Jump to content


Possible to use an XBOX 360 controller?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
25 replies to this topic

Poll: Possible to use an XBOX 360 controller? (131 members have cast votes)

If controllers aren't supported, should they be?

  1. Yes (97 votes [74.05%])

    Percentage of vote: 74.05%

  2. No (25 votes [19.08%])

    Percentage of vote: 19.08%

Vote Hide poll

Carnaxus #1 Posted May 05 2011 - 22:53

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 7564 battles
  • 248
  • [233RD] 233RD
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
Title says it all, really.  I have a wired XBox 360 controller attached to my computer.  I think it would be interesting to use it ingame.  If this is not currently implemented, I vote that it should be.

xGear #2 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:00

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 3951 battles
  • 1,211
  • Member since:
    07-08-2010
It's possible, You just need to download the right program.

_Dia #3 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:08

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 23717 battles
  • 3,623
  • [BULBA] BULBA
  • Member since:
    08-17-2010
I think this game would greatly increase in popularity if they were to link a Wii/PS-3/Xbox controller to the game. Then you would have to re-map which keys you want, but for people that are ac-customized with first person shooters, it would greatly help them in overall skill and enjoyment. However they would need to take some time to link that. I support this idea though.

holonite #4 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:09

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 4043 battles
  • 361
  • Member since:
    07-14-2010
why would you want to use a joystick when compared to a mouse?

Sargent67 #5 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:27

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 2853 battles
  • 689
  • [TIPP] TIPP
  • Member since:
    01-28-2011
I don't think your going to like it if you do get it to work the console controllers just arent sensitive enough unless theyve improved dramatically over last couple years.
They do sell plenty of that style controller for puters that work very well, watch the cheap ones theyre no better than the one you have hooked up.

Fum #6 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 429
  • Member since:
    07-15-2010
You can do it already if you use XPadder. There's even a config file posted here somewhere if you search the forum for "xbox" or "controller" you should find it.

I do not really think it is worth it adding controller support unless it's a really simple task. You will find that sometimes you need to very quickly move the cursor to a distant part of the screen, and there is no "turbo" button for analog sticks :P

Kalinin #7 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:35

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 9049 battles
  • 843
  • [PONYS] PONYS
  • Member since:
    12-17-2010
... and cheese wins.

Garnett101st #8 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:40

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 17623 battles
  • 2,192
  • Member since:
    08-05-2010

View Postholonite, on May 05 2011 - 23:09, said:

why would you want to use a joystick when compared to a mouse?

Cause in WOT, A joystick is just as good as a mouse is? Your tanks have a set speed of everything, and accuracy isn't really important.

Whee #9 Posted May 05 2011 - 23:44

    Major

  • Players
  • 21493 battles
  • 14,581
  • [USVCH] USVCH
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011
Should include other types of controllers too.

FryaDuck #10 Posted May 06 2011 - 00:33

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 10974 battles
  • 499
  • Member since:
    11-17-2010

View PostDiastant, on May 05 2011 - 23:08, said:

I think this game would greatly increase in popularity if they were to link a Wii/PS-3/Xbox controller to the game. Then you would have to re-map which keys you want, but for people that are ac-customized with first person shooters, it would greatly help them in overall skill and enjoyment. However they would need to take some time to link that. I support this idea though.

So you want another 500k idiots on the server?

d0ngle #11 Posted May 06 2011 - 00:37

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 13256 battles
  • 443
  • [VILIN] VILIN
  • Member since:
    07-26-2010
Mouse, keyboard > controller/joystick.

The precise movements of a laser mouse can not ever be compared to a little stick you move with your thumb. True PC gamers would not ever choose a controller over a mouse for anything aiming related, leave controllers for sport and fighting games, it's the only thing they're good for IMO.

tankboy1138 #12 Posted May 06 2011 - 02:13

    Captain

  • Players
  • 10423 battles
  • 1,488
  • [TB] TB
  • Member since:
    02-23-2011
I prefer the mouse. Personally, you get greater control. But if you really want to, yep, it can be done.

Carnaxus #13 Posted May 06 2011 - 05:31

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 7564 battles
  • 248
  • [233RD] 233RD
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
Cheese removed; it had more votes than either other option lol...

And ok, I'll search for that.

Edit:

The only one I found contains a link to a program that isn't free.  Not much use to me.

Cinderbox #14 Posted May 06 2011 - 09:16

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 1812 battles
  • 27
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
http://pinnaclegamep...967#post57967   charges but only one i found to work so far, my logitech profiler will not work correctly for some reason in game

Fum #15 Posted May 08 2011 - 15:39

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 0 battles
  • 429
  • Member since:
    07-15-2010
The old 5.3 XPadder is freeware. It used to be free before, now I see it's payware.

http://www.softpedia...s/Xpadder.shtml

Carnaxus #16 Posted May 09 2011 - 00:22

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 7564 battles
  • 248
  • [233RD] 233RD
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
Ah.  Thanks!

Carnaxus #17 Posted May 09 2011 - 21:19

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 7564 battles
  • 248
  • [233RD] 233RD
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
That one worked, but I think I'll stick with using my mouse and keyboard lol...

Carnaxus #18 Posted Oct 14 2011 - 23:17

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 7564 battles
  • 248
  • [233RD] 233RD
  • Member since:
    04-14-2011
Sorry for the minor necrobump, but I just got a new laptop and have hit an unexpected error with Xpadder: It tells me I have an incompatible version of Windows.  That's all fine and good, but why does it work on my home comp then?  I'm running Windows 7 on both...

Edit:

Never mind.  Compatibility mode.  Duh.

Battlecruiser #19 Posted Oct 18 2011 - 03:09

    Major

  • Players
  • 18584 battles
  • 5,659
  • [VILIN] VILIN
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
I voted yes because I'll take all the enemies that can't aim I can get when playing low tiers.

AnterFLWo0 #20 Posted Nov 20 2011 - 22:20

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 780 battles
  • 54
  • Member since:
    10-26-2011
What's the program that I'd have to download to use the wireless XBOX 360 controller for World of Tanks and how do I download this program? Also is this program free?