Jump to content


how to get Elite tank?


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
15 replies to this topic

grego34 #1 Posted May 06 2011 - 18:24

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12601 battles
  • 520
  • Member since:
    10-26-2010
Posted Image

i thought you needed to research every weapon and mod for your tank to become elite??  do i need to research the TD also??  i see NO elite icon on the T-34 :blink:

is there a quicker way to become elite??

CuF_Spartan85 #2 Posted May 06 2011 - 18:30

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 20899 battles
  • 86
  • Member since:
    10-26-2010
Yes you need to research everything in a tanks tree to become elite so you need to research the SU85 as well.

Dirtyherby #3 Posted May 07 2011 - 22:57

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 2837 battles
  • 145
  • Member since:
    03-14-2011
What CuF_Spartan85 said, you need to not only research all module upgrades but the next tier tanks to get elite status.

Sadukar09 #4 Posted May 07 2011 - 23:38

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 19455 battles
  • 3,299
  • [-G-] -G-
  • Member since:
    02-20-2011
Tanks with SPG or TD branches are automatically elited if you went through those respective lines instead of unlocking it with that specific tank.

KoopaKrab #5 Posted May 08 2011 - 01:00

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 10370 battles
  • 258
  • [ACES] ACES
  • Member since:
    01-18-2011

View PostSadukar09, on May 07 2011 - 23:38, said:

Tanks with SPG or TD branches are automatically elited if you went through those respective lines instead of unlocking it with that specific tank.

That changes nothing...  You need to research all vehicles to become elited, irregardless of how they are researched.

grego34 #6 Posted May 08 2011 - 04:45

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12601 battles
  • 520
  • Member since:
    10-26-2010
looking at my screen shot it does show that i have everything researched EXCEPT for the SU-85..  I have no desire for the TD but i have to spend points on it to get my elite status??  That doesn't seem right.. I'd rather save those points for something that i want... it should be a option and not a mandatory for us.

autorev #7 Posted May 08 2011 - 07:33

    Captain

  • Players
  • 12600 battles
  • 1,450
  • [FGTVE] FGTVE
  • Member since:
    02-20-2011

View Postgrego34, on May 08 2011 - 04:45, said:

looking at my screen shot it does show that i have everything researched EXCEPT for the SU-85..  I have no desire for the TD but i have to spend points on it to get my elite status??  That doesn't seem right.. I'd rather save those points for something that i want... it should be a option and not a mandatory for us.

There's nothing else to research!  What else would you want?

grego34 #8 Posted May 08 2011 - 08:40

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12601 battles
  • 520
  • Member since:
    10-26-2010
there is nothing else to research for this tank (T-34). My tank should be ELITE but it isn't..   i am working my way to a T-44 and i didn't think i needed to research a TD.. i don't even use a TD.. Thats a tank Destroyer if you didn't know. If i wanted a TD then i would have started at the beginning!    :Smile-playing:

Dirtyherby #9 Posted May 08 2011 - 11:30

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 2837 battles
  • 145
  • Member since:
    03-14-2011
Even though you have no intentions of going the TD route, from the T-34, the potential to go that route still exists.  So in order to cover that potential you must "waste" the points to research the TD.  They have to account for all players who may want to go into the TD's from the T-34 and you are caught in that trap.  Its unfortunate but it is what it is and they aren't going to give you a "bye" on the TD line.  At this time your just going to have to accept that you will need to research a tank you may never use to get elite status on the T-34.

If you really want to see a screwing look at the M3 Lee for the Americans - you have three potential tank trees that have to be researched.  Although I don't think there are too many players who want an elite Lee so it's not to horrible.

Ghosth #10 Posted May 08 2011 - 14:46

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 5268 battles
  • 198
  • [LUPI] LUPI
  • Member since:
    09-21-2010
"Elite" = all possible research path's have been unlocked, even those taking you to a line you have no interest in.

Look at it from a different direction. Once a tank is fully elite, there is nothing else to spend the xp that it earns on.
You have at that point 2 options. Use the xp to speed up crew training. Or build up xp that can be converted.

But before you can convert you need to unlock "everything". In some tanks that have a path that leads to a tier 5 SPG, or TD that can be quite expensive.

So continue to run it, use it to farm credits, and eventually you will get it elite.

KnightFandragon #11 Posted May 09 2011 - 05:48

    Major

  • Players
  • 4603 battles
  • 6,523
  • Member since:
    05-06-2011
And just what is the significance of getting Elite status?  Does it affect your tank's gameplay in any way or is it just to say you have elite status?

GearaDoga #12 Posted May 09 2011 - 06:04

    Major

  • Players
  • 7595 battles
  • 2,451
  • [ODIN] ODIN
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011

View PostKnightFandragon, on May 09 2011 - 05:48, said:

And just what is the significance of getting Elite status?  Does it affect your tank's gameplay in any way or is it just to say you have elite status?

No gameplay effect.  The tank no longer needs XP, so it lets you do one of two things:

A>  Pour all the XP into your crewmen, training them faster.

B>  Stock up otherwise useless XP and let you convert it to free XP using gold.

Lougle #13 Posted May 09 2011 - 07:40

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 13037 battles
  • 636
  • Member since:
    03-22-2011
40K... that isn't too bad really.  Plus if you ever want to try the tank destroyer line you can jump right into a mid level one.


Take a look at the Poor KV.  Also a tier V tank, in order for me to get elite on it I have to research the S-51 arty.  Something crazy like 120k+ exp.

KnightFandragon #14 Posted May 09 2011 - 09:50

    Major

  • Players
  • 4603 battles
  • 6,523
  • Member since:
    05-06-2011

View PostGearaDoga, on May 09 2011 - 06:04, said:

No gameplay effect.  The tank no longer needs XP, so it lets you do one of two things:

A>  Pour all the XP into your crewmen, training them faster.

B>  Stock up otherwise useless XP and let you convert it to free XP using gold.

Ahh, very well then =D

grego34 #15 Posted May 09 2011 - 13:43

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12601 battles
  • 520
  • Member since:
    10-26-2010

View PostLougle, on May 09 2011 - 07:40, said:

40K... that isn't too bad really.  Plus if you ever want to try the tank destroyer line you can jump right into a mid level one.


Take a look at the Poor KV.  Also a tier V tank, in order for me to get elite on it I have to research the S-51 arty.  Something crazy like 120k+ exp.


that sucks unless you want that tank..

RobRiguez #16 Posted May 09 2011 - 13:53

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 7007 battles
  • 253
  • Member since:
    11-03-2010
The only purpose for eliting is to generate xp that can be converted to free xp. I had an elite KV in beta. Talk about grind.