Jump to content


Critical Error Failed to install updates?(8.6)

critical error faild to install updates 8.6 WOT World of tanks

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
63 replies to this topic

digpigdig #1 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 17:56

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7253 battles
  • 12
  • [UDSA] UDSA
  • Member since:
    07-09-2012
Since i uninstalled WOT because of some 8.6 error i downloaded WOT 4 times and and the same error poped up saying "Critical error. Failed to install updates. The application cannot continue. For details, see log file" even thou the log file is empty???? :angry:  this has been driving me crazy  !!!!!!!!!!!!
Please HELP!!!!!!!

jdtherocker #2 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 17:57

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 13900 battles
  • 11,204
  • Member since:
    01-19-2011
I installed the patch and put it into the update folder of the world of tanks folder and replaced the file there and it worked.

Try that.

digpigdig #3 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 18:00

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7253 battles
  • 12
  • [UDSA] UDSA
  • Member since:
    07-09-2012

View Postjdtherocker, on Jun 26 2013 - 17:57, said:

I installed the patch and put it into the update folder of the world of tanks folder and replaced the file there and it worked.

Try that.
there are only 3 files in the update folder and and most of the files are gone

GermanMade #4 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 18:03

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16023 battles
  • 879
  • [UGKB] UGKB
  • Member since:
    06-19-2012
Your not maintaining your internet connection.  You are dropping at some point during the download.

I get that error when I'm not connected, but then I thought, since you posted this thread, you have connection, so you must be dropping.

digpigdig #5 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 18:05

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7253 battles
  • 12
  • [UDSA] UDSA
  • Member since:
    07-09-2012

View PostGermanMade, on Jun 26 2013 - 18:03, said:

Your not maintaining your internet connection.  You are dropping at some point during the download.

I get that error when I'm not connected, but then I thought, since you posted this thread, you have connection, so you must be dropping.
i downloaded the full 5.0 gb thing there is to download

Consumption #6 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 18:06

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 7122 battles
  • 679
  • [80PRF] 80PRF
  • Member since:
    12-05-2012
I get that all the time. All you have to do is click OK when the critical error pops up and click Retry (bottom right). If you click Retry and the message pops up again right away close the client and re-launch the client. Keep repeating until it up dates. I have to do it ever time a new update comes up.

digpigdig #7 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 18:08

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7253 battles
  • 12
  • [UDSA] UDSA
  • Member since:
    07-09-2012

View PostConsumption, on Jun 26 2013 - 18:06, said:

I get that all the time. All you have to do is click OK when the critical error pops up and click Retry (bottom right). If you click Retry and the message pops up again right away close the client and re-launch the client. Keep repeating until it up dates. I have to do it ever time a new update comes up.
Ok i'll try that

digpigdig #8 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 18:11

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7253 battles
  • 12
  • [UDSA] UDSA
  • Member since:
    07-09-2012

View PostConsumption, on Jun 26 2013 - 18:06, said:

I get that all the time. All you have to do is click OK when the critical error pops up and click Retry (bottom right). If you click Retry and the message pops up again right away close the client and re-launch the client. Keep repeating until it up dates. I have to do it ever time a new update comes up.
It doesn't work...

Consumption #9 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 21:06

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 7122 battles
  • 679
  • [80PRF] 80PRF
  • Member since:
    12-05-2012

View Postdigpigdig, on Jun 26 2013 - 18:11, said:

It doesn't work...

Hmm, well the next best thing I would say is submit a support ticket and see what they say.

nerdboy64 #10 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 22:06

    Private

  • Players
  • 5056 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    05-04-2013
I've got this same problem. I tried to update the game, and it gave me that error. Then I tried to get clever by reading the log file, finding the files it failed to install, and dragging them into the folder manually. That didn't work; it just came up with a new file every time. Then I tried redownloading that whole 5 Gb file, and it still ended with the same error. At least I know I'm not the only one with this problem.

EDIT: I ran the launcher as an administrator and it worked. Still took a couple tries, but I think that's the way to fix it.

Edited by nerdboy64, Jun 26 2013 - 23:39.


m2hmghb #11 Posted Jun 26 2013 - 23:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 14052 battles
  • 301
  • Member since:
    05-04-2011

View PostGermanMade, on Jun 26 2013 - 18:03, said:

Your not maintaining your internet connection. You are dropping at some point during the download.

I get that error when I'm not connected, but then I thought, since you posted this thread, you have connection, so you must be dropping.


Horse crap. I'm having the same problem and my internet is fine. If anything it's on WG's side. I know how to check for problems and there are none on my end.

bombardier #12 Posted Jun 27 2013 - 11:10

    Private

  • Players
  • 28129 battles
  • 2
  • [TD1] TD1
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011
I have the same problem. Don't know what to do.

doubt34 #13 Posted Jun 27 2013 - 17:44

    Private

  • Players
  • 2153 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    04-21-2012
Hey i was having the same problem but then i did what nerdboy said and ran the launcher as admin. it worked!


also ensure you unistall all current mods on the 8.5 and then reinstall to 8.6 after you update

callzeke #14 Posted Jun 27 2013 - 20:03

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 11222 battles
  • 25
  • [CB] CB
  • Member since:
    02-03-2011
I believe the files are corrupted on WG end. No matter what we do, until they fix them, nothing can be done.

I regret all the money I put into the game now.

3 computers, 30+ full installs - if files come as corrupt, nothing can be done.

BTW - I downloaded and checked .RU and .EU files - they come up fine. So its not us, its WG.

Toy_Fury #15 Posted Jun 27 2013 - 20:15

    Private

  • Players
  • 7877 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    03-07-2013
I have tried everything support has asked me and all suggestions I can find here on Forums. I've checked and rechecked my system, everything is in working order and up to date. I have retired more times then I have battles. The crash happens all over the place 2% - 82% so far for me. Manuel extract goes to 98% then fails. The thing I hate the most is each time it starts over and I can not pick up were I crashed.
I would suggest that the game have a feature at start up to fix errors like other online internet games have. On the plus side really getting to know my windows 8.

digpigdig #16 Posted Jun 27 2013 - 20:16

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7253 battles
  • 12
  • [UDSA] UDSA
  • Member since:
    07-09-2012
I personally think WG should have an option to repair damaged files. I heard from a buddy of mine War Thunder has an option at the launcher were the game scans it's files and re-downloads ONLY the corrupt or lost files.

Herrick #17 Posted Jul 01 2013 - 02:45

    Private

  • Players
  • 5930 battles
  • 3
  • [CTHLU] CTHLU
  • Member since:
    10-30-2011
I'm having the same problem with corrupt archive files that will not extract without errors. Have tried both archive and internet installs, no effect. The file that seems to be corrupt is wot_86.2744_client.patch. Have downloaded and retried at least 10 times. Tried in Windows 7, upgraded to Windows 8. Tried formatting my hard drive and updating graphics drivers and system BIOS, no effect. Last time I tried the archive download and extracting with a third party utility (PKZIP), it reported 2 errors and 3 warnings during extraction. Client fails to install updates. I have submitted a support ticket with screenshots and logs.

If anyone figures this out please post solution, it will be much appreciated.

Recon315 #18 Posted Jul 01 2013 - 06:04

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5775 battles
  • 10
  • [E-K] E-K
  • Member since:
    04-26-2011
I too have tried every suggestion to no avail.  I even deleted, re-installed the game etc.  Still getting the cannot download the file via HTTP error.  Nothing seems to work.  I guess I'll just wait a week or so and see if it gets resolved.  Otherwise I'll just switch to ARMA 3 for my gaming.  This sucks.  I still have gold in this game.

vinivega #19 Posted Jul 01 2013 - 06:12

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 6702 battles
  • 1
  • [GBEAR] GBEAR
  • Member since:
    12-14-2010
The update failure fiasco has cost me several days of premium time. I am not pleased with the way this was handled.

KaneSeere #20 Posted Jul 01 2013 - 08:29

    Private

  • Players
  • 3197 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    06-14-2011
I keep getting "Warning, the data obtained from the update service is incorrect. For details, see log file." And my log folder is empty...