Jump to content


8.1 - Game Crashing in the Garage on nVidia GTX 650 Ti - Only with the 'New' graphics engine


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
50 replies to this topic

epoch #41 Posted Dec 06 2012 - 14:36

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    08-24-2011
FYI -- I played about 7 or 8 battles in a row with no problem on the old XP box with the 8800GS.

That is, if you consider running the lowest possible graphics options at a mediocre frame rate to be "no problem" ;)

Wonderdownunder #42 Posted Dec 08 2012 - 03:19

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 48
  • Member since:
    06-25-2012
Ditto Epoch, I loaded WoT on to my old XP machine to repeat your experiment. Same results. No crashes after 7 games, not even a flicker.
Just crappy graphics and sound and I am confined to a 19" monitor...oh well.
Sure is great to get some game time in though rather than just tinkering and crashing, tinkering and crashing....

misscleo #43 Posted Dec 08 2012 - 04:39

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 2,130
  • Member since:
    12-02-2010
So do you crash if you put your old video card in the newer tower?

Wonderdownunder #44 Posted Dec 08 2012 - 13:00

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 48
  • Member since:
    06-25-2012
That would kinda defeat the purpose of the new tower.
It is a CAD workstation and I make my living on it. I don't really want to go downgrading it for a game.
WoT 8.1 plays havoc with it, the last lock-up had me doing a system restore just to make it work again. It was doing some weird shit.
So I don't think I want to mess with it any more.
Nobody has come up with an answer that works, here or on my ticket, after a month trying.
So I think I might just accept the fact that WoT is incompatible with my set-up.
Thank goodness for my old XP...!

Aendaeron_Bluescale #45 Posted Dec 08 2012 - 20:21

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,207
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

View PostWonderdownunder, on Dec 08 2012 - 13:00, said:

That would kinda defeat the purpose of the new tower.
Just test this way whether the new GPU or the board is faulty.
If it also crashes, then the board is faulty. If it doesn't, then it's the new GPU.
It's the only way to check WHAT is actually defective of the two.

Edited by Ettanin, Dec 09 2012 - 00:36.


epoch #46 Posted Dec 16 2012 - 12:35

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    08-24-2011
FWIW -- I've haven't had it crash since the 8.2 patch.  
Maybe promising..?

Also FWIW -- I lost a lot of battles on the rubbish video card.  It's no fun shooting at stuff that isn't there.

epoch #47 Posted Dec 20 2012 - 10:31

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    08-24-2011
Still no crash since the 8.2 patch... it's been at least a week now :)

Dworkin1 #48 Posted Jan 29 2013 - 18:26

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 20
  • Member since:
    04-30-2012
My PC has been powering off if i stay idle in the garage to long (10 minutes) I can battle all night with out issue but if I'm chatting with clan mates for a few or just hanging out looking at the tech tree or my service record or the like for 10 min or more, PC powers down. It's very annoying. I have an ati vid card and am not sure about how to turn v-sync off. Is V-sync a game setting or vid card specific? I'll go look around


Edit > I see vsync isn't checked in the game settings/graphics....   re-reading this post i see it said try turning it on and not off... Doh, I'll turn it on and hope i stop the in garage power downs.


New Edit ... I hope this isn't too soon to say but I think i can safely say that enabling v-sync in the game settings has fixed my power offs while hanging out in the garage ... i'been hanging in the garage for 25+min now since enabling it and haven't crashed yet :D  so; so far at least it's an improvement.

Edited by Dworkin1, Jan 29 2013 - 19:42.


Pringworm #49 Posted Jan 31 2013 - 06:28

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,738
  • Member since:
    07-31-2011

View PostAcesHighMDP, on Nov 12 2012 - 03:20, said:

Try activating vsync if you haven't. The render has no fps cap, so your GPU will try to render as many as it can. In garage, graphics load is very low so your GPU can render a lot of frames, which causes it to overheat.

You sir are an angel. I want to prop you up on my shoulders and pronounce you king of the night.

ST8SHOT #50 Posted Mar 09 2013 - 10:00

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    02-11-2012
Just installed and fully updated this card 2 days ago and it is already acting like crap.  Bought it through the deal to get credits towards games.  My GV-r685d5-1gb kicks this cards *s*.  Will be returning it asap as the video quality is atrocious.

GeneralMech #51 Posted Mar 10 2013 - 19:38

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 49
  • Member since:
    02-23-2013
Bump