Jump to content


[Guide] Tank Skins


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
276 replies to this topic

tasmanian #1 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:09

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    07-07-2010
How to make your own pretty or fugly tank skins.

1. Download and install gimp.
http://www.gimp.org/

2. Download the gimp .dds plugin
http://code.google.com/p/gimp-dds/
You want the windows one, it ends in .zip.

3. Install the gimp plugin
Extract the dds.exe to somewhere. Then copy it to this folder.
C:\Program Files (x86)\GIMP-2.0\lib\gimp\2.0\plug-ins
Might be different based upon your os, and where you installed. File has a read me as well.

4. Find the skin you want to mod.
C:\Games\World_of_Tanks_closed_Beta\res\vehicles
Thats where mine are located. Pick german and find your tank, or russian and find your tank.

Example

C:\Games\World_of_Tanks_closed_Beta\res\vehicles\german\G18_JagdPanther - is the host folder

5. Open up the skins in gimp.
There are two skins you have to modify. The main one and the crash one. In the above example its called JagdPanther.dds and JagdPanther_crash.

6. Modifying
You can do a wide range of things. You can put on simple decals. I found these off the internet and simply aligned and pasted them onto the .dds'. Or you can do full camos.
Dont forget to edit both the regular and the _crash .dds or when you blow up the textures will disappear.

There are a couple of tricks ive found. To find where the textures from the .dds go to what part of the tank. Cross reference the blown up tank in game to the crash .dds. When the tank is blown up it has a lot of rust, and the rust travels in straight lines making it easier to find pieces.

You can simply add to the existing .dds. Or you can completely redo it. If adding to the .dds dont mess with the resolution or it will mess stuff up. If you redo it resolution doesnt matter. But remember the original size is 2k x 2k so it will stretch really bad if you do small resolution.

There can only be one layer on a .dds. A trick I found, right click a layer in the layers window, go down to the bottom and click merge visible layers. Then click merge. Bam 1 layer.

If adding to the original .dds with decals. While pasting the decal, right click it. Layer > Transparency > Color to alpha. This will remove the background of the image your pasting *I think it also makes it semi transparent. To align stuff you can also use the transform menu. Right click, Layer > Transform

If you want to add a hint of camo to the tank, Paste it on top of the original .dds, and in the layers window lower the opacity. This will allow the metal to slightly show through.


An example of a simple decal being added, and a complete recamo of a tank.

Posted Image

7. Using the textures
Backup your original .dds files. Then when you are done modifying the .dds to your taste. Rename it to the original file names.

Example: Backup .dds is JagdPantherbak.dds and Jadgpanther_crashbak.dds
New textures are Jagdpanther - tophat.dds and Jadgpanther_crash - tophat.dds
To use the textures rename your modified ones to Jagdpanther and Jadgpanther_crash. *Replace with what ever tank skins your modifying.*

8. Start the game up and enjoy.

The finished products.
Posted Image
Posted Image

Syllas #2 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:36

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
huh? wth... is this.."legal" ?

tasmanian #3 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:41

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    07-07-2010

View PostSyllas, on Jul 19 2010 - 23:36, said:

huh? wth... is this.."legal" ?

Pretty sure it is.

Syllas #4 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:45

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
well until its "officialy" legal i'm not using it in game and especialy battles. but thanks a lot for that! i allready started my experiments :P

Skarovich #5 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:46

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 32 battles
  • 74
  • Member since:
    07-07-2010
Rather than using transparency for applying camo and the like, I've gotten better results setting the layer to "Overlay". If I remember correctly, right click on the layer and go to it's properties. There should be a drop-down menu and Overlay will be in there. Apologies, just checked. It's at the top of the Layers tab.

You can also use Flatten Image (Under the Image menu) rather than merging layers. But they both end up doing the same thing, so it's up to preference. Although Flatten will ensure there is no transparency in the final image.

LordLothair #6 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:49

    Sergeant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 3209 battles
  • 233
  • [TB] TB
  • Member since:
    03-11-2010
Since it is only on your client, you can modify the tanks as you want.  Whatever vehicle you modify will only have that camo to you (note:  It also changes every other tank of that type).

Syllas #7 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:54

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
ok question. you say to download the dds bla bla bla. the link you give has 3 dds files. you know. a pdf and 2 others. wich one should i download and use?

tasmanian #8 Posted Jul 19 2010 - 23:57

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    07-07-2010

View PostSyllas, on Jul 19 2010 - 23:54, said:

ok question. you say to download the dds bla bla bla. the link you give has 3 dds files. you know. a pdf and 2 others. wich one should i download and use?

.tar is for linux.
.zip is for windows - the one you want.
.pdf is a guide for it probably.

Syllas #9 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 00:00

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
thanks a lot man.

tasmanian #10 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 00:00

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    07-07-2010

View PostSyllas, on Jul 19 2010 - 23:45, said:

well until its "officialy" legal i'm not using it in game and especialy battles. but thanks a lot for that! i allready started my experiments :P

Quote

15. Modify any files that WN does not specifically authorize users to modify

LiL, we started this in the RCBT, and jeremy said we could do it. so bring your destructive behaviour somewhere else as we are actually allowed to do this.


Syllas #11 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 00:23

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
umm...would you be so kind to explain how the whole thing is done? in steps. its the first time i use this programm and i'm a bit confused.

tasmanian #12 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 01:14

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    07-07-2010

View PostSyllas, on Jul 20 2010 - 00:23, said:

umm...would you be so kind to explain how the whole thing is done? in steps. its the first time i use this programm and i'm a bit confused.

Depends on what you want to do. If you want decals, find one on the internet. And paste it onto the .dds. Different parts of the original dds go to different parts of the tank.

If you want a camo skin, paste it over the entire original image.

You can look at my example photos, the first one i just put decals on. I found the right part. And aligned them. Second i just replaced the entire thing with camo.

Syllas #13 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 01:26

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
allright! first try was a success i think what do you think? i love it! i just hope i wont get banned! :lol:

Attached Files

  • Attached File   shot_004.jpg   275.84K


Syllas #14 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 01:35

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
btw i tried to put a white grey black camo but for some reason when i make it transparent everything gets messed up. oh and one more thing. i joined a battle. i got 1 kill but in the list after the game i had 0 kills. but in acomplishments list the kill was there. could it have something to do with the moding?

tasmanian #15 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 02:11

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 22
  • Member since:
    07-07-2010

View PostSyllas, on Jul 20 2010 - 01:35, said:

btw i tried to put a white grey black camo but for some reason when i make it transparent everything gets messed up. oh and one more thing. i joined a battle. i got 1 kill but in the list after the game i had 0 kills. but in acomplishments list the kill was there. could it have something to do with the moding?

You can create a new file with just a grey and black camo, then save it as a .dds. If your trying to have the base coat shine through. Try making the camo 2048 x 2048. Then copying it over, and making it semi transparent.

And no, moddin skins shouldnt mess with the score count.

Also nice work.

Eide #16 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 07:17

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 2089 battles
  • 1,192
  • [TB] TB
  • Member since:
    04-23-2010

View PostSyllas, on Jul 19 2010 - 23:36, said:

huh? wth... is this.."legal" ?
Borderline. We all agreed to not modifying any files unless WN has given permission to do so. On the other hand, this will only impact visuals on your own machine.

I'd say; don't worry about it. If it's not ok Wargaming will intervene soon enough. If it is ok you'll have a very cool looking tank.

Diedel #17 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 09:07

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 840
  • Member since:
    07-04-2010

View PostEide, on Jul 20 2010 - 07:17, said:

Borderline. We all agreed to not modifying any files unless WN has given permission to do so. On the other hand, this will only impact visuals on your own machine.

I'd say; don't worry about it. If it's not ok Wargaming will intervene soon enough. If it is ok you'll have a very cool looking tank.

Even if it is only on my client it is a tricky thing, because it could give me a huge advantage, like the spikes/colored models in CS etc. As we have spotting and outlining i don't think it will be a problem, but i still would be nice to have an official info on what we can an can not modify.

Tiger205 #18 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 12:48

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 39
  • Member since:
    07-02-2010
Fast question, fast answer - is there a way to modify country insignia? So for example can I edit certain file and make the Soviet red stars into Polish eagles?

Nevermind, found it myself. It's in res\particles\Decals, graffiti_stickers.dds if someone wants to know.

Syllas #19 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 13:09

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2 battles
  • 600
  • Member since:
    02-17-2010
another question. how can i change the color of the basic dds? what i mean is that,when i add a black transparent layer over the dds there is a hint of the existing green color. is there any way to delete this color? because light transparent layers get messed up with all that green dirtlike color. and something else. the same problem that i had with the Urban (white,grey,black) cammo apeared again with a Black,grey,light grey cammo. when i make it transparent it gets all messed up. is there another way to make the layer transparent? and is there a way to adjust the transperency?

Harkonis #20 Posted Jul 20 2010 - 14:15

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 156 battles
  • 46
  • Member since:
    04-13-2010
this is kinda bad overall.  If people can use custom skins what's to keep them from reskinning all the tanks to dayglo easy to spot colors?




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users