The Story of a Noob. Or Am I? Or am I blinded by stats?

Noobs Deathaddict

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
17 replies to this topic

deathaddict #1 Posted Oct 31 2013 - 01:00

Staff sergeant

• Players
  • 220 battles
  • [-TSF-] -TSF-
So I've come to a weird epiphany just the other day when I was playing the KV-13. I thought about how far I've come and how much I've improved since the first day I started playing World of Tanks. (June 23rd 2012)
At roughly 2.8K battles. I see that I do fairly well in pubs when I play my "comfort" tanks like the IS3/IS/KV-1S/KV-13/ELC AMX.
So right now. My comfort nation for the team being is Russia. Does that mean I'm a noob? I feel as if playing the Russkies makes me a noob because pretty much everyone has a russian tank.
So lets move on to my journey.
When I reached about 1800~ battles give or take. I started worrying about my stats. Not because I'm a stat whore. But because I've come to the realization that I'm always the first one to die doing VERY little damage. :sceptic:
So I started watching these tips and guides from the Youtubers Pandycol, TheRiisingsun, Jingles and Quickybaby.
I'm not one for reading guides in forums. I'd rather watch them in action. And implement it into my playstyle.
Right off the bat. I noticed that these guys know where to fight. And how to win against all odds(most of the time).
So I started "copying" their styles with certain tanks that fit the criteria. And I realized I started getting better!
My preferred playstyle for the next 400-500 battles was Peek-A-Boom and scouting and I started learning and learning.
During all this time. I was actually also a wallet warrior. I used gold to free exp my way to get all the modules on the 3601 (H). :unsure:
And back when this thing was a medium. I gotta be bold about this. I felt like an ABSOLUTE BOSS playing this thing, The 3601 (H) made me realize that you can actually turn a loosing game into a winning one.