Jump to content


U.S. EAST lag on Time-Warner Cable is back again tonight

lag pingplotter timewarner

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
50 replies to this topic

jeffsw6 #1 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 01:24

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 90
  • Member since:
    05-23-2013
I hoped Telia had sorted out their interconnection problems with Time-Warner/RoadRunner.  Obviously not.  Packet loss again tonight, which will probably put me out of clan wars.  I guess four days in a row of no lag was too much to ask? :(

Target Name: wotus1-slave-55.worldoftanks.com
IP: 209.170.73.55
  Date/Time: 9/6/2013 8:17:17 PM to 9/6/2013 8:22:32 PM

Hop Sent Err PL% Min Max Avg  Host Name / [IP]
1    64   0 0.0   0   1   0  GW1 [172.19.87.1]
2    64   0 0.0   9  40  26  74-130-32-1.dhcp.insightbb.com [74.130.32.1]
3    64   0 0.0   8  22  12  74-128-45-29.dhcp.insightbb.com [74.128.45.29]
4    64   0 0.0   9  33  16  tge0-10-0-3.lsvqkydb-ccr01.mwrtn.rr.com [65.29.25.132]
5    64   0 0.0  22  35  26  network-065-189-140-166.mwrtn.rr.com [65.189.140.166]
6    64   0 0.0  29  43  33  [107.14.19.58]
7    64   0 0.0  28  84  34  [66.109.1.47]
8    64   0 0.0  30  75  36  ash-b2-link.telia.net [195.12.255.229]
9    64   0 0.0  29  94  36  ash-bb4-link.telia.net [80.91.252.94]
10    64   0 0.0  29 188  48  ash-b1-link.telia.net [213.155.136.39]
11    64   1 1.6  28 110  39  wotus1-slave-55.worldoftanks.com [209.170.73.55]


Battlecruiser #2 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 01:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5,164
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
Abbreviated profanity
Warning issued
~GM/Mod Team
OF COURSE ITS BACK. That problem has been there for two **** years in varying degrees, nowhere in my life have i see a service company so absolutely **** and yet remain in service like telia.net
don't rag on wargaming, They would have fixed it by now if they could have, I'm certain by now they've worked out how much they cannot do anything about it, but if you want to rag on anybody, do it on telia sonera.
telia sonera and my failure to gain any kind of resolution to the problem that I would find satisfactory is why I am no longer playing the game, and regularly encouraging like sufferers like myself to not stand for it either.
its unfortunate, I really enjoy this game, but if I cannot use my time investment to participate in clan wars and tournaments the game is dead to me regardless of whose fault it is, and instead I will go somewhere I can compete without invalidating the majority of my spent free time.
two years. two years of free time i could have been doing something else, thinking this was a problem that would get resolved, but I'm done. I'm leaving salty and regretful, and it irritates me that I cannot have fun the way I wish to in a game I loved, because of a bunch of **** who can't run a company.

Sparkykun #3 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 01:35

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 817
  • Member since:
    08-21-2012
Players have been complaining about lag and Time Warner internet provider on League of Legends as well, so the problem is not limited to World of Tanks. I suggest you change your internet provider to Verizon, which does a better job, because I have heard nothing good about Time Warner Cable.

Edited by Sparkykun, Sep 07 2013 - 01:46.


king_turk #4 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 01:39

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 495
  • Member since:
    12-31-2012
Profanity
Warning issued
~GM/Mod Team
Since the change to TwC, My internet has been shitting. Going to Be changing to WoW Internet or Verizon not only charge less just better service, also TwC is **** service and since the charge my bill went up 10$

Look_its_Rain #5 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 01:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,550
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011
Profanity
Warning issued
~GM/Mod Team
I have at and t and the **** lag has been occuring today so its not just time warner, maybe LoL use ****?

jeffsw6 #6 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 01:54

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 90
  • Member since:
    05-23-2013

View PostBattlecruiser, on Sep 07 2013 - 01:30, said:

don't rag on wargaming, They would have fixed it by now if they could have
Wargaming can choose to use multiple ISPs (transit providers) if they want to.  They should, because they depend on the Internet for all of their revenue!  They could also change from Telia to someone else, without becoming multi-homed, but that would not be the correct long-term solution.

I really think the problem is their support people do not understand how to read pingplotter / traceroute results.  I am still responding to a ticket I opened more than a week ago, and they continue to send me wrong replies.

I have sent a message to the head of community / customer relations.  Maybe he will bring some attention to this problem.

THE_SOCK_MONSTER #7 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 01:58

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 49
  • Member since:
    01-29-2011
yep im laggin bad cant even move from spawn, but im fine on the west server.

CarolinaBBQ #8 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 02:01

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 26
  • Member since:
    02-24-2013
Yup once again lag on east not on west. Ping Plotter has 19% packet loss on wot slave 39. Thought they had it fixed because last night was good.

Texas1911 #9 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 02:04

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    07-19-2011
Profanity
Warning issued

~GM/Mod Team
As someone that has put legitimate amounts of revenue into this game and enjoys it as much as possible ... this issue NEEDS TO BE FIXED. There's not a single ****day where I don't have lag spikes affecting game play.
My connection / connectivity are faster than ****(50+Mbps) and I have ZERO issues running websites, FTPs, etc. out of my pipeline. Yet, somehow this game ****out regularly.
Stop expanding, stop modeling more tanks, stop running ****contests, turn your entire attention to improving the EXISTING game play for EXISTING players that PAY YOUR **** BILLS / PAYCHECKS.
Signed,
EVERYONE.

jstafford91 #10 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 02:15

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 113
  • Member since:
    11-12-2010
Profanity
Warning issued
~GM/Mod Team
Indeed.  Back for me again.  Was fine last night also.
**** fix it WG, stop lying about it.

Yashizen #11 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 02:24

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    08-09-2011
I just used this..
http://www.yougetsig...visual-tracert/
our US East server is in Sweden ? Really ?
209.170.73.55 (76.2 ms)
worldoftanks.com
Farsta, 26
Sweden

CarolinaBBQ #12 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 02:35

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 26
  • Member since:
    02-24-2013
Just out of curiosity i ping plotted www.worldoftanks.com. Results are horribad:
Target Name: www.worldoftanks.com
IP: 162.213.61.98
  Date/Time: 9/6/2013 9:32:42 PM to 9/6/2013 9:34:23 PM
Hop Sent Err  PL% Min Max Avg  Host Name / [IP]
2   100   7  7.0  11  68  17  cpe-024-074-254-065.carolina.res.rr.com [24.74.254.65]
3   100   5  5.0  10  62  15  ae18.chrlncpop-rtr1.southeast.rr.com [24.93.64.6]
4   100   7  7.0  18  56  22  bu-ether14.atlngamq46w-bcr00.tbone.rr.com [66.109.6.82]
5   100   4  4.0  15  52  21  [107.14.19.99]
6   100  11 11.0  50 111  54  atl-bb1-link.telia.net [80.239.160.61]
7   100   5  5.0  32  75  39  ash-bb3-link.telia.net [80.91.251.85]
8   100   9  9.0 110 126 114  sjo-bb1-link.telia.net [80.91.253.68]
9   100  90 90.0  96 116  99  wargaming-ic-301984-sjo-bb1.c.telia.net [80.239.193.182]
10   100   0  0.0  93 112  97  us3-slave-98.worldoftanks.com [162.213.61.98]
90% packet loss. WOW!

Edited by CarolinaBBQ, Sep 07 2013 - 02:36.


Battlecruiser #13 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 03:07

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 5,164
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011

View Postjeffsw6, on Sep 07 2013 - 01:54, said:

Wargaming can choose to use multiple ISPs (transit providers) if they want to.  They should, because they depend on the Internet for all of their revenue!  They could also change from Telia to someone else, without becoming multi-homed, but that would not be the correct long-term solution.

I really think the problem is their support people do not understand how to read pingplotter / traceroute results.  I am still responding to a ticket I opened more than a week ago, and they continue to send me wrong replies.

I have sent a message to the head of community / customer relations.  Maybe he will bring some attention to this problem.

i should have been more specific, I highly doubt WGNA has the power to make the required changes without getting permission first.

Sparkykun #14 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 16:17

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 817
  • Member since:
    08-21-2012
Even if WG changes their internet provider to something other than Telia, you guys will still have lag, because your internet provider is not up to the task. Just change to Verizon FiOs (Fiber Optics), which is more efficent and faster, instead of sticking with Time Warner's copper wires.

Edited by Sparkykun, Sep 07 2013 - 16:28.


jstafford91 #15 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 16:25

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 113
  • Member since:
    11-12-2010
^^^

+1 Jeff

It is sad when you have to become the "angry guy" to get any type of response outside of the canned emails most are receiving.  It is really hard for me to believe that WG thinks this is a user-based phenomenon that just happens to occur during the peak hours of our "Prime Time".  There are modturdators reading these forums as well, yet for two full weeks there hasn't been any type of response other than the copy-paste emails from the support staff.  

WG, the more this continues to happen, the more tickets, threads, posts you will receive.  Your most loyal and highest-spending player base (those that collect tier 10's for Clan Wars DUH) are getting highly upset.

Btw, my connect was fine by 9:45 est last night though I took no corrective action nor did I even bother to restart my CPU or router.  Simply not worth the effort.  AND, logging in on the WEST server produces a higher but stable ping which makes the game run fine.

jeffsw6 #16 Posted Sep 07 2013 - 18:22

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 90
  • Member since:
    05-23-2013

View PostSparkykun, on Sep 07 2013 - 16:17, said:

Just change to Verizon FiOs (Fiber Optics), which is more efficent and faster, instead of sticking with Time Warner's copper wires.
Time-Warner Cable is the only provider of high-speed Internet in my neighborhood.  I have no other choices.  Also, TWC performs just fine to basically every other major ISP.  I am pleased with my TWC service (as strange as that sounds.)

View Postjstafford91, on Sep 07 2013 - 16:25, said:

There are modturdators reading these forums as well, yet for two full weeks there hasn't been any type of response other than the copy-paste emails from the support staff.
I saw a moderator edit some profanity out of a user's post about this topic yesterday.  So yeah, they obviously are reading the threads, but they choose not to respond to them.

I messaged GeneralWhoever, the guy whose sig says he is the community relations manager.  Perhaps he will do something like get them to acknowledge the issue or at least tell their tech support folks to do a better job of identifying which traceroute tickets actually are problems with customers' own ISP, vs what is WG/Telia problems, which Wargaming can easily and inexpensively fix.

jstafford91 #17 Posted Sep 08 2013 - 01:54

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 113
  • Member since:
    11-12-2010
"Any significant packet loss will be kept on record, as we address this issue."
What do they do with the info they keep on record?  At what point do they begin to "address this issue"?

Edited by jstafford91, Sep 08 2013 - 01:54.


tankerz325 #18 Posted Sep 08 2013 - 03:07

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 53
  • Member since:
    12-29-2011
Profanity
Warning issued
~GM/Mod Team
I just simply find it amazing that all this lag/packet loss starts around or a bit after 8:00pm EST which is Clam Warts time for me. I have for the past two nights been unable to participate in CW's due to the serverity of the packet loss. SO ****

jeffsw6 #19 Posted Sep 08 2013 - 03:57

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 90
  • Member since:
    05-23-2013

View PostTeztiklees, on Sep 08 2013 - 02:43, said:

They won't address the **** issue. At this point I'm pretty convinced that WG just doesn't give a ****about the lag. Its an easy way for them to push players to the west server.
If they really want players on the West server then they'd better move Clan Wars to it.

Zamboni_Man #20 Posted Sep 08 2013 - 16:31

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    04-23-2011

View PostSparkykun, on Sep 07 2013 - 01:35, said:

Players have been complaining about lag and Time Warner internet provider on League of Legends as well, so the problem is not limited to World of Tanks. I suggest you change your internet provider to Verizon, which does a better job, because I have heard nothing good about Time Warner Cable.

Verizons availibilty in many places is unavailable.  Just saying.  Wish I could get it here.