Jump to content


WoT 9.x Guide for Better FPS/Graphic Optimization 3.0

Optimization Graphics FPS Performance

  • Please log in to reply
114 replies to this topic

0mega #41 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 23:17

    Private

  • Players
  • 2054 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    10-13-2012

Thanks for the info. I am going to try a fresh install on everything that might help.....my fps is unstable ( 10-70) but generally sucks right now.

In 8.11 I ran everything maxed.Now I have to run everything on Minimum.

Who knew Karl and 8bit map were not an April 1st joke but a preview of what WOT 9.0 would look like.



omi5cron #42 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 23:20

    Captain

  • Players
  • 19752 battles
  • 1,594
  • [21ARM] 21ARM
  • Member since:
    04-01-2013
i also did the affinity resetting and no CTD since. i even played my t49 and hellcat, both of which had crashed HARD! maybe that is a temp fix that can work for others? i have AMD 9350 8 core, dropped the affinity(task manager) to 2 corse, seems to work, but cant do a full three hour session to make sure.hope WG gets a real fix in soon.

Cartoonman #43 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 23:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View Post0mega, on Apr 18 2014 - 18:17, said:

Thanks for the info. I am going to try a fresh install on everything that might help.....my fps is unstable ( 10-70) but generally sucks right now.

In 8.11 I ran everything maxed.Now I have to run everything on Minimum.

Who knew Karl and 8bit map were not an April 1st joke but a preview of what WOT 9.0 would look like.

 

Understand that 9.0 isn't exactly 'stable' as it is for all computers, as some are reporting lower FPS with better equipment than me. So it will take some time till WG fixes the big bugs, and then this guide can actually help those who have actual non-bug related FPS issues.

 

View Postomi5cron, on Apr 18 2014 - 18:20, said:

i also did the affinity resetting and no CTD since. i even played my t49 and hellcat, both of which had crashed HARD! maybe that is a temp fix that can work for others? i have AMD 9350 8 core, dropped the affinity(task manager) to 2 corse, seems to work, but cant do a full three hour session to make sure.hope WG gets a real fix in soon.

 

People have reported it working, so the Affinity may be related to the crashes (it is not certain that the affinity is the cause, but it is correlated to being involved someway). I personally want to wait till WG actually patches this because I dont like playing with the affinity.

 

 



micheladax #44 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 23:36

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1588 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    04-15-2014
new graphic system made my graphics suck so hard ,  i cant find find a  good  configuration no matter what i do , everything it's so blury and lack of definition

Cartoonman #45 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 23:44

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View Postmicheladax, on Apr 18 2014 - 18:36, said:

new graphic system made my graphics suck so hard ,  i cant find find a  good  configuration no matter what i do , everything it's so blury and lack of definition

 

You clearly didn't read my guide then. 

 

Here, i'll point you to the answer. 

 

 

2¤3D Render Resolution: This setting alters the resolution at which elements in the game are rendered. The maximum (and default) setting is 100%, which renders everything at a native resolution. However, if you have FPS issues, reducing the setting may help increase the FPS. 

Example:

Spoiler

 



micheladax #46 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 23:49

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1588 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    04-15-2014

View PostCartoonman, on Apr 19 2014 - 00:44, said:

 

You clearly didn't read my guide then. 

 

Here, i'll point you to the answer. 

 

 

2¤3D Render Resolution: This setting alters the resolution at which elements in the game are rendered. The maximum (and default) setting is 100%, which renders everything at a native resolution. However, if you have FPS issues, reducing the setting may help increase the FPS. 

Example:

Spoiler

 


yeah i read that , but the fps go down so bad , in the last patch  i had all the textures at low quality but the resolution of all the objetcs was fine  , i was playing the game at 60 fps and now if i increase the render to the maximum the fps drop a lot , making the game unplayable.



Cartoonman #47 Posted Apr 18 2014 - 23:51

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View Postmicheladax, on Apr 18 2014 - 18:49, said:


yeah i read that , but the fps go down so bad , in the last patch  i had all the textures at low quality but the resolution of all the objetcs was fine  , i was playing the game at 60 fps and now if i increase the render to the maximum the fps drop a lot , making the game unplayable.

 

Then that's something that you'll just have to wait for WG to fix. It may be related to the programming, and it may be related to more intensive graphics, so it's uncertain which one is which. 

 

In the meantime, if playing at maximum is too slow, don't play at maximum. 



vizibelli #48 Posted Apr 19 2014 - 04:43

    Private

  • Players
  • 8785 battles
  • 3
  • [DHUS] DHUS
  • Member since:
    10-08-2013

I cant get higher graphic settings. Improved settings are disabled to me, and the graphics are worse than previous version. My FPS is about 80 and I should be able to change settings so I can get track marks, shades and others back till the limit I can play with my fps.

How can I solve this?

 



Samuraijack #49 Posted Apr 19 2014 - 05:11

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 46247 battles
  • 360
  • [DM] DM
  • Member since:
    01-06-2011

Good read!!:great:

I'll have to try some tweaking when I get home from work.



Cartoonman #50 Posted Apr 19 2014 - 18:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View Postvizibelli, on Apr 18 2014 - 23:43, said:

I cant get higher graphic settings. Improved settings are disabled to me, and the graphics are worse than previous version. My FPS is about 80 and I should be able to change settings so I can get track marks, shades and others back till the limit I can play with my fps.

How can I solve this?

 

 

You can't. Other users have reported this. For soem reason the WoT client puts a hard cap on the improved setting if you have a certain GPU (people with Radeon 3xxx series have reported this), so it's something that wargaming has to fix. Submit a ticket so they are aware of it.



WetRock #51 Posted Apr 19 2014 - 19:18

    Major

  • Players
  • 28897 battles
  • 3,150
  • Member since:
    06-10-2012
Nice point by point explanations. Very helpful. Thank you.

Centurion902 #52 Posted Apr 19 2014 - 19:35

    Private

  • Players
  • 1215 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    10-27-2013
what should I run it on? my specs are intel ® core  i7-4700 mq cpu 2.40GHz. with 8 GB of ram. and a nvidia GeForce GT 740M. I'm playing on a laptop. I also experienced barely 2 frames on a mix of high and maximum settings.

Edited by Centurion902, Apr 19 2014 - 19:35.


photoruss #53 Posted Apr 20 2014 - 16:43

    Private

  • Players
  • 22284 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    07-05-2013

Since 9.0, my ONLY view is sniper mode.  Originally, you would start the game in "overhead" mode, then hit SHIFT to switch to sniper mode.  That is gone for me and I am always in sniper mode.  Annoying for me, especially when trying to drive an arty.   Any help?

 



DoubleBlack #54 Posted Apr 20 2014 - 19:45

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 33901 battles
  • 41
  • Member since:
    12-28-2012
I solved my problem by overclocking my card by just over 5%.  I am amazed by the difference.  Instructions are readily available on the net as are the tools.  A good summary of the process can be found at wikihow.com/index.php?title=Overclock-a-Graphics-Card

DoubleBlack #55 Posted Apr 20 2014 - 19:46

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 33901 battles
  • 41
  • Member since:
    12-28-2012
xxxooo

Edited by DoubleBlack, Apr 20 2014 - 19:46.


vizibelli #56 Posted Apr 21 2014 - 04:04

    Private

  • Players
  • 8785 battles
  • 3
  • [DHUS] DHUS
  • Member since:
    10-08-2013

View PostCartoonman, on Apr 19 2014 - 14:21, said:

 

You can't. Other users have reported this. For soem reason the WoT client puts a hard cap on the improved setting if you have a certain GPU (people with Radeon 3xxx series have reported this), so it's something that wargaming has to fix. Submit a ticket so they are aware of it.

 

Thank you so much for your answer. My GPU is exactly the one you said. I'm submitting a ticket right now.



Cartoonman #57 Posted Apr 22 2014 - 01:55

    Major

  • Players
  • 14534 battles
  • 4,133
  • Member since:
    04-08-2011

View PostCenturion902, on Apr 19 2014 - 14:35, said:

what should I run it on? my specs are intel ® core  i7-4700 mq cpu 2.40GHz. with 8 GB of ram. and a nvidia GeForce GT 740M. I'm playing on a laptop. I also experienced barely 2 frames on a mix of high and maximum settings.

 

Your GPU is a lower performance rating than mine, so I would stick with either all low or switch to Standard Renderer. Note for all people reading this, I've noticed that Standard Renderer is actually no different for me in terms of FPS with all settings as high as they can go than the improved renderer. In addition freezes and crashes (and in-game stutters and lag spikes) are no better on Standard Renderer. I'll have to examine this more closely at an other time.

 

View Postphotoruss, on Apr 20 2014 - 11:43, said:

Since 9.0, my ONLY view is sniper mode.  Originally, you would start the game in "overhead" mode, then hit SHIFT to switch to sniper mode.  That is gone for me and I am always in sniper mode.  Annoying for me, especially when trying to drive an arty.   Any help?

 

 

That is very odd. This only happens on Arty? I've never heard of this problem. Do you have any mods installed?

 

 

 



Look_its_Rain #58 Posted Apr 22 2014 - 02:02

    Major

  • Players
  • 11714 battles
  • 2,878
  • Member since:
    04-07-2011
Well step one, ask WG to code better.

Icyndragon #59 Posted Apr 22 2014 - 02:43

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 7183 battles
  • 456
  • Member since:
    07-19-2012

View PostUklore, on Apr 18 2014 - 20:45, said:

I turned my settings to low but my 1375 still moves very slow. just put in a new 750 G card and still moving slow. can any 1 help

 

 

This could be an FOV problem, change your FOV slider to around 90.



comandoriv #60 Posted Apr 22 2014 - 02:57

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 13302 battles
  • 855
  • Member since:
    09-18-2011
plz pin thread 





Also tagged with Optimization, Graphics, FPS, Performance

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users