:33

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 8413 battles
  • 189
  • Member since:
    03-05-2012

View PostGyarados, on Jun 29 2012 - 01:03, said:

I don't, because it was mentioned before from a developer that it was illegal.
They're not illegal, zoom out mods are good to go, But I'm not to sure about zoom in mods though, I think that would be considered a hack. Why would the game have two optical equipment and further viewing perks if they allowed a zoom in mod? IMHO.

Camo_onion #13 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 05:09

    Captain

  • Players
  • 23355 battles
  • 1,284
  • Member since:
    04-10-2011

View Post2575dave, on Jun 29 2012 - 04:33, said:

They're not illegal, zoom out mods are good to go, But I'm not to sure about zoom in mods though, I think that would be considered a hack. Why would the game have two optical equipment and further viewing perks if they allowed a zoom in mod? IMHO.

Well, the optical equipment is just to help spot tanks; it does nothing for your zoom level. Sounds like a useful mod though.

the_moidart #14 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 06:30

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 30486 battles
  • 2,160
  • Member since:
    10-22-2010
Zooming in couldnt be illegal. It has no gameplay effect. It's equivalent to holding a magniftying glass up to the center of your computer screen. It has no effect on spotting, accuracy, etc, and there are already many mods out there that do this.

That being said, anyone know how to modifty the avatar_input_handler.xml that's in packages? My Notepad++ can't really read it like it can read the modified version you can download from Curse, and I need to manually make my own version to my tastes. Starting from the original file would be a lot easier.

brapster #15 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 07:36

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 3778 battles
  • 222
  • Member since:
    06-26-2011
agree zoom in mod wouldnt be illegal, infact I just dont see the point of it, you can zoom in enough now already.

Its not going to make your shots more accurate - put it that way.

Nisae #16 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 08:01

    Major

  • Players
  • 15170 battles
  • 5,572
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011

KingRiderBR, on Jun 28 2012 - 22:19, said:

I have its a mod, i found a web russian... i no remember a link... later i send to you ok =)

Can I have it too?

Atragon #17 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 11:06

    Major

  • Players
  • 41534 battles
  • 3,617
  • Member since:
    04-22-2012
The only use I can see for a zoom in mod is to get the recticle better positioned ove a tanks weak spot in sniper mode.

You view range will be a limiting factor.

Edited by Dinnger, Jun 29 2012 - 11:06.


BeingBadNotBeingGood #18 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 13:39

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 9808 battles
  • 5,662
  • Member since:
    10-15-2010

View Postthe_moidart, on Jun 29 2012 - 06:30, said:

Zooming in couldnt be illegal. It has no gameplay effect. It's equivalent to holding a magniftying glass up to the center of your computer screen. It has no effect on spotting, accuracy, etc, and there are already many mods out there that do this.

That being said, anyone know how to modifty the avatar_input_handler.xml that's in packages? My Notepad++ can't really read it like it can read the modified version you can download from Curse, and I need to manually make my own version to my tastes. Starting from the original file would be a lot easier.
Use Notepad. It worked for me.

BeingBadNotBeingGood #19 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 13:41

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 9808 battles
  • 5,662
  • Member since:
    10-15-2010
I downloaded the version from curse. It came with the following zoom-ins: 1,6,12. The vanilla was 2,4,8. If anyone wants, I can change the zoom amounts and attach it and post it here.

If anyone wants to mod it themselves, download the zoom out mod from curse. Open the avatar_input_handler.xml
Search for that.
<sniperMode>
	<aim>sniper</aim>
	<binoculars>
	  <background>gui/maps/ingame/aim/binoculars.dds</background>
	</binoculars>
	<numScrolls> 1 </numScrolls>
	<camera>
	  <keySensitivity>0.01</keySensitivity>
	  <sensitivity>0.005</sensitivity>
	  <scrollSensitivity>0.0025</scrollSensitivity>
	  <zooms>1 6 12</zooms>
	</camera>
Edit the zoom settings. Vanilla game is 2,4,8. Curse's version is 1,6,12. You can only have 3 numbers. If you have 4, the 4th one will be ignored by the game.

Edited by xiantom, Jun 29 2012 - 13:49.


ChaosRain #20 Posted Jun 29 2012 - 14:43

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16201 battles
  • 399
  • [WAAGH] WAAGH
  • Member since:
    05-13-2011
Can you use decimals, like 7.5, or only whole numbers?





Also tagged with Zoom-In

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users