Jump to content


Selling your noob tank


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
18 replies to this topic

blakkmantis #1 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:34

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 5347 battles
  • 573
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011
Sorry if this is a stupid question.  

I now have an American Lee tank, and was wondering if it was ok to sell my noob American tank?  Also what should I do with my crew from that noob tank?  Are they of any use anymore for anything?

I'll thank you now for the advice you give.

OutlawStarX #2 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 3144 battles
  • 293
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-17-2010
Go ahead, most people will tell you it sucks anyways. As far as the crew if they are any kind of decent then keep them for future usa tanks.

Danylu #3 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:35

    First lieutenant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 7278 battles
  • 868
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010
Of course it is okay to sell your weaker tanks. At lower tiers, the crew isn't worth keeping in my opinion.

blakkmantis #4 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:36

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 5347 battles
  • 573
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011

View PostDankNugs, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:35, said:

Go ahead, most people will tell you it sucks anyways. As far as the crew if they are any kind of decent then keep them for future usa tanks.

Ok this brings up another question, crew members that are trained in the Light tanks, they can only be used in other Light tanks correct?

iRA6E #5 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:37

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 17427 battles
  • 1,657
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010
Yea I say sell it.....You have already researched it and their cheap ..So you can always buy back later if for some reason you want? Can't Imagine why you'd want to buy back a Lee?

"Ok this brings up another question, crew members that are trained in the  Light tanks, they can only be used in other Light tanks correct? "   They can be transferred to any vehicle under the same nations tech tree as I understand and have experienced?  Just have to be retrained at some cost or loss of experience to go to the new vehicle.

Danylu #6 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:39

    First lieutenant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 7278 battles
  • 868
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010

View Postblakkmantis, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:36, said:

Ok this brings up another question, crew members that are trained in the Light tanks, they can only be used in other Light tanks correct?

They can be used in any other tank, but will suffer a decrease in performance if they are put in tanks of different class. The crew can be retrained for those classes, if they are not retrained, they will not earn any experience :)

WaffleFries #7 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:48

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 15911 battles
  • 321
  • Member since:
    07-17-2010

View PostDanylu, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:39, said:

They can be used in any other tank, but will suffer a decrease in performance if they are put in tanks of different class. The crew can be retrained for those classes, if they are not retrained, they will not earn any experience :)
A few people tested using untrained crew on their tanks and they did infact gain experience.  See this thread

blakkmantis #8 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:48

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 5347 battles
  • 573
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011

View PostDanylu, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:39, said:

They can be used in any other tank, but will suffer a decrease in performance if they are put in tanks of different class. The crew can be retrained for those classes, if they are not retrained, they will not earn any experience :)
So if I retrain a crew from say a Light tank class to a M2 tank they will be no better than 50% like a new crew would be?  None of their stats earned in the other class will be usable?

blakkmantis #9 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:49

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 5347 battles
  • 573
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011

View PostWaffleFries, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:48, said:

A few people tested using untrained crew on their tanks and they did infact gain experience.  See this thread
Thank you that thread was very helpful.  :Smile_honoring:

Danylu #10 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:52

    First lieutenant

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 7278 battles
  • 868
  • Member since:
    11-24-2010

View PostWaffleFries, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:48, said:

A few people tested using untrained crew on their tanks and they did infact gain experience.  See this thread

Thank you :)

What do you mean by "stats" earnt? If you mean stats such as battles won etc, then yes.

OutlawStarX #11 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 16:52

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 3144 battles
  • 293
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-17-2010

View Postblakkmantis, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:48, said:

So if I retrain a crew from say a Light tank class to a M2 tank they will be no better than 50% like a new crew would be?  None of their stats earned in the other class will be usable?
It depends. When you re-train for free you lose %20, 20K creds 10% and 200gold 0%. You do not lose any skill training however, so a crewmate @ 80% with firefighting/camo/repair is far more useful then new crew.

Basically if your crew in the lee is 71% or higher then retraining them to a new tank would be better than hiring new crew.

blakkmantis #12 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 17:00

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 5347 battles
  • 573
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011

View PostDankNugs, on Apr 20 2011 - 16:52, said:

It depends. When you re-train for free you lose %20, 20K creds 10% and 200gold 0%. You do not lose any skill training however, so a crewmate @ 80% with firefighting/camo/repair is far more useful then new crew.

Basically if your crew in the lee is 71% or higher then retraining them to a new tank would be better than hiring new crew.
This is what I was wondering thank you.  I had a crew for my noob tank that was at like 69% and didn't know if it was a good idea to just hire new, or keep them and transfer them to a higher tier tank.

Wrath_From_Above #13 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 17:44

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 740
  • Member since:
    02-21-2011

View Postblakkmantis, on Apr 20 2011 - 17:00, said:

This is what I was wondering thank you.  I had a crew for my noob tank that was at like 69% and didn't know if it was a good idea to just hire new, or keep them and transfer them to a higher tier tank.


IMO, I wouldn't start trying to really level your crew until tier 4 or 5. You'll make it to a tier 5 in 5-6 hours of play anyway. Then after tier 4 or 5, keep transfering your crew to the new tank. By the time your have a tier 8 or 9 your crew should be on it's 3rd skill.

virtusx #14 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 17:53

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 2885 battles
  • 201
  • Member since:
    07-23-2010
Remember as well, if you play a tank a lot after it is elite (researched everything) you can click the rapid train box and all experience will go into crew and will train faster. This is good if you have a tank like the M4 Sherman that can be a good money maker and you do not want to spend gold to transfer excess xp on one tank (the M4) to free xp in the xp pool, since gold cost real money.

OutlawStarX #15 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 17:56

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 3144 battles
  • 293
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-17-2010

View PostWrath_From_Above, on Apr 20 2011 - 17:44, said:

You'll make it to a tier 5 in 5-6 hours of play anyway.
Assuming he is P2P, that is.

blakkmantis #16 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 18:02

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 5347 battles
  • 573
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011

View PostDankNugs, on Apr 20 2011 - 17:56, said:

Assuming he is P2P, that is.
No I'm not P2P... yet.  But thats something I've been considering.  I love the game, trying now to learn as much about it as possible to get better.  And I appreciate you guys letting me pick your noggins.  Thanks!

OutlawStarX #17 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 18:18

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 3144 battles
  • 293
  • [ECV] ECV
  • Member since:
    07-17-2010
Go for it, even if you just buy a few days of premium I guarantee you won't regret it. I was F2P for the first few days, clocked 9 hours of straight grinding on release day and only made it to stock T4. After getting gold I was quickly into a T5 and after an hour of play had most of it's upgrades. Gold sets the game to easy mode.

iRA6E #18 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 19:37

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 17427 battles
  • 1,657
  • Member since:
    12-23-2010
I leveled out my crew with gold at the Tier 5 heavy (KV)  I have transferred & retrained them to the next two (KV3 and IS)  and just ran them to 90% with credits....I had to get an extra loader at KV3.  As the grind gets bigger having the skilled crew is that important....And it appears that at just about the time you are ready to research the next tank they will have gotten to 100% again. They have now gotten to about 75% secondary skill (repair) . It will take about it seems 40-45 battles to max them back to 100%?? This crew should end up in my ISW-7 at some point. I will probably keep an IS4 in the garage permanently, but, I,ll just recruit a new crew and retrain them with credits and playing time.

NargilFenris #19 Posted Apr 20 2011 - 22:09

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16287 battles
  • 502
  • Member since:
    02-12-2011
I would only spend the money to retrain a crew if they had learned a secondary skill or were really close to 100%. Otherwise it just seems like a huge credit dump. Of course if you have a load of extra credits sitting around then hey why not have a crew that doesn't start at 50 to 75%




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users