Jump to content


Multi-Threading Multi-Threading MULTI-THREADING


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

HairlesMonkyBoy #1 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:08

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 38451 battles
  • 214
  • Member since:
    01-02-2012

There is no godly reason why a game with as low graphics demands as this one should not run at a constant 60 fps on a 4.05 Ghz quad core processor. Bioshock, made in 2007, supports 4+ threads. Your sibling, World of Warplanes is multi-threaded. It's 2014 for **** sake! Fix this glaring problem. I'm seriously sick of watching my fps drop as my first core is maxed out while the other three are barely getting touched by the Havok physics and audio processing etc. I want the solid 60 fps that my machine is more than capable of and I want it now.

 

[content moderated.profanity]
~Moderation Team



Legiondude #2 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:13

    Major

  • Players
  • 20458 battles
  • 23,184
  • [CMFRT] CMFRT
  • Member since:
    08-22-2011

View PostHairlesMonkyBoy, on Jan 10 2014 - 21:08, said:

I'm seriously sick of watching my fps drop as my first core is maxed out while the other three are barely getting touched by the Havok physics

Well.....havok hasn't been enabled yet

 

So yeah, your computer probably would have a problem with handling that



ryeb #3 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:14

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 52440 battles
  • 128
  • Member since:
    01-20-2012
Send in your CV WG needs some programmers with skill...............

SheerluckH0lmes #4 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:15

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 8557 battles
  • 934
  • [-FCF-] -FCF-
  • Member since:
    09-07-2012

View PostHairlesMonkyBoy, on Jan 11 2014 - 03:08, said:

There is no godly reason why a game with as low graphics demands as this one should not run at a constant 60 fps on a 4.05 Ghz quad core processor. Bioshock, made in 2007, supports 4+ threads. Your sibling, World of Warplanes is multi-threaded. It's 2014 for F**k sake! Fix this glaring problem. I'm seriously sick of watching my fps drop as my first core is maxed out while the other three are barely getting touched by the Havok physics and audio processing etc. I want the solid 60 fps that my machine is more than capable of and I want it now.

Actually, the design of the game means your computer can only use 1 core to run it...

so.. you are totally right. TIME FOR AN UPDATE!!!



HairlesMonkyBoy #5 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:26

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 38451 battles
  • 214
  • Member since:
    01-02-2012

View PostLegiondude, on Jan 10 2014 - 22:13, said:

Well.....havok hasn't been enabled yet

 

So yeah, your computer probably would have a problem with handling that

Well then whatever physics engine they are using for the current physics... irrelevant to my point.



Iron_Tsunami #6 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:27

    Major

  • Players
  • 39933 battles
  • 3,019
  • [MOVE] MOVE
  • Member since:
    04-29-2012
MUUUUUULLLLLLLLTTTTTTIIIIIIII-TTTTTTTTTHHHHHHHRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

rokinamerica #7 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:27

    Major

  • Players
  • 4944 battles
  • 3,227
  • Member since:
    04-20-2013
Try unparking your cores. Helps with less than stellar coded games. Some claim it creates more heat, but I am on a two year old laptop and still have great temps. You can use HWininfo064 or other programs to monitor temps, but it works for me. It also can help if you are experiencing stutter in game.

HairlesMonkyBoy #8 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:38

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 38451 battles
  • 214
  • Member since:
    01-02-2012

View PostIron_Tsunami, on Jan 10 2014 - 22:27, said:

MUUUUUULLLLLLLLTTTTTTIIIIIIII-TTTTTTTTTHHHHHHHRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAADDDDDDDDIIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I loled. Freakin lemongrab.

View PostRokinamerica, on Jan 10 2014 - 22:27, said:

Try unparking your cores. Helps with less than stellar coded games. Some claim it creates more heat, but I am on a two year old laptop and still have great temps. You can use HWininfo064 or other programs to monitor temps, but it works for me. It also can help if you are experiencing stutter in game.

All of my cores are active. The game itself is very poorly optimized for multi-threading especially considering games made 7+ years ago were made to be highly multi-threaded and especially considering its 2014 ffs.



Ka_BLEWee #9 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 04:50

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 26477 battles
  • 454
  • [SCHSM] SCHSM
  • Member since:
    12-29-2012

View PostHairlesMonkyBoy, on Jan 10 2014 - 19:26, said:

Well then whatever physics engine they are using for the current physics... irrelevant to my point.

Actually it's not irrelevant. When are moving to Havoc - which IS multicore capable.



HairlesMonkyBoy #10 Posted Jan 11 2014 - 22:40

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 38451 battles
  • 214
  • Member since:
    01-02-2012

View PostKablewee, on Jan 10 2014 - 22:50, said:

Actually it's not irrelevant. When are moving to Havoc - which IS multicore capable.

It is irrelevant because the core of the game will still be single threaded and will still max out the first core of my CPU while the remaining three will still be hardly touched, even with the Havok physics engine (and may I mention that GPU accelerated physics is superior in every way). It is irrelevant because havok physics has nothing to do with the extremely poor programming that has gone into the development of this game. It is almost a decade behind the times with it's single threaded core, and it is becoming ridiculous that they haven't updated this yet, regardless of how much effort it would take.



HairlesMonkyBoy #11 Posted Jan 13 2014 - 21:52

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 38451 battles
  • 214
  • Member since:
    01-02-2012
bump for great justice.

Supertroopertanker #12 Posted Jan 13 2014 - 22:04

    Major

  • Players
  • 5073 battles
  • 2,111
  • Member since:
    03-14-2013
don't they have an engine capable of multi threading? isn't it being used on the 360?

HairlesMonkyBoy #13 Posted Jan 14 2014 - 04:21

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 38451 battles
  • 214
  • Member since:
    01-02-2012

View PostSupertroopertanker, on Jan 13 2014 - 16:04, said:

don't they have an engine capable of multi threading? isn't it being used on the 360?

I would hope so considering the 360 has 3 cores and anyone one on it's own would deliver terribad performance (arguably all three of them together are also outdated and therefore terribad but w/e) . The WoWP engine is also multi-threaded. I get a solid 60 fps in that game and rarely do any of my cores get above 50% usage. Get rid of this terrible bottleneck Wargaming!






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users