Jump to content


When captured is not captured....


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

boybland #1 Posted May 12 2011 - 23:35

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 1234 battles
  • 1,173
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Had something happen which I thought was both impossible and rather annoying in a fight last night.
On Abbey the enemy team started capping our base at the same time we started capping theirs.
I went back and shot them sufficiently to delay them enough for us to complete first and theoretically win the game.
We got to 100% and it said Base Captured!, there were several good job's, well done's thrown about and then about 5 seconds later or cap bar skipped down to about 30%...
The opposition team then got to 100% a won.

Now I understand what most likely happened, either an enemy killed one of us or someone wandered out of the circle
However....
If you are going to have a notification that states 100% Base Captured!, it should actually mean that, I had always kind of assumed the delay was to allow the possibility of a draw, I never figured you could uncapture a base after it reached 100%....  Because obviously if you can it is not 100% captured!

I have played something like 4500 games including in Beta and plenty of them have been close and I have not seen it before, so I guess it is pretty rare set of circumstances, but it was really annoyiong (although kind of funny at the same time) even the opposition team were like WTF! HAHA!, OMG!, some of them had even already congratulated us before it happened....

Any if a cap gets to 100% and says it is complete, complete is what it should be....

Sadukar09 #2 Posted May 12 2011 - 23:37

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 19837 battles
  • 3,310
  • Member since:
    02-20-2011
If you reached 100% and the ! does not show, you can still be knocked down.

Rexxie #3 Posted May 12 2011 - 23:43

    Major

  • Players
  • 36864 battles
  • 4,301
  • [PBKAC] PBKAC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2011
Eh, yeah. I've been on the wrong end of that before; killing the capturer and still losing.

Yellow13 #4 Posted May 12 2011 - 23:44

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 1087 battles
  • 142
  • Member since:
    04-17-2011
I've had a few games that ended as ties because either us or the other team capped just a little bit later and just a second or two before the "!" showed managed to get to 100% as well, kinda sucks when it happens but kinda funny at the same time  :)

boybland #5 Posted May 13 2011 - 00:08

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 1234 battles
  • 1,173
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

View PostYellow13, on May 12 2011 - 23:44, said:

I've had a few games that ended as ties because either us or the other team capped just a little bit later and just a second or two before the "!" showed managed to get to 100% as well, kinda sucks when it happens but kinda funny at the same time  :)

Yah I don't have an issue with this, annoying yes, but sometimes a draw is a fair enough result, it's when it becomes a loss because your 100% is not actually 100%....

boybland #6 Posted May 13 2011 - 00:09

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 1234 battles
  • 1,173
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

View PostSadukar09, on May 12 2011 - 23:37, said:

If you reached 100% and the ! does not show, you can still be knocked down.

Yup pretty poor definition of 100% isn't it :)

Trecares #7 Posted May 13 2011 - 18:45

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 10825 battles
  • 75
  • Member since:
    07-06-2010
I guess the server has to "confirm" that the base has been capped. Sometimes it does seem like there's a bit too much delay before this "confirmation" happens. I've actually had the time to kill 3 tanks capping our base in my 38H at the same moment we were at 100% cap.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users