Jump to content


[0.9.20] XVM Config by Bones (1Sept17)

XVM WN8 Minimap DamageLog HP in Player Panel carousel tank carousel Battle Results zoom 0.9.20

  • Please log in to reply
309 replies to this topic

Mineth #21 Posted Feb 09 2014 - 21:12

    Private

  • Players
  • 11883 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    04-30-2012
How do you change the font back to the default. It is way to small for myself :(

Bones #22 Posted Feb 10 2014 - 06:46

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 33047 battles
  • 299
  • [CB] CB
  • Member since:
    08-05-2010

I'll assume you mean the font used in the "over target markers" (the text you see above friendly and enemy tanks)?

 

Find the file markers.xc within the World_of_Tanks\res_mods\xvm\configs\@Bones directory. You'll see ~1600 lines of code, but it's all logically laid out. For every instance of a text field, you'll see a block of code like this:

 

Spoiler

 

Which in this case uses a 12-point text. Tank names/player names use 12 point, stats are in 11 point, and the hit points within the health bar are 10 point. Just search for every instance of that and change the font size to whatever you want. (The font itself is whatever the standard XVM system font is. If you dig through the readme files, you'll see how to change the font that is used.)

 

Be sure you keep a backup of the original file just in case you break something. 

 

(Note also in this config, the markersAlive...xc & markersDead..xc files are not actually used. Eventually I'll get around to moving the appropriate code into them, so for now they are just placeholders.)

 

Good luck!


Edited by Bones, Feb 10 2014 - 06:47.


Bones #23 Posted Feb 13 2014 - 08:30

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 33047 battles
  • 299
  • [CB] CB
  • Member since:
    08-05-2010

Updated now for WoT 0.8.11

 

I've played a few battles on the EU server with this config and all seems well. If anyone runs into problems with the config however, please report here.

 



T23E3IsLoveT23E3IsLife #24 Posted Feb 13 2014 - 17:19

    Captain

  • Players
  • 21990 battles
  • 1,844
  • [F0XEY] F0XEY
  • Member since:
    03-07-2011
I'm using it on patch 0.8.11 with no problems

wartzay #25 Posted Mar 06 2014 - 19:25

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 14498 battles
  • 540
  • [GCA] GCA
  • Member since:
    11-16-2012
Love this config! Super simple, gives me the info I need but stays out of the way.

Griphos #26 Posted Mar 29 2014 - 07:20

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12651 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    02-22-2013

Just started using this config.  It's the basic config I've been looking for, I think.  The one issue I have is the small fonts, and I see your helpful instructions for how to modify them in the appropriate file.  Thanks.  But I'd really like to modify the size of the damage markers as well.  They are far too small for me to see, and I like to see how much damage I just caused.  Which file do I edit, and what in it do I edit to make those markers (the damage amount) larger, and also, move further up the screen for longer.  

 

Thanks.

 

EDIT:  Okay, I see it's the same file, and I've figured out which entries to change to make the damage count larger.  I see also that the speed entry keeps the damage on the screen longer (I believe the number indicates seconds).  I figured out how to turn off the tank type icons as well.  Thanks for this config.  It's just what I want now.  


Edited by Griphos, Mar 29 2014 - 08:25.


KillJoy_13_ #27 Posted Mar 29 2014 - 22:40

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 6773 battles
  • 35
  • [MAV-C] MAV-C
  • Member since:
    08-18-2011
Is there a way to uninstall XVM without uninstalling the WoT client??  It is crashing my PC and XVM just aint worth the headache.

Griphos #28 Posted Mar 29 2014 - 23:44

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12651 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    02-22-2013
Yeah, delete the [game]/res_mods/xvm folder.  Depending on whose xvm you installed, it put some files in the 0.8.11 folder as well.  You can always just delete all the files in this folder as well, and if you have any other mods installed, just install them again.  The 0.8.11 folder is empty as installed by the game.  

Bones #29 Posted Mar 30 2014 - 15:18

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 33047 battles
  • 299
  • [CB] CB
  • Member since:
    08-05-2010

View PostKillJoy_13_, on Mar 29 2014 - 16:40, said:

Is there a way to uninstall XVM without uninstalling the WoT client??  It is crashing my PC and XVM just aint worth the headache.

 

As Griphos said, you need to delete the ...World_of_Tanks/res_mods/XVM directory, but to get rid of everything, there are files also in /res_mods/0.8.11/gui and /0.8.11/scripts

 

You best option is to delete everything in /0.8.11/. If you have other mods, then just load those back in one by one.

 



Rodinho #30 Posted Apr 17 2014 - 21:50

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 14164 battles
  • 274
  • Member since:
    05-12-2011
Are you updating this for v0.9.0? I really prefer this xvm config over solo's and jimbo's xvm by far.

Griphos #31 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 02:21

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12651 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    02-22-2013

Yes, please.  I've used a number of XVM configs, and yours is by far my favorite.

 

 



Kickballz410 #32 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 02:22

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 34664 battles
  • 503
  • [VILIN] VILIN
  • Member since:
    08-18-2011
Agreed with last 2 comments. Plox.... 

Bones #33 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 02:36

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 33047 battles
  • 299
  • [CB] CB
  • Member since:
    08-05-2010

Working on it right now. Tracking down view ranges on the new vehicle additions. I should have the updated config uploaded tomorrow morning at the latest.

 

One note, after doing some research: If you want to have stats enabled (win rate, wn8 score, etc.), you will need to register on the XVM website (see link below). Worse yet, it looks like you need to renew every two weeks.

 

(Nothing I can do about that, sorry. It seems like the XVM devs have made this global decision.)

 

How to Enable Stats in XVM 5.0.2+

 

Given this, I'll put together a "bare-bones" (so to speak) config without stats for anyone who doesn't want to deal with the additional steps.

 

 

 



MLIOOBE #34 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 02:54

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 20030 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    07-14-2010

Thank you Bones for the hard work, after going through about a million goofy xvm configs (Aslains, Anfields, OVC, MeltyMath, Jimbos, AIOMOD, blah blah blah blah etc) I found yours, liked the screenshots and rocked it through all of 8.11. thank you for making it actually minimalistic but with a lot of info and not like a lot of other configs or mod packers ("oh, yes, it is is minimalist" - then you download it and get bizarre shell icons, anime faces flying out of dead tanks, Garfield sixth sense icon and sound and all other kinds of goofy nonsense).

 

Thank you again! It is much, much, much appreciated.



DaRaikage #35 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 03:10

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 13723 battles
  • 162
  • [R0B0T] R0B0T
  • Member since:
    07-12-2013
I've used your xvm config for a few patches and like the poster above just wanted to thank you for all the work you put in. 

Moose_Thirteen #36 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 03:58

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 15687 battles
  • 743
  • Member since:
    06-19-2013
Yep, thanks.  Didn't realize how much I had come to rely on it until it was gone.  Looking forward to the update.

Kickballz410 #37 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 05:15

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 34664 battles
  • 503
  • [VILIN] VILIN
  • Member since:
    08-18-2011
Awesome Bones. Thanks!!!!!

Bones #38 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 18:07

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 33047 battles
  • 299
  • [CB] CB
  • Member since:
    08-05-2010

UPDATE:

Config now works for WoT 0.9.0

 

Note: The XVM Developers have made some SIGNIFICANT changes in how XVM works. IF YOU WANT STATS TO LOAD (including Wn8 scores, win rates, average tier/damage, etc.), you will need to register on their website. The registration process uses OpenID (which means you will be logging in to the Wargaming/World of Tanks website, which in turn will provide credentials to XVM but will NOT give the XVM devs your game login or password!). XVM on your computer will in turn be given a token that the program will use to log in to the XVM stat server(s) as each game starts to show the stats we all know and love.

 

Unfortunately, this token is only good for 14 days. So every two weeks you'll have to repeat this process. It's not a long process, and I've included a handy link directly to the XVM activation process within the zip file (I'd suggest putting this on your desktop for ease of renewal), but you DO need to read the instructions closely and follow them precisely (you do NOT need to accomplish the first step, "Enable Statistics in the Configuration File" as I've already included that within my XVM Config, but you DO need to do steps 2 and 3). I just sat next to a friend of mine who, shall we say, doesn't tend to read or follow instructions well and had to do far too much hand-holding for my own tastes.

 

I don't particularly like this new development, but then again the XVM Devs are providing this service to us for free, so I'm not going to complain. And there's nothing I can do about it. Sorry. I do wholeheartedly support anyone who doesn't want to deal with this hassle, though, which is why...

 

Additional notes: I have discontinued support for the Wn6 version (given the predominance of Wn8 now) and will be replacing it with a no-stat version. I thought I could throw it together this morning, but I need to track down a few more issues before release. Expect that within a few days.



Griphos #39 Posted Apr 19 2014 - 00:16

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12651 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    02-22-2013

Great.  Thanks a bunch.  Nice to have the ol' XVM back.

 

I'm having a strange issue, though.  Game locks on the black screen after every battle and can't return to the garage when I have your XVM installed.  It works okay without it.  Any ideas what could be causing that?


Edited by Griphos, Apr 19 2014 - 00:58.


Bones #40 Posted Apr 19 2014 - 01:15

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 33047 battles
  • 299
  • [CB] CB
  • Member since:
    08-05-2010

Hmm... No I don't.

 

After spending a few hours at a buddy's house getting the config up and running, he seems to have the same problem. He's running an i5 with an Nvidia 500 series video card. Dropping down to standard graphics, the game still kept crashing to desktop (instead of just stopping on a black screen, though he could alt-tab out of that). He couldn't play though a single game today, with or without mods running.

 

The i3 in the same room had no problems. (No idea offhand what graphics card he has in that.)

 

Likewise running my i7 laptop with a Radeon video card, I haven't had a single problem (at standard graphics).

 

It's clearly not a multi-core issue (or at least *just* a multi-core issue). Then again, I haven't dug through all the support threads.

 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users