Jump to content


WoT 9.x Guide for Better FPS/Graphic Optimization 3.0

Optimization Graphics FPS Performance

  • Please log in to reply
114 replies to this topic

Aces2107 #21 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 01:10

    Private

  • Players
  • 15218 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    01-30-2012
in the first pic you see i can click standard and in pick 2 is shows im not alowed to click imporved

Attached Files

  • Attached File   shot_011.jpg   98.39K
  • Attached File   shot_012.jpg   98.56K


Joe_B #22 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 01:18

    Captain

  • Players
  • 27828 battles
  • 1,608
  • [SIX] SIX
  • Member since:
    03-29-2011
Hey WGNA mods, sticky this thing already.

Cartoonman #23 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 01:32

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View PostAces2107, on Apr 17 2014 - 20:10, said:

in the first pic you see i can click standard and in pick 2 is shows im not alowed to click imporved

 

Huh... That is very strange indeed. I have no answer to that, since thats the first time I've seen that. I didn't know WoT was able to hard-cap those settings. Send in a ticket to WG and see what they say. Include your PC specs as well. It shouldn't hard-cap you unless there's a very good reason for it.



502bull #24 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 01:33

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 33271 battles
  • 859
  • [502T] 502T
  • Member since:
    01-30-2013

I'm having a tough time with medium graphics even.

ASUS i7-4770

GT640 4GB

I can barely reach 25fps on medium and its not very stable.

 



Cartoonman #25 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 01:40

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View Post502bull, on Apr 17 2014 - 20:33, said:

I'm having a tough time with medium graphics even.

ASUS i7-4770

GT640 4GB

I can barely reach 25fps on medium and its not very stable.

 

 

Wow, your video card is really close to my video card in terms of performance. At medium I get ~40fps, and it fluctuates between 35 and 45. And my video card isn't a desktop card. It's a workstation card, so it isn't optimized for gaming. Your CPU is better than mine though. 

 

I have noticed though that at times, particularly when an enemy is spotted, the FPS drops to like 21fps for like a second and there's noticeable FPS lag before going back up to 40fps.



monty50000 #26 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 02:09

    Sergeant

  • WGLNA Bronze League Player
  • 33400 battles
  • 175
  • Member since:
    06-30-2012

View PostAces2107, on Apr 18 2014 - 02:10, said:

in the first pic you see i can click standard and in pick 2 is shows im not alowed to click imporved

Same problem, was running fine on improved settings in 8.11

ATI Radeon 3870 512MB
 



Cartoonman #27 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 03:04

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View Postmonty50000, on Apr 17 2014 - 21:09, said:

Same problem, was running fine on improved settings in 8.11

ATI Radeon 3870 512MB
 

 

Thats... an old card. And I thought my Radeon 4850 was old. It seems like Radeon 3xxx series video cards are being identified by WoT as being incompatible with the Improved Renderer. 



Gamble32jn #28 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 03:12

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 13745 battles
  • 261
  • Member since:
    02-28-2011
Ok I got 2 nvidia 660 cards and I got 8GB of ram and a huge processor. PC ain't that old, maybe 2 years old and the cards are a month old. I run over 70fps b4 the patch on MAX an now I get 10fps on max or lower and I went all the way down to low and I get a max of 25 fps if I'm lucky. Super pissed cause I got 3k wrapped in my PC and the only game I got on there is WOT. Oh and I reformatted about 3 month's ago if that.

Arnoud113 #29 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 09:55

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    04-18-2014

Hey, I don't know any of you have experienced the same problem but the problem i'm facing is that the resolution of all the text, crewmembers, well everything that involves writing or symbols is in the resolution it's supposed to be. However, the game itself, all the stuff that's 3d essentially has a lower resolution. Even while the the map and text and everything just has regular resolution.

 

Anyone facing this problem as well? And if so do you have a sollution?

Im running an ASUS G53sx notebook

 

And I'm a european, that's why I don't have any logged battles ;P


Edited by Arnoud113, Apr 18 2014 - 09:56.


Arnoud113 #30 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 09:59

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    04-18-2014
Nevermind, found the problem, just had to drag the 3d render box to 100% :P

Robert_Skera #31 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 11:01

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 14474 battles
  • 60
  • [DB4D] DB4D
  • Member since:
    06-23-2011
V-Sync causes terrible FPS if your rig cant maintain at least 60.  It only allows FPS rates of 60 45 30 15 etc. causing huge jumps in frame rate and causing mouse input to be delayed.

hoom #32 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 13:39

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 20691 battles
  • 6,470
  • Member since:
    10-01-2010

Block Quote

 For the most performance, run at the smallest resolution possible, 1024x768, and run windowed for native resolution at this mode (unless your monitor's native resolution happens to be 1024x768, then just run full screen.)

 

There are things which won't render properly in windowed mode & some graphics cards may not run at full speed in windowed.

I expect its better to run full screen with the new 3D Render Resolution reduced. This is the entire reason for that setting to be introduced.

 

Block Quote

 8. Terrain Quality: [Improved/Standard] This setting adjusts the quality of the terrain. This primarily adjusts the specular mapping (normal mapping) of the terrain. On Standard mode, the highest you can go on this setting is 'Low'. 

 Unless the effects of this have been changed vs 8.11 & before: Terrain Quality affects the number of polygons in the display of terrain, settings less than Max can leave your tank being shot through edge of hills/you hitting invisible hills/tank sinking into terrain/tank floating above terrain.

 

I have seen a bunch of ingame complaints that 9.0 is too bright & had experienced same myself, I turned down Gamma setting a bit & its looking much better.

Also Filter Intensity slider may have some effect on brightness.

 

As a general rule, things like Shadows & smoke/dust have historically been major performance killers -> I suggest turning these down before other stuff.

Do try higher settings than the default/auto detect you may not actually notice a performance hit by moving many of them to max.



Mayhem300 #33 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 15:24

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 40307 battles
  • 117
  • Member since:
    03-29-2011
Cartoonman, thanks for info. Very helpful! For those of us who are a little less computer literate and have a slower computer, can you list what settings you would change to get the best mix of FPS gain and minimizing the graphic quality loss?  Put the mist impactful to adding FPS first? Thank you!

Icyndragon #34 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 15:33

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 7183 battles
  • 456
  • Member since:
    07-19-2012

This thread needs to be pinned.

 

a million +1s for you OP, but I can only give you one at the moment.



Cartoonman #35 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 16:11

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View Posthoom, on Apr 18 2014 - 08:39, said:

 

There are things which won't render properly in windowed mode & some graphics cards may not run at full speed in windowed.

I expect its better to run full screen with the new 3D Render Resolution reduced. This is the entire reason for that setting to be introduced.

 

Although there are many variables that determine whether or not FPS goes up or down between windowed and full screen mode, the general concensus is that if you are running the game at native resolution (desktop resolution), you should run the game in full screen and not in windowed; running in full screen will give you higher FPS than in windowed.. If you are running the game at a resolution lower than your native resolution, you should run the game in windowed mode; running the game in windowed mode will give you higher FPS than in full screen. 

 

E.G playing Battlefield 4 in windowed mode at a smaller resolution gave me a good FPS versus playing it at native resolution full screen. However, it is primarily the resolution that determines the required processing power to render the game. Theres a lot more to process at a resolution of 1920x1080 than there is in 1024x768.

 

 

View Posthoom, on Apr 18 2014 - 08:39, said:

Unless the effects of this have been changed vs 8.11 & before: Terrain Quality affects the number of polygons in the display of terrain, settings less than Max can leave your tank being shot through edge of hills/you hitting invisible hills/tank sinking into terrain/tank floating above terrain.

 

I have seen a bunch of ingame complaints that 9.0 is too bright & had experienced same myself, I turned down Gamma setting a bit & its looking much better.

Also Filter Intensity slider may have some effect on brightness.

 

As a general rule, things like Shadows & smoke/dust have historically been major performance killers -> I suggest turning these down before other stuff.

Do try higher settings than the default/auto detect you may not actually notice a performance hit by moving many of them to max.

 

In my testing, I didn't see any difference in the number of polygons in terrain; terrain never had many polygons to begin with. it was entirely specular mapping, which gave a more 3D appearance relative to lighting. What you're describing may have been true in standard renderor but I never tested in the standard renderor. 

 

I agree with you as well; at settings lower than Maximum, the lighting quality is way too bright. That's something WG will have to fix; but Gamma can help temporarily fix it. 

 

I tested at medium and max, and I did notice an overall FPS decrease moving them to the max. The difference however was mostly subtle between medium and max, so I would recommend people to stick to medium if they aren't clocking like solid 40-60FPS. 

 

 

 

 



BrianHorrocks #36 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 16:38

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 3901 battles
  • 175
  • Member since:
    09-18-2012
thank you for this thread +1 :honoring:

Uklore #37 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 20:45

    Private

  • Players
  • 11266 battles
  • 5
  • Member since:
    08-17-2013

I turned my settings to low but my 1375 still moves very slow. just put in a new 750 G card and still moving slow. can any 1 help

 



Cartoonman #38 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 21:47

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View PostUklore, on Apr 18 2014 - 15:45, said:

I turned my settings to low but my 1375 still moves very slow. just put in a new 750 G card and still moving slow. can any 1 help

 

Research and equip a better engine. 

 

You have to be more specific on what you mean by 'moves very slow' If you mean FPS, theres a known issue that higher GPU cards have FPS issues that settings won't be able to solve.



goog2006 #39 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 22:19

    Private

  • Players
  • 1494 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    12-31-2013

Thanks for the topic guys,I set my settings to medium and turned off smoke,tracks ect and 3d rendering to 90% and today I'm getting 50-60 FPS with 30-50 ping consistently whereas yesterday the game was unplayable no matter the setting...

oh and something else in task manager/world of tanks.exe, I set affinity to 1 processor (CPU0)


Edited by goog2006, Apr 18 2014 - 22:22.


brdhntr #40 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 22:28

    Major

  • Players
  • 21925 battles
  • 2,948
  • Member since:
    06-27-2011

View PostUklore, on Apr 18 2014 - 21:45, said:

I turned my settings to low but my 1375 still moves very slow. just put in a new 750 G card and still moving slow. can any 1 help

 

Make sure you have the latest drivers for your card.  The ones that came on the disk with the card and the default ones that Windows will use if you don't load the drivers from the cd are usually out of date.







Also tagged with Optimization, Graphics, FPS, Performance

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users