Jump to content


Can WoT run on a 64bit OS

World of Tanks 64bit

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic

Sharp93 #1 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 06:43

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011
Hi guys, i was wondering if WoT runs on a 64bit operating system (Windows 7) I had it running on a 32bit and it ran fine but when i hit play on the launcher it shows a white screen then closes, any suggestions to help would be much appreciated

Bob_M #2 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 06:49

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 52
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012
Mine runs on 64  bit windows 7 fine,  Does it minamise to the bottom of the task bar ?

Sharp93 #3 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 06:51

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011
no, it just closes completely

Helrza #4 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:01

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    06-08-2011
are you using a dual boot system? and also, if u did reformat to 64 bit, are you using the same WoT folder that you were using with windows 32 bit?

You might need to redownload it and install it as a 64bit program

Bob_M #5 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:03

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 52
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012
Is this the same computer you had it on when it worked ? And is it a laptop ?

Consumption #6 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:06

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 655
  • Member since:
    12-05-2012
WoT is running fine on my windows 7 64 bit. The only thing that I can think of is, make sure your video card has the latest driver and make sure your computer is updated with the latest drivers as well. Hope this helps.

Sharp93 #7 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:06

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011
same pc and everything, is there a certain installer i should download

ed_anger #8 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:09

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 7,201
  • Member since:
    07-01-2010
http://worldoftanks.com/en/update/

i noticed an definite improvement going from 32 to 64-bit, so that's not the issue. try a full re-install.

Helrza #9 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:10

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    06-08-2011

View PostSharp93, on Mar 15 2013 - 07:06, said:

same pc and everything, is there a certain installer i should download

id redownload it and install mate. I have dual boot 32 bit and 64bit, i tried to run the 32bit version when id setup the 64bit and it didnt work. I had to redownload and install it for 64bit

Sharp93 #10 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:11

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011
how do you install it for the 64bit.  isint it just one installer, im downloading it right now

Bob_M #11 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:21

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 52
  • Member since:
    07-10-2012
You are right it did not ask what bit at all when being downloaded, Well I think you will be ok with afresh start , or I hope so. Let us know how you came out. Regards.

Sharp93 #12 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:23

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011
ok i should have an answer in about 15 minutes

DeadlyDays #13 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 07:42

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 672
  • Member since:
    10-19-2010
x86 applications work on W7 x64

reinstall from scratch

Helrza #14 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 08:10

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    06-08-2011

View PostDeadlyDays, on Mar 15 2013 - 07:42, said:

x86 applications work on W7 x64

they certainly do, wot itself run as wordoftanks.exe*32, but for some reason the copy i had installed on the 32bit partition would not work on 64bit, where other games do lol!

Edited by Helrza, Mar 15 2013 - 08:11.


misscleo #15 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 13:45

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 2,130
  • Member since:
    12-02-2010
Make sure to install both of these:
DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer
Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86)

Boom_Box #16 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 20:11

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 871
  • Member since:
    11-17-2010

View PostHelrza, on Mar 15 2013 - 07:01, said:

are you using a dual boot system? and also, if u did reformat to 64 bit, are you using the same WoT folder that you were using with windows 32 bit?

That's not quite how things work.

You can create multiple partitions to host and boot different operating systems, such as Win7 x32, Win7 x64, XP, Linux, etc. These partitions are simply formatted with a file system, independent of bit architecture.

It is the operating system that determines whether you can run an application. All 64-bit versions of Windows include the WOW64 subsystem, which creates the environment for 32-bit applications to run in. Most apps are compatible but there are some restrictions. For example, 32-bit apps that include only 32-bit kernel-mode device drivers will not be compatible.

If you are accessing apps in other partitions and having problems this may be due to install references. Apps are usually installed on a system, that being one of your Windows versions, and that install will create entries in your system registry. Executing another copy of this app residing somewhere else may fail since your host system registry is looking for a local installation, while the correct info for that app actually resides in another OS registry such as Win7 x32.

There is a type of application that will do what you want. These are called standalone apps and they are fully contained in their own folders. No registry info, no uninstall info, no user appdata, etc. They will just execute from wherever they are located and Windows won't have a problem with it. WoT is not a standalone app, though you can host multiple copies of it (as with test server copies) and "usually" get away with it.

Helrza #17 Posted Mar 15 2013 - 21:52

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    06-08-2011

View PostBoom_Box, on Mar 15 2013 - 20:11, said:

That's not quite how things work.

You can create multiple partitions to host and boot different operating systems, such as Win7 x32, Win7 x64, XP, Linux, etc. These partitions are simply formatted with a file system, independent of bit architecture.

It is the operating system that determines whether you can run an application. All 64-bit versions of Windows include the WOW64 subsystem, which creates the environment for 32-bit applications to run in. Most apps are compatible but there are some restrictions. For example, 32-bit apps that include only 32-bit kernel-mode device drivers will not be compatible.

If you are accessing apps in other partitions and having problems this may be due to install references. Apps are usually installed on a system, that being one of your Windows versions, and that install will create entries in your system registry. Executing another copy of this app residing somewhere else may fail since your host system registry is looking for a local installation, while the correct info for that app actually resides in another OS registry such as Win7 x32.

There is a type of application that will do what you want. These are called standalone apps and they are fully contained in their own folders. No registry info, no uninstall info, no user appdata, etc. They will just execute from wherever they are located and Windows won't have a problem with it. WoT is not a standalone app, though you can host multiple copies of it (as with test server copies) and "usually" get away with it.

Thanks for explaining the part i didnt explain.

Start2 #18 Posted Apr 11 2013 - 18:29

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 253
  • Member since:
    02-06-2011

View Postmisscleo, on Mar 15 2013 - 13:45, said:

This worked for me!