Jump to content


8.5 Update Error Fix


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
46 replies to this topic

SgtHorse #21 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 01:42

    Private

  • Players
  • 9302 battles
  • 2
  • [CRIT] CRIT
  • Member since:
    07-11-2011

View Postjunker54, on Apr 26 2013 - 00:53, said:

I also had error message when trying to update to 8.5

What I did was manually download the 8.5 patch. Go into WOT program/updates. Delete anything with wot_ 8.5  and then drag the manually downloaded file into updates. Worked for me.

this worked for me too

snapdown36 #22 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 02:12

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 1158 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    07-12-2010
This didnt work for me. I also tried re-installing the game multiple times...

Flask1 #23 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 02:33

    Private

  • Players
  • 23786 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    03-28-2011
I had the same problem, What I did was in wot update in games was delete anything to do with 8.5 update (I had two 8.5 updates) And then went back to wot log in it worked fine.

RiotingVirus #24 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 02:39

    Private

  • Players
  • 28898 battles
  • 4
  • [PARAL] PARAL
  • Member since:
    03-29-2011
Try Junkers Idea it worked for me. I tried lincolns way and that did not help you download the file manually instead of letting the application try and do it.

RiotingVirus #25 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 02:41

    Private

  • Players
  • 28898 battles
  • 4
  • [PARAL] PARAL
  • Member since:
    03-29-2011

View Postjunker54, on Apr 26 2013 - 00:53, said:

I also had error message when trying to update to 8.5

What I did was manually download the 8.5 patch. Go into WOT program/updates. Delete anything with wot_ 8.5  and then drag the manually downloaded file into updates. Worked for me.


commo81 #26 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 03:01

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 19715 battles
  • 218
  • [824TH] 824TH
  • Member since:
    10-08-2011

View PostOneMasterRanger, on Apr 25 2013 - 23:42, said:

Same here.

Critical error
failed to download updates via HTTP
the application cannot continue
for details, see log file

As suggested i opened the World of Tanks folder located in the Games folder on my hard drive. then opened the Updates folder and deleted all  wot_85. files. Then opened the game launcer once again. The updates downloaded once again and this time it all installed without a hitch. A far cry from having to download the full game all over again. Either the patch must be on a weak server or you may have had program's running in the background that corrupted the download such as security scan or antivirus. Hopefully this helps somebody. Good Luck

Same problem. tried an install 5 times with every solution, I keep getting pushed to the fact that the package is corrupt. I can even verify this during the unzipping, tested the package and found it faulty.

Argunn #27 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 03:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10643 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    08-10-2011
No luck here... tried everything... still can't get it to update

ConfidentialPromise #28 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 05:07

    Private

  • Players
  • 2751 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    03-12-2013
I've tried both.... no avail... what sucks is I was really starting to like this game and get hooked on it... joined a clan and everything... FFS why won't it work?!

Halli_SPARTA #29 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 06:09

    Private

  • Players
  • 2610 battles
  • 2
  • [SPRT] SPRT
  • Member since:
    12-12-2012
I got my EU copy to update but the US copy keeps trying to update via the EU side , Is this the correct copy... not sure and I am afraid to continue.

Ninety96 #30 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 06:20

    Private

  • Players
  • 6468 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    03-10-2013
I was having updating issues, and i did what he said,
Deleted the 8.5** and kept the one that had said 8.1
and now it is working for me.
Thanks buddy!
Been trying to get tanks to run all day!

chavezjo3l #31 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 06:30

    Private

  • Players
  • 9974 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-16-2012
this happened to me when the 7.3 was released a few months back, i did not get it to work.... untill a full client executable file was released.
took 5 days after the original update was released

the full client zip file comes corrupt to some of us i still dont understand why?

chavezjo3l #32 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 07:36

    Private

  • Players
  • 9974 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    02-16-2012
OK BACK TO REPORT IN MY SUCCESS I FOLLOWED SOME OF THE OTHER TRY THIS UPDATES MY INSTALLS HAVE COMPLETED

GET YOUR INSTALL FOLDER TO INSTALL
download the downloader
!!!!NO not the FULL PACKAGE!!!!
then instead of letting the client self update
press cancel

now go to your install folder
locate your update folder
NOW DELETE ALL OF THE FILES IN IT
restart your download and let it complete
IT WAS THE WAY I GOT IT TO RUN AFTER 9 HOURS
OF MANY FAIL updates

Edited by chavezjo3l, Apr 26 2013 - 07:36.


Slaynar1 #33 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 09:17

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 23541 battles
  • 25
  • Member since:
    04-12-2012
Thanx a TON, That worked!!

Argunn #34 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 14:14

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10643 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    08-10-2011
I down loaded the " Full game client archive v 8.5 (4.82 GB) "

Went I unzipped it I got the following errors:.

!   C:\Users\Downloads\WoT_0.8.5_na_install.zip: CRC failed in WoT_internet_install_na\wot_85.2492_client.patch. The file is corrupt


!   C:\Users\Downloads\WoT_0.8.5_na_install.zip: CRC failed in WoT_internet_install_na\wot_85.2493_85.2492_client.patch. The file is corrupt

Will try the solution posted above... cross fingers.

Edited by Argunn, Apr 26 2013 - 14:15.


KCDestroyer #35 Posted Apr 26 2013 - 15:52

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16461 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    10-24-2012
Good luck....I have given up after exhausting every single tip provided and those by support....and I know I am not alone. I am not wasting another minute working on this until WOT fixes there issue.

Sgt_Varik #36 Posted Apr 27 2013 - 02:16

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 11371 battles
  • 354
  • [_AFK_] _AFK_
  • Member since:
    04-30-2012

View PostKCDestroyer, on Apr 26 2013 - 15:52, said:

Good luck....I have given up after exhausting every single tip provided and those by support....and I know I am not alone. I am not wasting another minute working on this until WOT fixes there issue.
same, this update is really annoying me.  Never had an update have this many errors, or be so freaking unfixable.

vortex1409 #37 Posted Apr 27 2013 - 02:21

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 6486 battles
  • 10
  • [MRB] MRB
  • Member since:
    03-06-2011
Mine wont unpackage properly fails at like 5% of the install and Customer support isnt much help.

they asked me to clear my DNS cache (didnt work)
Send in DxDiag Info (Done and No Reply)
And my dads PC same thing (he plays WoT)

KCDestroyer #38 Posted Apr 27 2013 - 04:18

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 16461 battles
  • 42
  • Member since:
    10-24-2012
After 6 complete uninstalls and dozens of fix suggestions including 4 by support via a ticket I opened yesterday I am still not closer to having the update install properly. The only good news is the problem is clearly on their side...this isn't an issue with our PCs as mine is brand new and I have never had an issue with an update before.

General_Vicinity #39 Posted Apr 27 2013 - 12:04

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 56772 battles
  • 86
  • Member since:
    04-07-2012
Yup, new computer here too. And 8.5 won't install. Been trying for THREE days. If it installs first time . . . life is good. If not . . .  you are screwed!

expresscraft #40 Posted Apr 27 2013 - 13:02

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 35999 battles
  • 337
  • [TRON] TRON
  • Member since:
    10-17-2012
I have been trying and trying as well, and im not good on a computer so im afraid of screwing mine up, i have reloaded the game, mulitable times, and kept getting the errors, then i was talked through how to re store everything to a few days ago. and i loaded the game again, now i get to the point where it says you are running the latest with the play button lit, i push it and everything vanishes, no error 's no anything. i am running my defrag now, and i have already run my disc cleaner.I do think i am much closer but it has been a terrible last 2 days.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users