Jump to content


8.11 res_mods vanilla


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
12 replies to this topic

Skpstr #1 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 18:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 10,939
  • Member since:
    07-03-2011
Anyone know where I can get a vanilla res_mods folder for 8.11? I messed mine up, and my Google-fu is weak, all I can find are mods.

CedricMacLaren #2 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 18:50

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,382
  • Member since:
    02-24-2013
:-)

DarkSkies #3 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 18:50

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 23
  • Member since:
    02-19-2012
Delete everything from the res_mods\ folder.  Inside, create an empty folder called 0.8.11.

Scarlet_Neko #4 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 18:50

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 238
  • Member since:
    04-23-2013
If you mean vanilla as in idk what it is, but you can always make a new res_mods folder? other than that cant help ya, dont know what a vanilla one is.

CedricMacLaren #5 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 18:54

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,382
  • Member since:
    02-24-2013
11k games since 2011, don't you think he is yanking ya a bit?

Nunya_000 #6 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 18:58

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 989
  • Member since:
    09-20-2013

{lang:macro__view_post}Skpstr, on Feb 24 2014 - 09:47, said:

Anyone know where I can get a vanilla res_mods folder for 8.11? I messed mine up, and my Google-fu is weak, all I can find are mods.

 

Sorry...can't help you.  All I have is the chocolate res_mod folder.



Skpstr #7 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 20:37

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 10,939
  • Member since:
    07-03-2011
DarkSkies said:

Quote

Delete everything from the res_mods\ folder.  Inside, create an empty folder called 0.8.11.
Does that mean that technically, I can play unmodded WoT? IOW, is there anything in there before a mod is added?

Skpstr #8 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 20:44

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 10,939
  • Member since:
    07-03-2011
CedricMacLaren said:

Quote

11k games since 2011, don't you think he is yanking ya a bit?
Not even a bit lol. I've only been using mods for 6 months, and only plain (vanilla) XVM and Jimbo's at that. I was trying to put Jimbo's on 8.11, and I did something wrong. When you load into a match, the bar fills up to 100%, but it hangs there. You never get into the match, but on the title screen, you can see when other players get killed. I know it must be to do with res_mods because the only way I am able to play is by putting in a modded res_mods, (with a mod I didn't care for) then it works fine. I HAVE been playing quite awhile, but I'm not really computer savvy. (I can do stuff, but if it doesn't work first time, I'm lost :D)

DarkSkies #9 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 20:47

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 23
  • Member since:
    02-19-2012

{lang:macro__view_post}Skpstr, on Feb 24 2014 - 12:37, said:

Does that mean that technically, I can play unmodded WoT? IOW, is there anything in there before a mod is added?

 

Yes, that would give you an unmodded WoT.  I think there is a readme.txt in the folder, but it is not needed.  The only caveat is if you installed a mod that modified game files you would need to restore those from the backup you smartly made beforehand.  (e.g. historical gun sounds - res\audio\, compressed textures - res\packages\)



Skpstr #10 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 21:48

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 10,939
  • Member since:
    07-03-2011
DarkSkies said:

Quote

The only caveat is if you installed a mod that modified game files you would need to restore those from the backup you smartly made beforehand.
Heh, let's not comment on my intelligence...(or lack thereof :D) As far as mods that modified game files, does vanilla XVM count? (assuming I want to keep using it) And the mod I am currently using was just a simple res_mods swap, nothng else. Will that have modified any game files I will need to restore?

DarkSkies #11 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 23:23

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 23
  • Member since:
    02-19-2012
You should be fine then.  Give it a try.  Worst case, reinstall.

leeuniverse #12 Posted Feb 24 2014 - 23:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 2,315
  • Member since:
    01-30-2013

There used to be a "Vanilla" XVM.... the OP is correct.  Don't know about a current one however.  It was one that wasn't all color'y...

For Jimbos you likely want to get his 1.37 version, which is the latest.

 

Or, download my mod pack, and I have both, though mines not Vanilla, I have fixed the colors so they are readable.



CedricMacLaren #13 Posted Feb 25 2014 - 04:41

    Captain

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 1,382
  • Member since:
    02-24-2013

Ok then. Always save a copy of your last known working res_mods folder. Also rather than risk finding out you have gorked your client only after you have pressed "battle", watch a replay using your mods first. If the replay works, chances are good you will be fine for fighting.

 

Also, if you do find you have gorked your client, shut the game down without exiting the battle, rename your good backup of the res_mods folder so it is your res_mods folder and restart the client. If done correctly you should find yourself back playing in the battle. Hopefully not just in time to see your tank die.

 

gl