Jump to content


Ping Problem


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
17 replies to this topic

mandt6 #1 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 00:25

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011
Hello fellow Tankers,

I just have a quick question about PING.  My PING is usually showing 999+ but hovers towards 200-700 sometimes.  I've tried several different ideas to raise it, but is it true that PING is hard to improve upon?  I just want to know if there is a way I can improve my PING so the game isn't as laggy.  Thanks!

mandt6

GeorgePatton #2 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 00:28

    First lieutenant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 5213 battles
  • 750
  • [3ARMY] 3ARMY
  • Member since:
    03-07-2010
Maybe try making an account on the EU server or the RU one...


Cheers!
Glenn

SanshaKuvakei #3 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 00:30

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9971 battles
  • 147
  • Member since:
    02-28-2011
Hello there !!

I think you are confused.You definitely want to have a low ping rate, not a higher one.The higher the ping, the worse off your gaming experience will be.  :)

mandt6 #4 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 00:32

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011

View PostSanshaKuvakei, on Mar 27 2011 - 00:30, said:

Hello there !!

I think you are confused.You definitely want to have a low ping rate, not a higher one.The higher the ping, the worse off your gaming experience will be.  :)

No, I know that a high PING rate is bad, my PING is usually at 999+ (which I know is bad).  I want to lower it, but I heard it's hard to lower it because it is usually based on where the servers are located (I think).

mandt6

Ceptyr #5 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 01:02

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12018 battles
  • 187
  • [THUGZ] THUGZ
  • Member since:
    12-29-2010
It also depends on the type of internet connection you have, and how far you are from major internet 'hubs'. If you have a satellite or wireless (as in it comes from a tower several km/miles away) connection, then a ping of over 300 is about as good as you can do in most cases.

You can't do much to lower your ping except stop any downloads/torrents and turn off any streaming video. Also, if multiple computers are using the same network, they will cause lag on your computer if they are downloading/watching videos since they use up more of the bandwidth.

polarman #6 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 02:30

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2161 battles
  • 228
  • Member since:
    09-02-2010
Also what country are you in?

mandt6 #7 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 03:55

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011

View Postpolarman5k, on Mar 27 2011 - 02:30, said:

Also what country are you in?

Im in Canada, Ottawa.  I'm thinking the problem is that I'm connected to the University internet service...except my roommate plays WoW and there is no problem for him...

mandt6

polarman #8 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 04:29

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2161 battles
  • 228
  • Member since:
    09-02-2010
can you try it in a different location?

What ping does your roommate get?

Ceptyr #9 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 15:51

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12018 battles
  • 187
  • [THUGZ] THUGZ
  • Member since:
    12-29-2010
Try using http://www.speedtest.net/ when you are having problems and let us know the result. Campus networks are terrible if you are trying to do use them at peak times.

mandt6 #10 Posted Mar 27 2011 - 18:28

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011

View PostCeptyr, on Mar 27 2011 - 15:51, said:

Try using http://www.speedtest.net/ when you are having problems and let us know the result. Campus networks are terrible if you are trying to do use them at peak times.

I've tried playing at all different hours, but yes, the Campus network is most likely my problem.   I'm not completely sure what my roommate's PING is, but I'm assuming it should be close to mine?  Our ports are right next to each other. so we're using the same connection...

mandt6

LuciferumCell #11 Posted Mar 28 2011 - 13:55

    Nevermore

  • WG HQ Staff
  • 924 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    02-28-2011
for fixing your problem properly, we first need some additional information. Do the following:
1. Download and install Ping Plotter via http://www.pingplott.../pngplt_std.exe
2. Close all the applications, including torrents, DC-clients, Skype, ICQ, Browser (IE, Mozilla Firefox, Opera), Mail client and etc.
3. Launch the program, and maximize the dialog window.
4. Type 174.34.231.143 in the field "Address to Trace" (upper left corner). (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-1.png)
5. Set 1 second in the field "Trace Interval".
6. Press the "Trace" button (lower left corner) or the "Enter" button. (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-2.png)
7. Now click the right mouse on each figure one by one in the upper window (green or yellow background) and select "Show this Timeline Graph" (If there is no tick apposite it - v !). (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-3.png)
8. As the result, there is a black band under each figure in the column and the number of diagrams should be equal to the highest number in the column. (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-4.png)
9. To set up the time scale on the diagrams (in the lower part of the window) it's required to click the right mouse and in the opened menu select the time scale you need. (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-5.png)
10. Save the results in the png-file. (In File, "Save as").

Colcut #12 Posted Mar 28 2011 - 14:15

    Private

  • Players
  • 142 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    03-25-2011
Im from Australia and i am experiencing horrible ping issues. where is this server located ? Usa cause i almost never experience lag like this on any other game. Even European games (and europe is like trying to connect to the artic circle for me)

mandt6 #13 Posted Mar 28 2011 - 23:07

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011
The weird thing is (for me) that shooting is in real-time, and my tank movement is laggy.  I've played a match where my PING was skyrocketing over 999 and I got 3 kills because I could aim in real-time, but got lucky and didnt get shot at when I was slowly moving around.  I will launch pingplotter and see what happens.  Thanks.

mandt6

mandt6 #14 Posted Mar 28 2011 - 23:20

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011

View PostAdaptiveStrike, on Mar 28 2011 - 13:55, said:

for fixing your problem properly, we first need some additional information. Do the following:
1. Download and install Ping Plotter via http://www.pingplott.../pngplt_std.exe
2. Close all the applications, including torrents, DC-clients, Skype, ICQ, Browser (IE, Mozilla Firefox, Opera), Mail client and etc.
3. Launch the program, and maximize the dialog window.
4. Type 174.34.231.143 in the field "Address to Trace" (upper left corner). (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-1.png)
5. Set 1 second in the field "Trace Interval".
6. Press the "Trace" button (lower left corner) or the "Enter" button. (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-2.png)
7. Now click the right mouse on each figure one by one in the upper window (green or yellow background) and select "Show this Timeline Graph" (If there is no tick apposite it - v !). (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-3.png)
8. As the result, there is a black band under each figure in the column and the number of diagrams should be equal to the highest number in the column. (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-4.png)
9. To set up the time scale on the diagrams (in the lower part of the window) it's required to click the right mouse and in the opened menu select the time scale you need. (http://wiki.worldoft...target=pp-5.png)
10. Save the results in the png-file. (In File, "Save as").

This is the photo of my pingplotter.

Attached Files

  • Attached File   wotus-slave-143.worldoftanks.com.png   29.78K


mandt6 #15 Posted Mar 28 2011 - 23:26

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011
Here are two better photos from PINGplotter...

Attached Files

  • Attached File   wotus-slave-143.worldoftanks.com.png   31.24K
  • Attached File   wotus-slave-144.worldoftanks.com.png   21.9K


mandt6 #16 Posted Mar 29 2011 - 16:56

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011
Okay now I have a weirder problem.  Last night, I was able to play the game with less than 80 PING all night.  My connection was straight through the Ethernet port on the wall.  I woke up this morning switched my connection to a router and then back to the wall, and now the PING is back to +999.  Does that mean the problem is the IP address?  When I diagnose my connection, it says that the connection is configured properly, but the DNS server is not responding.  How can I fix that?  I would bet that that is my problem.  It is getting frustrating, especially when I was able to play with no lag for one night then try the next morning and it's back to the horrible lag, haha.

mandt6

Lady_Athena #17 Posted Mar 30 2011 - 01:58

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 4633 battles
  • 388
  • [BLKRS] BLKRS
  • Member since:
    03-23-2011

View Postmandt6, on Mar 29 2011 - 16:56, said:

Okay now I have a weirder problem.  Last night, I was able to play the game with less than 80 PING all night.  My connection was straight through the Ethernet port on the wall.  I woke up this morning switched my connection to a router and then back to the wall, and now the PING is back to +999.  Does that mean the problem is the IP address?  When I diagnose my connection, it says that the connection is configured properly, but the DNS server is not responding.  How can I fix that?  I would bet that that is my problem.  It is getting frustrating, especially when I was able to play with no lag for one night then try the next morning and it's back to the horrible lag, haha.

mandt6


That probably means you need a new router. I know when my router started to go my ping would be far worse than it should of been. It would jump between 200-700 ping. Once I got a new router it was back up to the speeds it should of been around 50-80. Until you get a new router just connect directly to the port.

mandt6 #18 Posted Mar 30 2011 - 04:18

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 5541 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011

View PostSetyrGirl, on Mar 30 2011 - 01:58, said:

That probably means you need a new router. I know when my router started to go my ping would be far worse than it should of been. It would jump between 200-700 ping. Once I got a new router it was back up to the speeds it should of been around 50-80. Until you get a new router just connect directly to the port.

No, I have it plugged into the wall.  I plugged my computer into the router so I could stream to my Xbox 360, but then I reconnected it to the wall when I wanted to play WoT.  When I plugged it in, I got PING rates of 800+.  Now I can't even log into the game.  I don't really know what the problem is anymore.  I contacted my University computer service to see what's up with my DNS server and why it's not responding.  Internet works fine, downloading and uploading work fine, everything that has to do with an internet connection other than playing online, is fine.

mandt6