Jump to content


Same Crew?


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
13 replies to this topic

Novacube #1 Posted May 06 2011 - 08:59

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16315 battles
  • 410
  • Member since:
    04-28-2011
Hiyas,

I just have a question regarding crew.

I read that if members hit 100% they are able to learn new skills. So if I started with say, a M2, trained the crew to 100%, am I able to keep these guys to the end...say a T30? Just retrain them to 50% at each new tank and they keep their additional abilities from before, or do they lose those skills?

cheers

Starfirehover #2 Posted May 06 2011 - 10:02

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 21346 battles
  • 366
  • [RXR] RXR
  • Member since:
    03-21-2011
I just did that with a crew, and they did not loose the additional skills.

EDIT to add...
You can also spend credits (not gold) to re-train them to 75%
That's what I do.

DemonicSpoon #3 Posted May 06 2011 - 15:15

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 3077 battles
  • 1,626
  • Member since:
    07-15-2010
Keep in mind they aren't retrained "to" 50% or 75%. If you have a 100% crew, then they will lose ~20% of their skill if you use the free retraining option, or ~10% if you use the 20K Credits retraining option.

Secondary skills are not lost when you retrain, but they do cease going up until you get the primary skill back to 100%.

Novacube #4 Posted May 07 2011 - 08:13

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16315 battles
  • 410
  • Member since:
    04-28-2011
Thanks for the feedback. Would you recommend keeping the same crew and try to get one set to 100%? Rather than getting a new crew with each tank?

DemonicSpoon #5 Posted May 07 2011 - 09:14

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 3077 battles
  • 1,626
  • Member since:
    07-15-2010
depends. On higher tier tanks, where it takes a long time to get to the next tank, it can be a good idea. With lower tier tanks which you get through quickly, not so much.

Primarily, you want to get crews up on tanks you intend to keep.

Starfirehover #6 Posted May 07 2011 - 09:17

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 21346 battles
  • 366
  • [RXR] RXR
  • Member since:
    03-21-2011

View PostNovacube, on May 07 2011 - 08:13, said:

Thanks for the feedback. Would you recommend keeping the same crew and try to get one set to 100%? Rather than getting a new crew with each tank?


It depends.
I look at how much exp they have each time.
For example.
When I sold my tiger 1 to finance my tiger 2, And when I sold my M6 to finance my T29, It made sense to bring the crews with, because they had additional skills.

However, I have been moving up the TD tree, and have not brought my crews with, because they simply didn't have enough exp to make it worth while. Now that WILL change as I get further up the levels with the TD's, but for the first 3 or 4 tiers it isn't worth it.

I personally won't spend the gold to get a 100% crew. I figure if I am going to spend time playing the tank to get exp to level it up, why "waste" the gold?
Others prefer to get a 100% crew right off the bat.

Lastly,
With an M2 its going to take a while to get a fully trained crew, Unless you do spend the gold to bring them to 100%.
I personally would not bother worrying to much about crew until you hit tier 5 or so.  
UNLESS you plan to Keep the M2.

Vrekgar #7 Posted May 07 2011 - 09:19

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 13145 battles
  • 80
  • Member since:
    04-12-2011
There are 2 up sides to keeping the same crew going up.

1, Access to the Secondary skills. The Skill isnt lost once you gain experience in it. So the same crew can give you the benefits of these skills even when they are not 100%.

2, Your crew is promoted every time they hit 100% skill. Who wouldnt want a driver whos a Major?

I also like to keep a sense of continuity. My crew ive fought and bled with shouldnt just cease to exist when i want to use a new tank.

Starfirehover #8 Posted May 07 2011 - 09:52

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 21346 battles
  • 366
  • [RXR] RXR
  • Member since:
    03-21-2011

View PostVrekgar, on May 07 2011 - 09:19, said:



2, Your crew is promoted every time they hit 100% skill. Who wouldnt want a driver whos a Major?




I didn't know that.

konigwolf13 #9 Posted May 07 2011 - 12:19

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 7711 battles
  • 539
  • Member since:
    01-18-2011
Ditto thanks for the tip

WesJanson316 #10 Posted May 07 2011 - 13:07

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 6851 battles
  • 605
  • Member since:
    10-19-2010

View PostStarfirehover, on May 07 2011 - 09:52, said:

I didn't know that.


He's wrong.


The way promotion works is that your crew is promoted at every increment of 50% of their secondary skills. A fresh crew with no secondary skills will receive promotion upon reaching 100%, and again at 50% of the secondary skill they are currently training in, then once they finish that skill and are able to train in a new skill (100% for first skill 0% for second skill) and so forth until they are finally trained in all 3 of the secondary skills.


Now this unfortunately means that your crew can only be promoted a total of 7 times, and the ranks along the way for the crew to be promoted up to only goes as far as Captain, Kapitan, and Hauptmann for the US, USSR, and Germany respectively. Even more unfortunately is that since German crews are currently bugged in that recruiting them will have them all be the rank of Panzeroberschutze rather than the Commander being an Unteroffizier, 2 men being Gefreitors, and the bottom 2 men being Panzeroberschutzes, however this will be fixed in patch 6.4 which will be released within the month.


There may be further ranks in the future with more secondary skills, but the way it works now is what I already mentioned.

Novacube #11 Posted May 08 2011 - 08:45

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16315 battles
  • 410
  • Member since:
    04-28-2011
Sweet, thank you all for the tips. I'll be using the M6 to grind my crew to 100%,in preparation for the T29. May as well, since gonna have to grind alot of credits and pre-tech for the next tank.

slikrx #12 Posted May 10 2011 - 22:21

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 3279 battles
  • 88
  • [GLION] GLION
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
Can a "swapped" crew go back to their original tank? For example: I paid gold to get a 100% crew for my KV, and I will keep them as I move up the Soviet heavies.

But, for "ease" of earning gold/etc I'd keep the KV, especially since you get double $/exp for your first win of the day with each tank. Could I swap the crew back to there, and would they keep their 100% skill while on the KV?

Or, do you lose your 100% (to either 80% or 90%) when they switch to the old tank?

paradat #13 Posted May 10 2011 - 22:29

    Major

  • Players
  • 34758 battles
  • 8,730
  • [TBW] TBW
  • Member since:
    03-24-2011

View Postslikrx, on May 10 2011 - 22:21, said:

Can a "swapped" crew go back to their original tank? For example: I paid gold to get a 100% crew for my KV, and I will keep them as I move up the Soviet heavies.

But, for "ease" of earning gold/etc I'd keep the KV, especially since you get double $/exp for your first win of the day with each tank. Could I swap the crew back to there, and would they keep their 100% skill while on the KV?

Or, do you lose your 100% (to either 80% or 90%) when they switch to the old tank?

Yes sadley crews "forget" thiere prior skill, so moving back down is just like moving up. I guess the idea here is to prevent us from have just a couple of maxed out crews that we move back and forth all the time.

slikrx #14 Posted May 10 2011 - 22:53

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 3279 battles
  • 88
  • [GLION] GLION
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011

View Postparadat, on May 10 2011 - 22:29, said:

Yes sadley crews "forget" thiere prior skill, so moving back down is just like moving up. I guess the idea here is to prevent us from have just a couple of maxed out crews that we move back and forth all the time.
Drat. I was afraid of that...  :(

Thanks for the info, though!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users