Jump to content


Ultimate Conquest- Weekend Scrimmages


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
50 replies to this topic

Run4itmArty #1 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 02:26

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11215 battles
  • 1,300
  • Member since:
    10-06-2011
In the absence of clan wars, we want to offer clans a practice opportunity for this upcoming weekend!

Ultimate Conquest Scrimmages will offer an opportunity to prepare clans for next week's Ultimate Conquest: Absolute Power 2. These one day, unconnected events, will follow the following format:
  • Teams are dispersed into equivalent, round-robin groups.
  • The team with the most points after group play is complete is considered the winner of that group.
  • The tournament concludes immediately after group play.
Teams must include the tag of the clan they represent in brackets after their team name, example "Wargaming R Us [WGA]"
  • Clans may enter multiple teams
  • Each team may have no more than six non-clan members on their roster
Please be sure to read all rules for the tournament prior to submitting your team; teams that do not follow the rules will not be accepted, and may be excluded from future clan tournaments.

Tier & Point Limits
  • 15 vs 15
  • 150 tier points
Schedule

February 8th, February 9th, February 10th
  • Round 1: 6:00PM PST (9:00PM EST, 02:00 UTC the following day)
  • Round 2: 6:15 PM PST (9:15PM EST, 02:15 UTC the following day)
  • Round 3: 6:30 PM PST (9:30PM EST, 02:30 UTC the following day)
  • Round 4: 6:45 PM PST (9:45PM EST, 02:45 UTC the following day)
  • Round 5: 7:00 PM PST (10:00PM EST, 03:00 UTC the following day)
  • Round 6: 7:15 PM PST (10:15PM EST, 03:15 UTC the following day)
  • Round 7: 7:30 PM PST (10:30PM EST, 03:30 UTC the following day)
  • Round 8: 7:45 PM PST (10:45PM EST, 03:45 UTC the following day)
  • Round 9: 8:00 PM PST (11:00PM EST, 04:00 UTC the following day)
Prizes

The following gold prizes will be provided to each member of the respective team, including reserves, for placing in their respective group.
  • 1st Place Team - 1,000 gold
  • 2nd Place Team - 750 gold
  • 3rd Place Team - 500 gold
  • 50 gold awarded for every round you win
  • tied teams will split the prize pool for 1st - 3rd place.  
Maps
  • Ultimate Conquest: Friday Scrimmage. The map played on for the tournament will be Abbey.
  • Ultimate Conquest: Saturday Scrimmage. The map played on for the tournament will be Cliff.
  • Ultimate Conquest: Sunday Scrimmage. The map played on for the tournament will be Siegfried Line (encounter mode).

Edited by Captain_Judo, Feb 07 2013 - 21:07.


ChrisConrad #2 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 02:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 18636 battles
  • 3,411
  • [T-T-R] T-T-R
  • Member since:
    01-21-2012
This sounds fun to bad I ll be busy anyways  :arta:

Shrapnelx #3 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 02:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 21311 battles
  • 400
  • Member since:
    03-15-2011
Can we get an idea of when clan wars will be back up, or be close to it? I haven't seen an official answer from WG and I'd like one. Or do you guys not know when it could be up? I honestly shouldn't have to dig through 30 threads to find a comment from a WG official. Something that is stickied to the stop of your News and Information thread that is constantly updated whenever something is able to be released to the general gaming population - would be nice as it's a large part of this game.

*Just any type of progress info would be nice, instead of having tankers sit here twiddling their thumbs while searching for an answer in the abyss of posts.

Edited by Shrapnelx, Feb 07 2013 - 02:38.


PrototypeRewired #4 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 02:39

    Major

  • Players
  • 12571 battles
  • 5,166
  • Member since:
    02-01-2012
Clam's are not at war. The under water shellfish groups are moderately out of breathing room. And tiring of being of stuck in the mud. Clams need wars to survive and fight for feeding grounds.

Or something. I dont know, cant make tournament dates.

Edited by NordicRose, Feb 07 2013 - 02:40.


Kenny352 #5 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 02:51

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 21483 battles
  • 71
  • [NA-CL] NA-CL
  • Member since:
    05-19-2011
Like Shrapnel said...  When will clan wars be back?

Conflict #6 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 05:55

    Captain

  • Players
  • 14081 battles
  • 1,835
  • Member since:
    09-10-2010
Sounds like a lot of work for meh.

SteotokS #7 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 06:04

    Private

  • Players
  • 6842 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
what levels of tanks can be involved? http://worldoftanks....end-scrimmages/

Edited by SteotokS, Feb 07 2013 - 06:45.


JackQueRudo #8 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 07:32

    Major

  • Players
  • 25011 battles
  • 2,385
  • Member since:
    05-04-2011
500 gold..wow, I guess that's one way to discourage big clans from playing

Volchik #9 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 08:15

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 20917 battles
  • 195
  • Member since:
    05-21-2011
500 for 1st place? Who are you people?! Where is our old,generous WG staff?!

Beasts_of_the_East #10 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 09:31

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 19383 battles
  • 642
  • [BE] BE
  • Member since:
    01-20-2012
This tournament set up is completely off. Don't think any of the regular clan war clans will participate in a somewhat awkward tournament that resembles the conquering of a landing zone. Especially since there is this smashing reward in the end, guess this tournament is doomed to fail.
I'll skip this one...

BanzaiBonsai #11 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 12:30

    Captain

  • Players
  • 6125 battles
  • 1,724
  • Member since:
    08-11-2012
500 gold for 1. place is a joke.
You have to fight 8 battles where you will not get any credits and at least have to come up for the ammo you shot (most likely premium ammo for credits, 4k credits each for most tanks). So let's say you shoot 10 shots each game and steamroll your enemy.

8x10x4k credits = 320k credits

You win 500 gold... 500 gold * 400 credits/gold = 200k credits.

So even in the best case you would lose more of one ingame currency than you can buy with the other you win. I know most players won't want to buy credits from their gold (because the exchange rate is crap, but be happy it is, if it was better prem ammo would be more expensive as well), but no one wants to pay so many credits and have to work his a** off in a tournament just for 500 gold.

The prize should be at least 1500 gold for the 1. place.

The only reasons I can see for players taking part in this are as training for the Classic: Season 2 (or whatever it is called), because they have nothing better to do or because they are bad@math.

BE_bionog #12 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 14:45

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 4984 battles
  • 244
  • [BE] BE
  • Member since:
    09-11-2011
This is a weird way of trying to fill the gap in clan wars I guess. People are probably not going to dust of their tier X tanks for a spin for this tournament. The whole thing is not a suitable replacement for Clan Wars, it could be used for practice for the Classic League season 2, but I doubt the top teams need it as they have plenty of Clan War experience.

Feldmarschall_E_Rommel #13 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 15:01

    Major

  • Players
  • 28846 battles
  • 2,169
  • Member since:
    03-21-2011
500gold is a lot guys chill out.  thats like owning 6 african provinces!!!!

Takatribe #14 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 15:30

    Captain

  • Players
  • 32924 battles
  • 1,427
  • [-G-] -G-
  • Member since:
    03-29-2011
What great incentive to participate in this event. NOT!

View PostFeldmarschall_E_Rommel, on Feb 07 2013 - 15:01, said:

500gold is a lot guys chill out.  thats like owning 6 african provinces!!!!

You do have a point.

stagnate #15 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 16:29

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 34096 battles
  • 478
  • [-G-] -G-
  • Member since:
    07-17-2010
It does say that the goal is to let teams practice for the absolute power tournament. For small or new clans trying to get the flavor of a true 15v15 match isn't easy.

I would guess the rewards are low to discourage top teams. I'm not sure I agree, but of all the things they have tried I would say this is the least intrusive and least screwy.

BE_bionog #16 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 16:49

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 4984 battles
  • 244
  • [BE] BE
  • Member since:
    09-11-2011

View Poststagnate, on Feb 07 2013 - 16:29, said:

It does say that the goal is to let teams practice for the absolute power tournament. For small or new clans trying to get the flavor of a true 15v15 match isn't easy.

I would guess the rewards are low to discourage top teams. I'm not sure I agree, but of all the things they have tried I would say this is the least intrusive and least screwy.

It might be a good initiative if you look at it this way. However, when you look at the only team that meets registration limits in amount of players (tankers69), they have a whole bunch of players that have tier 8 as a top tier. They are from a variety of different clans, and thus should be excluded from the tournament according to the rules. in the description it says it is a little thing to silence the hunger for clan wars.
But when you are going to put up a tournament with end tier tanks for the somewhat smaller clans to give them a taste of these battles this is still not the right format. Look at my clan for example, we stayed out of clan wars for a reason, we are just not ready to field a team of 15 players with tier X tanks. When you want smaller clans to participate in this, make the teams smaller. If you want Clan War style battles, put clan wars up again. This is just something in between that doesn't work for both the small and the big clans.

Run4itmArty #17 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 20:56

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11215 battles
  • 1,300
  • Member since:
    10-06-2011
Thanks for the feedback everyone.  :Smile_Default:

We really want to encourage participation. So we've analyzed the prizing further and would like to offer the following!
  • 1st Place Team - 1,000 gold
  • 2nd Place Team - 750 gold
  • 3rd Place Team - 500 gold
  • 50 gold awarded for every round you win
Also, please note that tied teams will split the prize pool for 1st - 3rd place.

bumpkin #18 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 22:43

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 54872 battles
  • 979
  • [DHO2] DHO2
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011
I would be happy to join a team if some has a spot.  I have a T110E5, M48A1 Patton and an E100.  Never mind.

Edited by bumpkin, Feb 07 2013 - 23:16.


tanqtonic #19 Posted Feb 07 2013 - 23:31

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 44037 battles
  • 149
  • Member since:
    08-15-2010
Instead of weekend "scrimmages", why not JUST get CW back?

Sorry, this is getting *way* beyond stupid......

Look, CW is a big part of this.  Sorry you all dropped the ball in a mega way ----  but to have it frozen with NO NEWS is at this point getting beyond a minor issue.

The simple fact of it is that no matter how many "scrimmages" and "company tourneys" and "contests" you flop up there, there is no CW, and worse yet NO NEWS on it.

Yes, I am glad 8.4 is "coming soon."  Quite honestly, without CW I really dont care.  And I would suspect that many here feel the same....

Sorry bout the rant.  My premium is up, and I am at the point I will most definitely vote with my money.

Hope there is at the *very minimum* some communication about the status of CW instead of the endless lineup of "tourneys that act JUST LIKE CW (but arent...)"

Edited by tanqtonic, Feb 07 2013 - 23:34.


Run4itmArty #20 Posted Feb 08 2013 - 00:05

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11215 battles
  • 1,300
  • Member since:
    10-06-2011

View Posttanqtonic, on Feb 07 2013 - 23:31, said:

Instead of weekend "scrimmages", why not JUST get CW back?

Sorry, this is getting *way* beyond stupid......

Look, CW is a big part of this.  Sorry you all dropped the ball in a mega way ----  but to have it frozen with NO NEWS is at this point getting beyond a minor issue.

The simple fact of it is that no matter how many "scrimmages" and "company tourneys" and "contests" you flop up there, there is no CW, and worse yet NO NEWS on it.

Yes, I am glad 8.4 is "coming soon."  Quite honestly, without CW I really dont care.  And I would suspect that many here feel the same....

Sorry bout the rant.  My premium is up, and I am at the point I will most definitely vote with my money.

Hope there is at the *very minimum* some communication about the status of CW instead of the endless lineup of "tourneys that act JUST LIKE CW (but arent...)"

I understand your frustration tanqtonic. Unfortunately, I can't speak for Clan Wars  :Smile_sad: . This is merely an event offered by our eSports department. We're all hoping for a quick resolution to Clan Wars.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users