Jump to content


ITDUDE's "Let's Fix Worldoftanks.com" Thread - FIXED


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
278 replies to this topic

ITDUDE #1 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 05:32

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 4,586
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
Alrighty all,
Seems some players are having issues logging into the portal and/or game. Oki-doki, let's fix this.

Those who CANNOT access the game and/or portal, please go command line: Start-->Run-->cmd (enter)
and type in these commands:

nslookup worldoftanks.com
nslookup update.worldoftanks.com
nslookup forum.worldoftanks.com

Please copy-paste the output here on the forum


UPDATE: DNS issues have been ruled out, so it is pretty pointless to do the ipconfig /flushdns trick

UPDATE: Looks like to be a firewall issue on WG or their ISP side. Since not everyone is down, it's looks to be a selective shun. Everyone who cannot connect, please post your ISP and region where you are connecting from.

UPDATE 7/9: Looks like WG and or their ISP is blocking Midwest to East coast for mostly Time Warner customers and few others (may be Time Warner resellers?) Most likely this not accidental as the outage would not last that long. My guess is that WG is under DDoS attack from TWC and the best solution they came up for now with is to shun these IPs. Since relatively few customers were affected it's probably better than if the whole NA server was DDoS-ed and everyone would lose access. Let's hope WG comes out with an official statement soon.

UPDATE: Looks like the issue is affecting service hosted from new LA Datacenter. The forum and NA East are hosted by Telia in Washington, DC and are still functioning normally. NA West, the main Portal, the update service are hosted out of LA and are shunning some customers east of Texas

Temporary Fix:
Do not launch the game using the launcher but instead use the main executable itself. For example: C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\WorldOfTanks.exe

Final Update 7/10
Everything should be working fine for everyone now. Thanks to everyone who participated in this thread as I am sure it helped WG to expedite a fix.
And thank you WG using the public forum as a tool to help trouble-shoot this issue. Please don't hesitate and do the same next time again.

Hibachi #2 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 05:49

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 382
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010
Server:  Linksys
Address:  192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	worldoftanks.com
Address:  162.213.61.98

Server:  Linksys
Address:  192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	us3-slave-124.worldoftanks.com
Address:  162.213.61.124
Aliases:  update.worldoftanks.com

Server:  Linksys
Address:  192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	wotus1-slave-119.worldoftanks.com
Address:  209.170.73.119
Aliases:  forum.worldoftanks.com



ITDUDE #3 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 05:53

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 4,586
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
Looks like it's not a DNS issues, but a firewall issue. Try pinging those hosts instead of nslookup

ping worldoftanks.com
ping update.worldoftanks.com
ping forum.worldoftanks.com

zmaint #4 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 05:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,825
  • Member since:
    09-20-2011

View PostHibachi, on Jul 09 2013 - 05:49, said:

Server:  Linksys
Address:  192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	worldoftanks.com
Address:  162.213.61.98

Server:  Linksys
Address:  192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	us3-slave-124.worldoftanks.com
Address:  *.TELIA.NET
Aliases:  SATAN's LEFT ARMPIT

Server:  Linksys
Address:  192.168.1.1

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:	wotus1-slave-119.worldoftanks.com
Address:  209.170.73.119
Aliases:  forum.worldoftanks.com


I highlighted the trouble area for you.

Hibachi #5 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 05:56

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 382
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010

View PostITDUDE, on Jul 09 2013 - 05:53, said:

Looks like it's not a DNS issues, but a firewall issue. Try pinging those hosts instead of nslookup

ping worldoftanks.com
ping update.worldoftanks.com
ping forum.worldoftanks.com

100% packetloss on the first 2. Of course the forum one is fine.

ITDUDE #6 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 05:59

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 4,586
  • Member since:
    09-04-2010
Looks like either WG or their provider have shunned a number of users. Could be based on region, provider, etc. Could be on purpose, or could be accidental
Everyone who is having issues, please provide your internet provider and region where you connecting from.

Hibachi #7 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 06:02

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 382
  • Member since:
    07-10-2010
Knology (think they are owned by WOW! now)

Northern Alabama

Jakusz1337 #8 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 06:05

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 158
  • Member since:
    10-01-2011
Time Warner

Milwaukee Wisconsin

Zazie #9 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 06:16

    Staff sergeant

  • WGLNA Gold League Player
  • 0 battles
  • 492
  • Member since:
    09-30-2010
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright © 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\Zazie>tracert worldoftanks.com
Tracing route to worldoftanks.com [162.213.61.98]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 13 ms 34 ms 68 ms 10.171.0.1
2 24 ms 46 ms 40 ms ae0-1007.cr02.blasohdp.swo.rr.com [184.59.244.42
]
3 11 ms 22 ms 17 ms network-065-029-001-044.midwest.rr.com [65.29.1.
44]
4 22 ms 26 ms 25 ms ae-9-0.cr0.chi30.tbone.rr.com [107.14.19.16]
5 36 ms 25 ms 61 ms ae-0-0.cr0.chi10.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.20]
6 23 ms 52 ms 49 ms ae0.pr1.chi10.tbone.rr.com [107.14.17.192]
7 49 ms 114 ms 47 ms chi-bb1-link.telia.net [213.248.76.97]
8 61 ms 53 ms 108 ms chi-bb1-link.telia.net [213.155.136.32]
9 132 ms 110 ms 125 ms sjo-bb1-link.telia.net [213.155.132.180]
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 * * * Request timed out.
14 * * * Request timed out.
15 * * * Request timed out.
16 * * * Request timed out.
17 * * * Request timed out.
18 * * * Request timed out.
19 * * * Request timed out.
20 * * * Request timed out.
21 * * * Request timed out.
22 * * * Request timed out.
23 * * * Request timed out.
24 * * * Request timed out.
25 * * * Request timed out.
26 * * * Request timed out.
27 * * * Request timed out.
28 * * * Request timed out.
29 * * * Request timed out.
30 * * * Request timed out.
Trace complete.

What I can say, however, is that using a proxy you can access the portal. You just can't log in.

ISP: Time Warner Cable Road Runner
State: Ohio


It seems to mostly be a TWC issue, but someone in clan with an ISP of "tech savvy" that is also has the issue so it's not only TWC.

BiPoLaR #10 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 06:18

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 46
  • Member since:
    01-29-2011

View PostHibachi, on Jul 09 2013 - 05:56, said:

100% packetloss on the first 2. Of course the forum one is fine.
Im the same as Hibachi
My ISP is BrightHouse. Im in Tampa Bay Florida.

Linuxhackerette #11 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 06:20

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 283
  • Member since:
    05-24-2013
I have Time Warner Road Runner Southeast NC SC.
I had to use a russian proxy just to log on to the NA forum to comment.
But i still cant get the game launcher to update or work.

i have had issues after the servers were divided.
Really don't need this agrivation. May just uninstall the game.

Tier_One #12 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:12

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 70
  • Member since:
    11-18-2012
TWC in NC.  ffs, WGNA, can you not hire good IT staff, especially the ops manager who says don't implement a bad plan??

Kramburglar #13 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:15

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 3,509
  • Member since:
    12-18-2011
I cannot access from work or from home, so it's not by provider, unless they are blocking multiple providers.  

I use Teksavvy
Work I believe uses Rogers, though not 100% sure.

I'm in southwestern Ontario

Abject_McDeath #14 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:19

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 4,060
  • Member since:
    03-26-2012
BrightHouse
Clearwater,Florida

yeah cant get on either west server or website.

WEebble #15 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:22

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 184
  • Member since:
    04-28-2011
Time Warner Road Runner
Texas

Malediction43 #16 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:22

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    06-12-2012
Time Warner Cable, Dallas, Texas.  Lost my ability to connect to the launcher/updater, main portal, NA West, etc. at approximately 1:00PM CST yesterday.  I am able to bypass the launcher to get in game to connect to NA East, but I experience severe packet loss which makes it unplayable.

mitchmeister03 #17 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:22

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 17
  • Member since:
    08-01-2011
Also TWC in Milwaukee, WI. My trace route gets through 9 hops, 10th is chi-bb1-lin.telia.net-fine, 11th is the same telia, then 12th and after it dies...

Tragik1234 #18 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:27

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 89
  • Member since:
    02-19-2013
TWC in NY is the same problem.  seems FIOS works fine.

Daeima #19 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:29

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 535
  • Member since:
    10-23-2011
Time Warner, Dallas Texas.

Time Warner, Telia...seeing a pattern here :/

Posted Image

cmckllar #20 Posted Jul 09 2013 - 14:34

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    03-10-2012
I have BBTEL in KY and I am having the same no updater issues but I have gotten into the game with high ping values.