Jump to content


Official Mac Wrapper Feedback Thread


  • Please log in to reply
1120 replies to this topic

AutomaticMonk #61 Posted Apr 08 2014 - 09:28

    Private

  • Players
  • 10762 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013

Mac configuration
Model
Macbook Pro 3,1
Processor
2.6 GHz Intel Core Duo
Memory
2GB
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT 256MB
Software
OS X 10.6.8
Graphical preset
FPS
High
1FPS (It took forever to load in, when I did the game crashed)
Medium
1FPS (It took forever to load in, when I did the game crashed)
Low
Between 8-22 FPS depending on what was going on in game.
Minimum
13-30 FPS Stabilized around 20 but dipped to 8 briefly on a few occasions.
General feedback on the product
I'm glad to see a Mac client coming about, it's a step in the right direction. There are a few issues I had, the two big ones are that the game will freeze/stutter for seconds on end then catch up with itself. Obviously this makes it hard to play but this isn't a complete product either. The other issue is that when exiting the game, I get stuck on a black screen and have to manually restart my computer. I'm not sure what causes this, but Command quitting gets around it. I look forward to this being smoothed out, it plays decently but the stutters and FPS fluctuation hamper the gameplay.

 



DPErny #62 Posted Apr 12 2014 - 00:54

    Private

  • Players
  • 3197 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    06-25-2012
I've not yet seen my system configuration listed. I have a 15" late-2013 MBP w/ Retina Display (discrete graphics option). I'm downloading the client now, expect a performance table by later tonight or tomorrow. I'm really excited for the possibility of the World of Tanks Mac wrapper.

DPErny #63 Posted Apr 12 2014 - 03:15

    Private

  • Players
  • 3197 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    06-25-2012

Mac configuration

Model

MacBook Pro Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013

 

Processor

2.3 GHz Intel Core i7

Memory

16 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics

Intel Iris Pro 1024 MB / NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M

Software

OSX 10.9.2 (13C64

Graphical preset

FPS

High

10-15 FPS

Medium

15-20 FPS

Low

50 up to 120 (when staring at ground)

Minimum

60+

General feedback on the product

All tests conducted at Retina resolution, 2880x1800. Game would like run substantially better at quarter resolution. Interface is impossibly small to read at that resolution. I would expect performance to be substantially better at a lower resolution (1440x900). 

Only major issue: when the game restarted itself to update graphic settings, it did not come back up. A ps aux showed that it had left all of its processes running. I restarted my computer before continuing.

 



Dragearen #64 Posted Apr 13 2014 - 18:47

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 6807 battles
  • 51
  • Member since:
    05-31-2011

Mac configuration

Model

Macbook Pro 13-inch late 2011

Processor

2.4GHz Intel i5

Memory

4GB 1333MHz DDR3

Graphics

Intel HD Graphics 3000 384MB

Software

OS 10.7.5

Graphical preset

FPS

High

2-5 FPS, absolutely not playable.

Medium

5-10 FPS, not really playable.

Low

15-20, drops to 10 in sniper mode, sometimes hangs up a bit.

Minimum

20-30, drops to about 15 in sniper mode

General feedback on the product

The only bug I found was that sometimes shadows would be rendered incorrectly (giving a very blocky appearance, or shadows appearing where they shouldn't be).  Other than that, it runs much better than the wrapper I was using.  Thank you, Wargaming!



armorshredder #65 Posted Apr 15 2014 - 12:07

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 10553 battles
  • 119
  • [PHNXS] PHNXS
  • Member since:
    06-02-2013

Mac configuration

Model

MacBook Pro, 13-inch, Early 2011

Processor

2.3 GHz Intel Core i5

Memory

8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

Graphics

Intel HD Graphics 3000 512 MB

Software

OS X 10.8.3

Graphical preset

FPS

High

10-30

Medium

15-35

Low

20-40

Minimum

20-60

General feedback on the product

It works well in general but when I change my graphic settings to anything above minimum the game crashes when I enter a battle. I would love to see some improvements made to this wrapper, it would be fantastic if you could also come up with a World of Warplanes Wrapper. Thank you for this wrapper WG!

:smile:

 

 

Edited by armorshredder, Apr 15 2014 - 12:11.


desert_eeegle #66 Posted Apr 16 2014 - 14:18

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12787 battles
  • 64
  • [FOX9] FOX9
  • Member since:
    09-04-2011
I can give a full performance table later as well but my experience with the wrapper has been fantastic. Before I used the paulthetall wineskin wrapper to play and was able to get decent fps on standard graphics but suffered TONS of crashes, nearly every other game. When I downloaded this wrapper I found myself on high improved graphic settings with respectable fps. Only thing is that the flora density setting only works sometimes and when it does the plants have a diagonal purple plane going through them as well as a lot lower fps, so obviously I keep it off. Shadow settings also severely lessen fps unfortunately so I'm forced to keep it off as well.

tankgamer12 #67 Posted Apr 16 2014 - 21:14

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 11419 battles
  • 31
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    06-07-2013
I run it on a Mac mini and its super slow, glitchy, and every now and then it logs me of completely.:sad: But when I'm in my garage it works fine.:smile: 

Edited by tankgamer12, Apr 16 2014 - 21:15.


dstud208 #68 Posted Apr 17 2014 - 15:17

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17805 battles
  • 1,810
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012

View Posttankgamer12, on Apr 16 2014 - 14:14, said:

I run it on a Mac mini and its super slow, glitchy, and every now and then it logs me of completely.:sad: But when I'm in my garage it works fine.:smile: 

 

did you make sure to try other graphics settings? A mac mini should have no problem running it on the lowest possible setting



dstud208 #69 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 00:50

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17805 battles
  • 1,810
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012

Reporting an issue that MANY are having:

 

When launching the client using the Mac Wrapper, after I click "Login" it goes through all the connecting, synchronizing, updating store, etc. As soon as I am supposed to be able to see my garage the game just crashes to desktop.

 

Edit: After a bunch more attempts, it sometimes freezes at "Synchronizing Equipment and Consumables" and/or "Synchronizing Personal Files" the gear will stop spinning and it will just be frozen there, after a few minutes it just crashes to desktop

 

Influx PS Log:

Spoiler

 

Python Log:

Spoiler

 

Mac Hardware Information:

Spoiler

 

Hopefully something can be done about this!

 

Thanks Wargaming!!!


Edited by dstud208, Apr 18 2014 - 00:54.


BlackShad0w #70 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 03:14

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12465 battles
  • 31
  • Member since:
    10-27-2012

Hey a lot ( all the mac users)  of us mac users are having problems with the new 9.0 update, the game seem to lunch up like normal and once you login the loading icon appears and stops loading at "synchronizing personal files" and after about a min of being frozen it crashes. 

WG please check this issue out and please fix fast 

Thank u!



A_Buck #71 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 08:07

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 3817 battles
  • 10
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    04-07-2014

Graphic Preset

High: untested (preset to medium setting, decided to begin there)

Medium: 8-10 fps (after getting this level of performance, didn't bother increasing graphics, should I?)
Low: 28-34 fps

Minimal: Untested

Feedback/Bugs

Pre-9.0

-While in full screen mode, push to talk function on Skype would not function. Worked fine in windowed.

 

Post-9.0

-Game freezes and crashes at the account synchronizing screen immediately after connecting to a server. Seems to be widespread with the Mac wrapper.



AutomaticMonk #72 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 08:29

    Private

  • Players
  • 10762 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013
My client also freezes upon log in synchronization.

Thicnevic #73 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 12:12

    Private

  • Players
  • 6171 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    01-16-2014

It locks up when I try to log in. 

 

Just FYI for all the Mac dudes here, War Thunder released its official Mac client yesterday (4/18/14). 


Edited by Thicnevic, Apr 18 2014 - 12:15.


dstud208 #74 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 14:21

    Captain

  • Players
  • 17805 battles
  • 1,810
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    10-15-2012

View PostThicnevic, on Apr 18 2014 - 05:12, said:

It locks up when I try to log in. 

 

Just FYI for all the Mac dudes here, War Thunder released its official Mac client yesterday (4/18/14). 

 

Ya! It's an OpenGL client too!! I can run it of high graphics settings and my computer doesn't even get warm! It's so awesome! I do wish WG just made a true OpenGL client. The wrapper is great and all, but it doesn't perform as good and gets issues like what we currently are having.



A_Buck #75 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 16:15

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 3817 battles
  • 10
  • [GUP] GUP
  • Member since:
    04-07-2014

View Postdstud208, on Apr 18 2014 - 15:21, said:

 

Ya! It's an OpenGL client too!! I can run it of high graphics settings and my computer doesn't even get warm! It's so awesome! I do wish WG just made a true OpenGL client. The wrapper is great and all, but it doesn't perform as good and gets issues like what we currently are having.

OS X 10.9 Mavericks, 512 mb GPU, Intel HD4000 or higher required.

Damn.

 



sneaky_poptart #76 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 16:56

    Private

  • Players
  • 23234 battles
  • 5
  • [RYZIN] RYZIN
  • Member since:
    10-09-2012

Hey WG! was looking to reporting a bug I found with 9.0, 8.11 worked great, I got roughly 25-30 frames per second on minimum settings. With 9.0 though, it seems to crash after logging in. It occurs between logging in, and accessing the garage, particularly when it says 'Synchronizing Store'. In 8.11 I was using Aslains XVM, and J!MBO's gun reticle mod.

 

Influx_PS log: Influx PS log was empty when I checked, granted, I had already quit the game when I checked as the game freezes and quits before I get a chance to check while it's running.

 

Python log:

Spoiler

 

Mac Hardware Information:

Spoiler


tankgamer12 #77 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 17:32

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 11419 battles
  • 31
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    06-07-2013
I downloaded update 9.0 and now when i log in it just closes.:arta: Please fix it!!!:izmena:

tankgamer12 #78 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 17:37

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 11419 battles
  • 31
  • [-BRO] -BRO
  • Member since:
    06-07-2013

View Postdstud208, on Apr 17 2014 - 07:17, said:

 

did you make sure to try other graphics settings? A mac mini should have no problem running it on the lowest possible setting

 

I put every thing on the lowest setting possible,  but now im havin the same problem as every on els.



AutoJunkie79 #79 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 18:39

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 21950 battles
  • 31
  • [MCBB] MCBB
  • Member since:
    11-01-2013
Since updating the game to v.0.9.0 the wrapper no longer works. I am able to get to the login screen but soon after clicking "Connect" it will stay stuck on the "synchronizing equipment and consumables" or "updating personnel file" for a long period of time and then just exit with no error message.

lordnewsun #80 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 19:43

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 17325 battles
  • 30
  • Member since:
    09-04-2012

View PostAutoJunkie79, on Apr 18 2014 - 19:39, said:

Since updating the game to v.0.9.0 the wrapper no longer works. I am able to get to the login screen but soon after clicking "Connect" it will stay stuck on the "synchronizing equipment and consumables" or "updating personnel file" for a long period of time and then just exit with no error message.

 

Same thing is happening to me :( Where is our official OSX client?






3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users