Jump to content


Question about flash editing


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

Atragon #1 Posted Sep 21 2012 - 13:25

    Captain

  • Players
  • 25005 battles
  • 1,627
  • [TBB] TBB
  • Member since:
    04-22-2012
I downloaded SWIX to edit the minimap.swf so I can get the icons to be smaller and yet keep the distance and view range indicators present from a previous mod.

When I go to play the file, the program tells me I need a Flash Player.

I downloaded and installed adobe flash for firefox yet it still tells me I need a flash player when I click the play button.

What flash player do I install for SWIX and how do I tell SWIX to use a certain installed flash player.

Thanks

Fenriswaffles #2 Posted Sep 21 2012 - 13:41

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 12897 battles
  • 1,903
  • [SPCTR] SPCTR
  • Member since:
    12-14-2010
Just a guess but try downloading and installing flash from flash's website from Internet Explorer.

From what I can gather SWiX uses some part of the ActiveX component of flash, which isn't installed on the Firefox version.

Atragon #3 Posted Sep 21 2012 - 14:03

    Captain

  • Players
  • 25005 battles
  • 1,627
  • [TBB] TBB
  • Member since:
    04-22-2012
Thanks

That worked although it may be mute as I the are no team mates icons to be seen unless i'm in the game.

Fenriswaffles #4 Posted Sep 21 2012 - 14:07

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 12897 battles
  • 1,903
  • [SPCTR] SPCTR
  • Member since:
    12-14-2010

View PostDinnger, on Sep 21 2012 - 14:03, said:

Thanks

That worked although it may be mute as I the are no team mates icons to be seen unless i'm in the game.

Unsurprising. I guess the only option is to close and reopen the game constantly. Use replays if you don't want to have to go through an entire battle.

Atragon #5 Posted Sep 21 2012 - 14:23

    Captain

  • Players
  • 25005 battles
  • 1,627
  • [TBB] TBB
  • Member since:
    04-22-2012
Its working. Yea, it will be trial and error. Used large icons .8 then tiny icons .1 and its working. Time to try .2.

I think more WOT'rs should get into flash editing.

Highly recommended.

Update: 0.2 for icon sizes = perfect. Will try some other changes later.

Thanks again!!!

jbark51 #6 Posted Oct 05 2012 - 01:25

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 13893 battles
  • 26
  • [USCM] USCM
  • Member since:
    10-04-2010
Hey Dinnger,

what string are you editing in minimap to change the icon sizes?

JB

Atragon #7 Posted Oct 05 2012 - 13:08

    Captain

  • Players
  • 25005 battles
  • 1,627
  • [TBB] TBB
  • Member since:
    04-22-2012
I believe its the following:

<PlaceObject2 Depth="1" CharacterId="203" Ratio="1" Name="player" Move="false">
<Matrix>
<Translate TranslateX="0" TranslateY="0" />
   <Scale ScaleX="0.399993896" ScaleY="0.399993896" />
</Matrix>
</PlaceObject2>
<ShowFrame />
<RemoveObject2 Depth="1" />
<FrameLabel Name="enemy" IsAnchor="false" />
<DoAction>
<Actions>
<Stop />
<End />
</Actions>
</DoAction>
<PlaceObject2 Depth="1" CharacterId="246" Ratio="2" Name="player" Move="false">
<Matrix>
<Translate TranslateX="0" TranslateY="0" />
<Scale ScaleX="0.399993896" ScaleY="0.399993896" />
</Matrix>
</PlaceObject2>

One Important Point: Make sure you select "Play" from the SWiX Menu to preview your changed file or the changes will not be saved upon saving. :/

Credit to Locstan in European forum

I was also able to get a Russian spinning sniper reticle mod translated to English. If I could credit the guy, I would share it here but I can find the mod again :(.

Edited by Dinnger, Oct 05 2012 - 13:17.


jbark51 #8 Posted Oct 07 2012 - 03:37

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 13893 battles
  • 26
  • [USCM] USCM
  • Member since:
    10-04-2010
perfect.  thank you sir.

you have made an old blind man happy 8)

JB

kodachrome #9 Posted Oct 07 2012 - 03:51

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4068 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    02-07-2012
Hey, thanks for this info, very helpful.

Edited by kodachrome, Oct 07 2012 - 04:22.


verbul #10 Posted Oct 07 2012 - 04:04

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 5384 battles
  • 239
  • [MEAN] MEAN
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011
i use trillix to change images in mods like recticles, you can also change most of the text, its very simple. i made this 3 minute video explaining a basic image substitution. might make your job easier.

http://www.youtube.c...h?v=d6eeWcyG79I