Jump to content


No more CrossFire support


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
13 replies to this topic

pilot8218 #1 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:32

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16811 battles
  • 391
  • [COD] COD
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
Anyone else notice this?
With 8.0, my second GPU does not work, and my primary GPU is @ 100% and goes up to 70 degrees.
On the upside, the game runs better on one GPU than it did before.

I have two 6950s btw.

JoeBobRiggs #2 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:39

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 29277 battles
  • 763
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
Just like the Nvidia post with the same problem. You can force the game to use it in the Catalyst controller.

Ezz #3 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:41

    Major

  • Players
  • 13837 battles
  • 6,131
  • Member since:
    08-20-2011
Huh? Did CF ever work? I've had it switched off for WoT for months. I guess i won't be turning it back on...

Gyarados #4 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:42

    Major

  • Council of Armored Forces
  • 12581 battles
  • 10,240
  • [PBKAC] PBKAC
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010
CFX and SLI never truly worked, although some bridging stuff that would happen with the software would create some more power. My 6850's don't use their full potential.

pilot8218 #5 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:43

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16811 battles
  • 391
  • [COD] COD
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011

View PostJoeBobRiggs, on Sep 27 2012 - 00:39, said:

Just like the Nvidia post with the same problem. You can force the game to use it in the Catalyst controller.

You can force the second GPU to work in the game?
Woah, how would I do this?

Gyarados #6 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:44

    Major

  • Council of Armored Forces
  • 12581 battles
  • 10,240
  • [PBKAC] PBKAC
  • Member since:
    07-09-2010
It doesn't work properly in CCC.

pilot8218 #7 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:45

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16811 battles
  • 391
  • [COD] COD
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011

View PostEzz, on Sep 27 2012 - 00:41, said:

Huh? Did CF ever work? I've had it switched off for WoT for months. I guess i won't be turning it back on...

Yep, my two cards would share workload and I would get better FPS.

Ezz #8 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:48

    Major

  • Players
  • 13837 battles
  • 6,131
  • Member since:
    08-20-2011

View Postpilot8218, on Sep 27 2012 - 00:45, said:

Yep, my two cards would share workload and I would get better FPS.
Interesting, when i first turned CF off many moons ago running a single (5850) starting giving better FPS than two. I wonder if it has been an engine (WG) or driver (AMD) tweak.

Anyone done much testing over the patches with CF (and or SLI)?

C_Menz #9 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:49

    Captain

  • Players
  • 10983 battles
  • 1,931
  • [VAN] VAN
  • Member since:
    07-09-2011
Ali doesn't work fully but in nvidia's settings you can go in and set up WoT's settings to use it. I use two 560tis but ski only increased fps by 5-10 over just using one so it doesn't help that much

Ezz #10 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 00:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 13837 battles
  • 6,131
  • Member since:
    08-20-2011

View PostC_Menz, on Sep 27 2012 - 00:49, said:

Ali doesn't work fully but in nvidia's settings you can go in and set up WoT's settings to use it. I use two 560tis but ski only increased fps by 5-10 over just using one so it doesn't help that much
Is it ALI or SKI??? make up your mind man!

Has anyone forced CF and got better FPS?

pilot8218 #11 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 01:50

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16811 battles
  • 391
  • [COD] COD
  • Member since:
    04-25-2011
Well, it is running really well on one GPU, so forget this thread :D

chefadam #12 Posted Sep 27 2012 - 02:01

    Private

  • Players
  • 10842 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011
Usind dual cards i increased performance by 35% in crossfire configuration but with this update there seems to be no support. I tried naming the executable Arma2.exe but no luck. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

iRacerX #13 Posted Oct 01 2012 - 08:48

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 13334 battles
  • 43
  • Member since:
    07-13-2012
Hmm.. I've always ran WOT with Crossfire enabled on a pair of 5870's and 90-99% on 1 GPU and 70-90% or so load on the second GPU.

Always with good framerates and other than an occasional flicker or anomaly everything ran pretty well.

Now, since upgrading to 8.0 I get 99% load on 1 GPU and 0% on the second regardless if I try to force it or any other option.

The new engine runs well enough and looks pretty dam good without crossfire, but would be nice to see how much better it would perform on both.

Hopefully they'll get multi GPU and Core support in sometime down the road?

chefadam #14 Posted Oct 01 2012 - 08:57

    Private

  • Players
  • 10842 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    12-07-2011
Set up profiles in catalyst using the AFR friendly mode. You must do this to both the WOT and the WOT launcher and voila!