Jump to content


Br2yd4l's icons mod


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
110 replies to this topic

br2yd4l #41 Posted Dec 02 2010 - 02:04

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 200
  • Member since:
    09-28-2010
However it IS backwards in the training battle.. i can't fix this ;/

Callyuk #42 Posted Dec 03 2010 - 22:54

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 21049 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    08-18-2010
AWESOME WORK DUDE I LOVE IT

Aslain #43 Posted Dec 23 2010 - 21:04

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 92 battles
  • 3,398
  • Member since:
    07-20-2010
Will you update for 0.6.2.7 ?

UMC5EL #44 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 00:27

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 25
  • Member since:
    10-27-2010
Please update.

Look at picture. The right side are mirrored.

Spoiler                     

Attached Files

  • Attached File   Icons_2.jpg   423.12K


Digitalis #45 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 00:54

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 1 battle
  • 587
  • Member since:
    07-05-2010
just replace the flash files again

Mhorbaine #46 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 09:26

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    10-19-2010
mm now no offence to any other player-devs out there but i cant wait until version b of this is updated with the new tanks - makes life mucho simpler without calling on a overly garish colourscheme

Jossi79 #47 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 10:41

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 17
  • Member since:
    10-13-2010
Pls Update

br2yd4l #48 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 11:28

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 200
  • Member since:
    09-28-2010
Guys.. it's kinda crismass right now here :P And i hardly have any time.

But probably today during the night I will update all the icons, and hopefully if flash file works without problem I will upload all 5 new versions shortly (again: tonight :P)

Jossi79 #49 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 16:38

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 17
  • Member since:
    10-13-2010
Thats Great!
Thank you so much!

Arctander2 #50 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 18:51

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 20035 battles
  • 1,725
  • Member since:
    08-08-2010
Restoring the flash file seemed to work fine.

br2yd4l, I'm not sure if this helps but I tried to create the desaturated .tga files myself (and seemed to have mucked things up for myself b/c I thought I backed up the master .tga but didn't...) either way, here's a zip with my effort to create all the new tanks .tga files as close to yours as I could. Unfortunately they do not display correctly, it seems b/c of the way that the game uses the tank outlines from the original files, so where I typed in the new information gets cut off.

Either way, if it is of any help to you, here's the new ones. (There are two .psd files with layers in case that's any help.) Thanks for all the work (past/present/future) you've done on this & happy holidays. http://www.ob1design...our_Arc-dev.rar

JesDK #51 Posted Dec 24 2010 - 23:52

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 46
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010
No doubt br2yd4l will update the files when XMas is properly over with. :)

Though if you MUST make some A-style icons yourselves, I can recommend you do the following (in Photoshop):

Open up a same-class Contour icon. Use Eyedropper on the Tier number. Close it.
Open up an equivalent Tier Contour icon. Use Polygonal Lasso to select the tank part, and erase it.
Use Hue/Saturation tool, set to colorize using the hue from the eyedropper.
Open one of the new tank icons (from the parent folder, not the contour folder).
Use Hue/Saturation tool, set to colorize using hue from the eyedropper, and set saturation roughly 20% lower (25->20).
Reduce image size from 100 to 39 height, proportions constrained.
Select the Canvas and copypaste it into your Contour image, then move it to the equivalent spot of the other tank.
Merge it onto the Tier layer, then make a new layer and paint it full black. Load Selection from the tier layer.
Merge the tier layer (with tank) onto the black layer, then
For Photoshop 7 and older: use Add Layer Mask, Reveal Selection.
For Photoshop 7.1 and newer: Save Selection as Alpha 1.

Then save this as a TGA, 32bit non-interlaced replacing the old (well, new but not modded) contour file with your fresh, new one.

View PostArctander2, on Dec 24 2010 - 18:51, said:

Restoring the flash file seemed to work fine.

br2yd4l, I'm not sure if this helps but I tried to create the desaturated .tga files myself (and seemed to have mucked things up for myself b/c I thought I backed up the master .tga but didn't...) either way, here's a zip with my effort to create all the new tanks .tga files as close to yours as I could. Unfortunately they do not display correctly, it seems b/c of the way that the game uses the tank outlines from the original files, so where I typed in the new information gets cut off.
You didn't change the Alpha in your textures. They're still formed as the pre-mod tank contours, so the game will only draw that part of the texture.

To fix this, you should change the alpha to look identical to your current result texture.
Easiest way to do this would be to copy the canvas of your texture, then paste it atop of the alpha. You might want to tweak the contrast as well.

br2yd4l #52 Posted Dec 25 2010 - 01:18

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 200
  • Member since:
    09-28-2010
HowTo make icons type A

programs: Photoshop CS5, TGA converter, anything that allows you to see/view png/tga files with transparency

1. you can copy source files from WoT\res\gui\maps\icons\vehicle\small. I copied all without overwrighting (so i got old files in colour + new ones without)
2. open all new files in photoshop (drag)
3. for each image do the following:
3.1. resize to 100x25px
3.2. change layer type from background to layer
3.3. switch to channels
3.4. control+click on alpha channel (which will make selection FROM this alpha channel)
3.5. switch back to layers, select background layer (with selection still intact)
3.6. delete background
3.7. deselect (ctrl+d)
3.8. image => adjustmetnts -> hue/saturation
3.9. in dialog box check 'colorize', set saturation to 40, set hue to: 0 -heavy tank, 50 - medium, 100 - light tank, 220 - TD, 270 - artylery
3.10. accept values
------------------
right now you should have transparent image with tank icon in color you desire.
------------------
3.11. for text i duplicate layer for predefined file into my new one. unfortunatly I cannot attach this file, since it's 5mb large ATM.
you can send me PM if you wana recieve PSD file, but for now: font tahoma 11px, antialiasing: sharp,
colors; ff8080 - heavy, ffea80 - med, aaff80 - light, 80aaff - TD, bf80ff - arty
This layer (text) have blending effects: 1px solid black frame and some dark glow with multiply as blending option. All this duplicates with layer, so I just made it up once :P
3.12. save for web as PNG file.
OPTIONALY you can save as TGA file, but you're required to 'flatten image' first (it can only have one layer, it should now have two: background and text)
4. when you're done editing your files drag them all to TGA converter, who will convert them from PNG to TGA with alpha transparency.

and you're done :P

BTW I almost finished updating version A atm :P

__________________
Edit: all icons packs updated to 6.2.7

UMC5EL #53 Posted Dec 25 2010 - 17:50

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 25
  • Member since:
    10-27-2010

View Postbr2yd4l, on Dec 25 2010 - 01:18, said:

Edit: all icons packs updated to 6.2.7

THANK YOU!  :Smile_great:

Arctander2 #54 Posted Dec 25 2010 - 18:11

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 20035 battles
  • 1,725
  • Member since:
    08-08-2010
Thanks br2yd4l. I tried to redo what I'd done but wasn't doing anything more than do-doing on it :-/

aggressive_perfector #55 Posted Dec 28 2010 - 02:01

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 61
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

View PostDuLLSoN, on Dec 28 2010 - 01:54, said:

Version B is pretty useful but can you add a short B2 version which has no overlapping please? I think most of us can figure out jgPant means jagdPanther or Ferdi means Ferdinand for example.
And how would you suggest Panther be abbreviated? :P

The_Newbity #56 Posted Jan 03 2011 - 10:14

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 12
  • Member since:
    11-21-2010
THANKS!

br2yd4l #57 Posted Jan 03 2011 - 15:57

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 200
  • Member since:
    09-28-2010
I will make version B2 or sth like that, with shorter names.

Alternatively I can add swf file, that will remove tint from vehicle markers (thanks to Adiyahu): http://www.mediafire...a8ck0o25bll1ect (everything is described in this thread: http://forum.worldof...ntour-icon-mod/ ).

adiya #58 Posted Jan 06 2011 - 23:37

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 339
  • Member since:
    07-17-2010
i tried your mod, i think i'm still more sensitive and used to graphical icons instead of purely texts. that's why my mod is without any texts and numbers.

but still a nice mod though, more people prefer texts

thebomberman #59 Posted Jan 07 2011 - 16:21

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    10-02-2010
Great stuff cheers :)

thebomberman #60 Posted Jan 08 2011 - 13:19

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    10-02-2010
Hmmm, pretty sure I got the installation right but I C2D shortly after clicking the play button :( Any ideas?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users