Jump to content


Client shutdown just after opening "Tech Tree"


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

geographer #1 Posted Apr 18 2013 - 10:53

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 16991 battles
  • 1,658
  • [7CR] 7CR
  • Member since:
    07-28-2011
My client shuts down 3 to 4 times a day, and it seems to be within a few seconds of me opening "Tech Tree" while mousing over tanks.  It doesn't always happen, but I've noticed this trend and have confirmed it over my last 5 uncommanded client shutdowns.

Anyone else seeing this?

WinVista Home Premium SP2
NVidia settings, AVG, Earthlink tuneup, Skype, SETI@home, and VIA HD Audio running in memory

AMD Phenom II 1045T x 6 processor on an AST mainboard, with 8gb memory
NVidia GeForce 250 GTS video

tenshin111 #2 Posted Apr 18 2013 - 11:01

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 4162 battles
  • 276
  • Member since:
    10-07-2012
It's a known bug with nVidia drivers. Be patient or switch to AMD video cards  :blinky:

savagenation #3 Posted Apr 18 2013 - 11:03

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 34960 battles
  • 453
  • Member since:
    08-25-2011
Re-install any mods you are using, seems to have cured the problem for me.

ArmorStorm #4 Posted Apr 18 2013 - 11:05

    Major

  • Players
  • 24659 battles
  • 3,139
  • [TSF] TSF
  • Member since:
    08-12-2011
Use the 306.97 nVidia drivers.  That fixed my issues on both an old 8800GT and a newer GTX560.

geographer #5 Posted Apr 18 2013 - 11:06

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 16991 battles
  • 1,658
  • [7CR] 7CR
  • Member since:
    07-28-2011
thanks for that information!  I got hold of 2 9500GT cards, and had planned to use them in SLI mode.  Then I re discovered that I only have 1 PCI-X slot on my mainboard...

...DOH!!!

Time to build a new computer.

SawyerAWR #6 Posted Apr 18 2013 - 22:46

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4690 battles
  • 26
  • Member since:
    03-30-2013
I don't want to hijack this thread, but I've been having the same problem (no mods installed, BTW...not even a premium tank, though I'd love to get my grubby, oil-and-gunpowder stained mitts on the Super Pershie...).  When you say "use the 306.97 nvidia drivers" what exactly do you mean?  My gaming comp specs are as follows:

Windows 7 Professional OS
8.00 GB RAM
Intel Core i5-3450 CPU @ 3.10 GHz
2.00 TB Hard Drive (1.81 TB useable)
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 660 video card

so are these drivers an up or downgrade?  Sorry again for hijacking this; I'm not very tech-savvy, especially for a young teenager!  (Though, since I love WWII armored vehicles, that's not that much of a surprise...)

X32Wright #7 Posted Apr 19 2013 - 01:35

    Captain

  • VT Coordinator
  • 22060 battles
  • 1,533
  • [-WC-] -WC-
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
See if this is your issue:

http://forum.worldof...client-crashes/

Dalroi #8 Posted Apr 24 2013 - 20:37

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 20800 battles
  • 672
  • Member since:
    06-20-2011
Interesting, I see the same thing. However, I don't feel like changing video drivers since no other app has a problem.  It only seemed to start happening with 8.4 for me. But I cope by not using the tech-tree much, or if I do then I don't mouse-over anything unless I want to buy it.  Don't know if it's coincidence but it's only ever mouse-over-crashed on the russian line.  Odd.

Eyesfour #9 Posted Apr 24 2013 - 22:08

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 21453 battles
  • 66
  • Member since:
    09-09-2010
I tried rolling back to 306.97 drivers, but still get crash to desktop in game and tech tree.