Jump to content


Managing Game Modifications


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

SiberianExpress #1 Posted Jan 12 2011 - 06:01

    Wargaming America

  • -Players-
  • 7572 battles
  • 1,866
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010

Creating and Managing Game Modifications
nondestructive way to create and manage modifications v.2.0

Here is a non-destructive and patch-friendly way of editing anything(theoretically) in the game! Giving you complete control over enabling and disabling mods like in many other games, not requiring any downloads or third party programs. Note that this "mod" was created for the English version and for geared towards tank skins, other languages and other mods should work but its not guaranteed.

Warning: Wargaming.net nor I are responsible for any damage that this modification may do to your computer/game/client, use at your own risk.
Please read the guide thoroughly before attempting to use it, if you have any questions ask them before trying it. If you find any problems, have suggestions, or find conflicts please post them here I will try my best to improve this guide/mod.

I originally created this before the US tanks patch but the patch introduced localizations that kind of made it a bit more cumbersome and took some time for me to improve it. Even though it may not be perfect it works with all mods I have tried so far and especially useful for skins; you can have multiple skin sets and switch between them without having to replace the default ones. And when the game is patched non of the modified files will be overridden. It may look complicated but its pretty simple and when setup its much easier to use than having to constantly override and backup files.

Step 1: folders
Go to your game folder World_of_Tanks (for the purpose of this guide).
Create a folder "mods"
Create a folder "language" and a folder "text" inside "language"
so now your game directory should have the folders "language", "mods", "res", "res_bw" and may have "Updates"
Spoiler                     

Step 2: languages
Go to your World_of_Tanks/res/text directory and copy the folder "LC_MESSAGES"
Paste "LC_MESSAGES" into your "World_of_Tanks/language/text" folder so it will be World_of_Tanks/language/text/LC_MESSAGES with all the contents of "LC_MESSAGES"
Spoiler                     

Any time you use another language patch or change your language you will need to repeat step 2.
Alternatively you can create a .bat to do it automatically.
Example .bat file (language.bat) (use at own risk and edit accordingly to your own game directories)
Spoiler                     

Step 3: mods
Create a folder in the "World_of_Tanks/mods" directory and name it whatever you want your mod to be called, for example "skins"
Place your mod files in the newly created folder (skins) following the res folder structure, for example World_of_Tanks/mods/skins/vehicles/german/G37_Ferdinand/
Spoiler                     

Step 4: Paths.xml
In your main directory (World_of_Tanks) open the file Paths.xml in any editor (notepad will do)
it should read
<root>
   <Paths>
	  <Path> ./res </Path>
	  <Path> ./res_bw </Path>
   </Paths>
</root>
Add the lines
<Path> ./language </Path>
<Path> ./mods/skins </Path>

before "<Path> ./res </Path>"

So it should now read:
<root>
   <Paths>
	  <Path> ./language </Path>
	  <Path> ./mods/skins </Path>
	  <Path> ./res </Path>
	  <Path> ./res_bw </Path>
   </Paths>
</root>

Save the file.
Spoiler                     

Step 5: Profit
You can now add more folders into the "mods" folder and add your mods there, make sure to add a new line after the "./language" line, before the "./res" in Paths.xml with your mod folder name. You can also have mods on top of mods the first one to be loaded is the first folder in Paths.xml.
To turn on and off a mod you simply have to add/remove its line in Paths.xml, deleting the folder inside "mods" is not necessary.

*I will be adding step-by-step tutorials with screens for a couple popular mods as soon as I have abit more free time.

SiberianExpress #2 Posted Jan 12 2011 - 06:01

    Wargaming America

  • -Players-
  • 7572 battles
  • 1,866
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010
Reserved for step-by=step tutorials.

tazmanyak #3 Posted Jan 13 2011 - 11:54

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 95
  • Member since:
    07-02-2010
Ohoh!
A builtin support for addons then?
This is great new!

Will give a test, for testing purposes :)

I'll certainly continue to use jsgme, but thanks for the update ;)

mantrai #4 Posted Jan 14 2011 - 01:25

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 58
  • Member since:
    09-28-2010
Nice find, but ill too carry on using jsgme, but its very cool this is possible

azren #5 Posted Jan 14 2011 - 08:25

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 21646 battles
  • 544
  • [Y0L0] Y0L0
  • Member since:
    07-28-2010
That's pretty cool. With all the old-school ways of doing it sitting around I wouldn't have even thought to look for this. Pretty nifty. +1

Azagatoth #6 Posted May 05 2011 - 07:03

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-06-2011
This is really nice, but can you tell me why this does not work with the .swf files ?

Me and another player are creating an easy installer based on your information, it is currently working great
except for the .swf files. It seems they are not affected by this and needs to be place in the original folder
thus replacing the original file.


Best regards
/Azagatoth

SiberianExpress #7 Posted May 05 2011 - 08:02

    Wargaming America

  • -Players-
  • 7572 battles
  • 1,866
  • Member since:
    07-13-2010

View PostAzagatoth, on May 05 2011 - 07:03, said:

This is really nice, but can you tell me why this does not work with the .swf files ?

Me and another player are creating an easy installer based on your information, it is currently working great
except for the .swf files. It seems they are not affected by this and needs to be place in the original folder
thus replacing the original file.


Best regards
/Azagatoth
I have no idea why it doesn't work, it worked before. I currently use the generic mod enabler to load mods.

Azagatoth #8 Posted May 05 2011 - 10:18

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-06-2011
I know about the generic mod enabler, but it overwrites the original files and the user has to know about computers and folder structures.
We are creating an installer that should help the user more than the mod enabler.
The users can install mods directly from zip and rar files without knowlegde of WOT folder structures.

Is it possible for you to make a working example with a .swf file placed in the Mods folder?
Perhaps we are missing something?

Best regards
/Azagatoth

Azagatoth #9 Posted Jun 06 2011 - 08:52

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-06-2011
After last patch the swf files also work!

But if we use this method (editing paths.xml) for some odd reason the Flags and base circles dissapear?
It would be great if anyone has an idea what causes this?

EDIT: Nevermind I figured out what was causing it (influx folder needs to be handled like language)

Best regards
/Azagatoth

Strike2k #10 Posted Jun 10 2011 - 18:08

    Private

  • Players
  • 1350 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    05-26-2011
While this is all well and good, where the hell do i get mods from?

Azagatoth #11 Posted Jun 14 2011 - 09:30

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-06-2011
You can check this site out: Wotskins
And you can install them with my Wot Mod Installer

Drifter808 #12 Posted Jul 10 2011 - 02:43

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 7553 battles
  • 351
  • Member since:
    05-22-2011
Can't excess the Paths.XML, why?

DRAGONFIRE_Sr #13 Posted Aug 03 2011 - 06:45

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 30240 battles
  • 443
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011

View PostDrifter808, on Jul 10 2011 - 02:43, said:

Can't excess the Paths.XML, why?
I would guess you have the file locked so it cant be edited. You need to check the file properties and turn off write protection.
You will need to restart your file browser before the changes will take effect.
I hope this helps!

BlackDeath15 #14 Posted Aug 11 2011 - 20:44

    Private

  • Players
  • 1843 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    07-22-2011
When I use the Mod Installer I get no sound when I install a mod but when I uninstall the mod I have sound back in the game what am I doing wrong.

Azagatoth #15 Posted Aug 16 2011 - 07:02

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    01-06-2011
@BlackDeath15
The issue with the sound has been fixed.

Best regards
/Azagatoth

Jaegerwulf #16 Posted Aug 30 2011 - 09:37

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 3861 battles
  • 38
  • Member since:
    08-12-2011
I have tried using the manual method in the OP, but it killed my in game sounds.   how do I fix this?

Halka #17 Posted Sep 15 2011 - 19:02

    Private

  • Players
  • 46 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    08-14-2011
Heh, yeah, I've managed that too.

Probably has to do something with the changed path to languages.

Edit: confirmed. Jaegerwulf, move the audio from 'mods' to 'language' directory in the World of Tanks folder, you should get your sounds back.

Attached Files

  • Attached File   audio.png   9.63K


Danylu #18 Posted Sep 16 2011 - 11:27

    First lieutenant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 7278 battles
  • 868
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010
Thread moved back into World of Tanks Mods & Addons subforum




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users