Jump to content


sudden FPS drops


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic

XXX_MLG_F4Z3_5M1L3Y_XXX #1 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 06:57

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5,484
  • Member since:
    09-09-2011
sorry if this is in the wrong section



but I seem to have random fps drops while in the game, they usually last 30 seconds but it's unbearable to play the game in those 30 seconds because it drops from my average 30fps down to 2-4fps.

anybody know what to do?

EDIT: DISABLING SOUND HAS NOT HELPED! It still does this
2nd EDIT: even re-installing the game does not help
specs: BFG tech 9800gt (1gb), AMD athlon 5000+ BE, 4gb ddr2 ram, 5400rpm HD. (ancient specs I know)
3rd EDIT: this only has started happening in 8.2

Edited by MrsmilieyfaceC8, Jan 13 2013 - 05:03.


X32Wright #2 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 07:04

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 0 battles
  • 1,487
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
DO you have onboard sound and onboard graphics card?

If yes then your have limited computer resources to play the game because essentially your video and sound are all being done by your cpu.

If you only have onboard sound then try this:

DISABLE the SOUND and see if that is the root cause as well, so this means DISABLING sound in the DEVICE MANAGER and running the game and se if you get some more FPS. An internal peripheral soundcard is better than any onboard sound.

Edited by X32Wright, Dec 26 2012 - 07:06.


XXX_MLG_F4Z3_5M1L3Y_XXX #3 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 07:04

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5,484
  • Member since:
    09-09-2011
sometimes it's in the garage aswell

XXX_MLG_F4Z3_5M1L3Y_XXX #4 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 07:05

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5,484
  • Member since:
    09-09-2011

View PostX32Wright, on Dec 26 2012 - 07:04, said:

DO you have onboard sound and onboard graphics card?

If yes then your have limited computer resources to play the game because essentially your video and sound are all being done by your cpu.
using 9800gt as my gfx card.

pretty sure my sound is onboard

X32Wright #5 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 07:13

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 0 battles
  • 1,487
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Then this issue always happens when there is a lot of sound in the game and probably always during intense battles and this is why it lasts for awhile because. As said above I would disable the sound in Device Manager and run the game to confirm it is a onboard sound issue.

You do need to get a soundcard and please get one that really has hardware acceleration and not software acceleration. :)

You can also try the numerous game optimizers online like GAME BOOSTER

Edited by X32Wright, Dec 26 2012 - 18:07.


Commando_Nightmare #6 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 07:14

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,671
  • Member since:
    09-02-2011
Happens alot in my artys, even when I have the lowest settings possible and other windows are closed.

XXX_MLG_F4Z3_5M1L3Y_XXX #7 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 07:44

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5,484
  • Member since:
    09-09-2011
looks like it was my audio, anybody have a reccomendation for a sound card as he described?

this still happens with sound disabled

Edited by MrsmilieyfaceC8, Dec 26 2012 - 07:51.


TLJ62 #8 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 07:45

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 503
  • Member since:
    08-14-2012

View PostMrsmilieyfaceC8, on Dec 26 2012 - 07:04, said:

sometimes it's in the garage aswell

If it happens in the garage you probably have a process or service running periodically that is hogging resources. Make sure the game is the only app running when you play, close your web browser, iTunes, anything like that. Check task manager and see what is running in the background.

DEZLOK #9 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 08:13

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 989
  • Member since:
    12-04-2011
try running game-boost. it shuts off non essential background programs.

Amish_Mafia #10 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 14:04

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    12-13-2012
Any pci sound card will do. they are cheap too.I build computers and I always put a sound card in it even if it has onboard sound. Then if the soound card goes out I can use the onboard sound as a back up while I get another sound card.

X32Wright #11 Posted Dec 26 2012 - 15:50

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 0 battles
  • 1,487
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Also this game seems to need at least 4GB ram and ideally 8GB just for it to be happy since it eats about 4GB on its own and a 1GB VRAM video card at least.

Edited by X32Wright, Dec 26 2012 - 15:50.


XXX_MLG_F4Z3_5M1L3Y_XXX #12 Posted Jan 13 2013 - 05:03

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5,484
  • Member since:
    09-09-2011
gotta bump this, it's still doing this, I've only seen this in 8.2