Jump to content


Windows 8?

windows8 game operatingsystems

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
18 replies to this topic

SoliDeoGloria #1 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 01:22

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 452
  • Member since:
    09-17-2012
I have a friend who's world of tanks isnt working. he is running on windows 8 and i wonder if that is the problem. also will this become windows 8 compatible soon.

DRAGONFIRE_Sr #2 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 01:29

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 419
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
Windows 8 is windows 7's Melinium Edition! It should be avioded like the plague!

Synturic #3 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 01:39

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 225
  • Member since:
    09-10-2011
Still using XP.  :Smile_glasses:

robertwalsh1981 #4 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 01:44

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 237
  • Member since:
    05-26-2012

View PostDRAGONFIRE_Sr, on Dec 09 2012 - 01:29, said:

Windows 8 is windows 7's Melinium Edition! It should be avioded like the plague!

^ Totally agree!....that being said, Dell screwed up my last order and I am now stuck with a Win 8 laptop. And so far it is running WOT without any problems.

Edited by robertwalsh1981, Dec 09 2012 - 01:44.


X32Wright #5 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 01:45

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 0 battles
  • 1,436
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Been using Windows 8 since Preview Release and now Windows 8 Pro with no problems running WOT.

dashtardly #6 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 02:03

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 92
  • Member since:
    09-25-2011
I'm using Windows 8 PRO (and have for over a month). No problems what so ever with World of Tanks.

Sandman1969 #7 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 02:05

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,054
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

View PostDRAGONFIRE_Sr, on Dec 09 2012 - 01:29, said:

Windows 8 is windows 7's Melinium Edition! It should be avioded like the plague!

Please enlighten us as to what the issue is since we have no issues.
Wot works flawless under Windows 8.

balmung60 #8 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 03:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,154
  • Member since:
    10-02-2011

View PostSandman1969, on Dec 09 2012 - 02:05, said:

Please enlighten us as to what the issue is since we have no issues.
Wot works flawless under Windows 8.
Crap GUI, ripped out the start menu (and the Start Sceen is a piss poor substitute), metro only runs 2 "apps" at a time. It's a tablet/phone operating system shoehorned onto the PC market.

Sandman1969 #9 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 11:57

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,054
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012
Actually, it's basically the same OS as before. Just with a start screen instead of a start button & a sidebar thrown in.
Once you get past that, it's the same gui as before.

Have you actually tried it?

balmung60 #10 Posted Dec 09 2012 - 14:33

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,154
  • Member since:
    10-02-2011
Yes, and the start screen is genuinely worse than the start menu. How so? It's less convenient, and as such, inherently worse. You get to chose between Metro (crap) and a stripped down version of the old-fashioned Windows GUI (not quite crap, but worse than its predecessor). If I wanted Windows 8 to act like a proper Windows O/S (start menu, never see the start screen again), I'd actually have to install third-party software to do that. It's a decent phone/tablet O/S, just not a good desktop O/S, or rather, the O/S is fine, the GUI is what's crap for desktops and laptops.

Hell, I'm on Linux and I have a GUI more similar to Win7's than Win8 does.

misscleo #11 Posted Dec 10 2012 - 01:05

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 2,130
  • Member since:
    12-02-2010
I don't know anyone that actually navigates the start menu except for dinosaurs and small children, it's slow, clunky and a waste of time. All it's good for is typing in the first few letters of whatever program or file you want, then hitting enter. Windows Explorer is used for everything else; Frequently accessed folders can be favorited, or you can use the hotkeys/shortcuts. Programs can be pinned to the taskbar or create shortcuts on the desktop.

I 've been using Win8 a lot the past few months instead of Win7, and I've never navigated through the start screen once.

usaf2222 #12 Posted Jan 12 2013 - 19:41

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-19-2011
I had the same issue so I'll tell you what I told the Wargaming.net staff on how I got my game to work.

Quote

Hey, I just wanted to let you know that I did manage to start the game again. What I did was I skipped on the launcher and instead went directly to the game in the folder. Unable to find any compatibility mode, I instead ran it as the system admin. The game will run perfectly if you run it as admin. I think there's something screwy going on with Windows 8's permission system.


Sandman1969 #13 Posted Jan 12 2013 - 20:46

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,054
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012

View Postusaf2222, on Jan 12 2013 - 19:41, said:

I had the same issue so I'll tell you what I told the Wargaming.net staff on how I got my game to work.

Never had the permission system even say anything when I first launched WoT on Win8.

MrPerfect #14 Posted Jan 12 2013 - 20:50

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 149
  • Member since:
    01-08-2011

View Postusaf2222, on Jan 12 2013 - 19:41, said:

I had the same issue so I'll tell you what I told the Wargaming.net staff on how I got my game to work.

Actully, it might be WoT itself that's got screwy permissions. I run under a standard user account(why do people always run as root?) in Windows 7, and everytime WoT updates, there are a number of files that will not inherit the parent folder's permissions. To fix these files permissions, I had to login to the admin account and force the WoT folder permissions to propogate down to all child files and folders. It's been doing that since closed beta, but recently I got fed up with it and made the user account an owner of the WoT folder, it can now fix the permissions itself. As an added bonus, there is no longer a UAC promt to enter the admin password to run WoT.

sirrisracing #15 Posted Jan 13 2013 - 00:08

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,129
  • Member since:
    12-14-2011

View PostSoliDeoGloria, on Dec 09 2012 - 01:22, said:

I have a friend who's world of tanks isnt working. he is running on windows 8 and i wonder if that is the problem. also will this become windows 8 compatible soon.
if he downloaded release preview or upgraded, the install wouldn't work on Windows 8. All he has to do is reinstall it and he should be good to go. or she...

usaf2222 #16 Posted Jan 18 2013 - 00:55

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-19-2011

View PostSandman1969, on Jan 12 2013 - 20:46, said:

Never had the permission system even say anything when I first launched WoT on Win8.

It won't tell you anything, it will just pop up normally, when you click play though (for me) it spat out an error. Running the game (even the launcher as I found) as the system admin will I think allow the game to access files that are normally closed off due to permissions. It's screwy but it works.

View PostMrPerfect, on Jan 12 2013 - 20:50, said:

Actully, it might be WoT itself that's got screwy permissions. I run under a standard user account(why do people always run as root?) in Windows 7, and everytime WoT updates, there are a number of files that will not inherit the parent folder's permissions. To fix these files permissions, I had to login to the admin account and force the WoT folder permissions to propogate down to all child files and folders. It's been doing that since closed beta, but recently I got fed up with it and made the user account an owner of the WoT folder, it can now fix the permissions itself. As an added bonus, there is no longer a UAC promt to enter the admin password to run WoT.

Sounds interesting, only hope is that they'll read this and try to isolate the issue and update it for us.

General_Casualty #17 Posted Feb 02 2013 - 03:40

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 32
  • Member since:
    10-12-2011
running windows 8 on a desktop, no problems here

amaROenuZ #18 Posted Feb 02 2013 - 03:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 3,494
  • Member since:
    04-04-2012
Windows eight is foolishness. We had tiled operating systems back in 1992, we moved away from them for a reason.

Sandman1969 #19 Posted Feb 02 2013 - 03:50

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,054
  • Member since:
    01-28-2012
What do you mean by tiled?
The only real difference I see is the desktop with the removal of the start button for a start screen.