Jump to content


When I try to run the game it comes up with a white screen that then disappears, help!

launcher

  • Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

_Cornholio_ #21 Posted Oct 08 2014 - 21:46

    Private

  • Players
  • 4956 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012
I am having this problem too! white screen then crash to desktop. everything worked perfect until 9.3 update.

Edited by _Cornholio_, Oct 08 2014 - 21:46.


millratt #22 Posted Oct 09 2014 - 02:04

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 8326 battles
  • 10
  • Member since:
    12-24-2011

I had this issue with new PC build and fresh win7 and tank install.

Sent in ticket and tried what they said, uninstall and reinstall--NET4.0 and C++ files, did not help with that install of tanks.

I reinstalled tanks and now it works (knocks wood)


 

Try fresh tank install and I hope it works for those with this issue.


 


 

My system;   mobo   Z87 FTW

                     gpu      GTX770

                     cpu      i7 4790

                     ram     16g 2400 (2x8g sticks)



green2013 #23 Posted Oct 12 2014 - 05:46

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12272 battles
  • 51
  • Member since:
    01-11-2013

View Post_Cornholio_, on Oct 08 2014 - 21:46, said:

I am having this problem too! white screen then crash to desktop. everything worked perfect until 9.3 update.

 

.....Exactly what Im dealing with!

jonpl #24 Posted Oct 17 2014 - 00:14

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12714 battles
  • 22
  • [F0XEY] F0XEY
  • Member since:
    10-14-2014
Having the same problem and I sent in a ticket to no avail. Support guy told me to uninstall C++ files and NET framework, restart, install them again, restart, and it didn't help at all. I also don't have any python.log files as the guys mentioned before. Running windows 8.1 on a new Lenovo G500s laptop with everything updated. Really hope someone figures out how to fix this! 

jonpl #25 Posted Oct 22 2014 - 05:00

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12714 battles
  • 22
  • [F0XEY] F0XEY
  • Member since:
    10-14-2014
Got mine fixed if anyone is still having the same problem. 

Ichibod #26 Posted Oct 24 2014 - 21:50

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 2378 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-15-2014

Yup same problem on my new laptop.  MSI Ghost Pro, Nvidia 970m 3g, 16g ram, i7 processor.

 



Ichibod #27 Posted Oct 25 2014 - 16:22

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 2378 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-15-2014
I tried a fresh install and everything that was suggested in the faq's and still have the same problem. 

View Postjonpl, on Oct 22 2014 - 06:00, said:

Got mine fixed if anyone is still having the same problem. 

 

Can you share how you fixed yours jonpl?

jonpl #28 Posted Oct 26 2014 - 01:20

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12714 battles
  • 22
  • [F0XEY] F0XEY
  • Member since:
    10-14-2014
First of all I tried everything thing they suggested on my ticket, and none of that really helped. What actually fixed it was when I downloaded a different version of DirextX, because when I ran the compatibility trouble shooter on the world of tanks app it said I still needed an update even though the game said everything was up to date. The compatibility shooter gave me a link to a different server, which was either the EU or Asia one and they had different installers listed on the bottom. So all I did was install the one for windows, which was DirectX and it started right up. I'm not running world of tanks on near the computer you are either though. I've only got a Lenovo G500s with intel HD 4000, 8gb ram, and i5. 

SoylentRed #29 Posted Oct 27 2014 - 19:23

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    05-16-2014

View PostElcaro, on Oct 05 2014 - 10:27, said:

I just got a Lenovo y50 as well and I'm experiencing the same exact issue. I also found someone else with a Lenovo with same exact issue. this is what he said worked for him......

 

 

"First of all, do you have the NVidia Drivers installed? If no, delete WoT and install the NVidia Drivers. Then  install WoT again. If yes, remove all NVidia drivers and WoT. Then reïnstall the drivers and then WoT.

Also try running WoT as an admin while installing"

It didn't work for me. maybe it will work for you. Since we all have Lenovo laptops im going to keep at it with them as well. Let me know if this works for you or if you resolve this some other way. World of tanks is the only online game I tried to play. Are you having problems with any other games?

 

 

Same issue, same laptop. I think it might have something to do with NVidia Optimus dual graphics card.



Ichibod #30 Posted Oct 28 2014 - 07:28

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 2378 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-15-2014
Yay, I got it to work.  It was the directx driver.  You don't need the latest version of directx, you need directx 9c.  Thanks jonpl for your response.

RuGaard_The_Crippled #31 Posted Oct 28 2014 - 11:40

    Captain

  • Players
  • 6715 battles
  • 1,217
  • Member since:
    08-13-2011

View PostSoylentRed, on Oct 27 2014 - 18:23, said:

 

 

Same issue, same laptop. I think it might have something to do with NVidia Optimus dual graphics card.

 

World of Tanks does not support dual GPU solutions and will crash when trying to run these as the game loses the DX9 context unexpectedly and is unable to recover it.

 

Solution: https://www.youtube....h?v=DzGugS05wo0

Do this with WoTLauncher.exe and WorldOfTanks.exe respectively. Also, due to Checksum referencing, you may need to do this after every patch manually.



thelaw5252 #32 Posted Nov 01 2014 - 15:33

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 13276 battles
  • 49
  • Member since:
    07-29-2011
I'm having the same issue. Fresh PC build, fresh WoT install. I hit play, it flashes a white window, and then closes. Tried reinstalling twice with several of these fixes. No response on my ticket yet.

tj92 #33 Posted Nov 06 2014 - 05:01

    Private

  • Players
  • 12671 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    07-16-2012
i am have the same problem also with the lenovo y50. a white screen just comes up and then goes away.

Betadingo #34 Posted Nov 06 2014 - 06:13

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 19231 battles
  • 22
  • [SEA-M] SEA-M
  • Member since:
    06-25-2011
I'm running an MSI GT 70.  With Windows 8.1, same problem.  Won't launch, just flashes to a blank box and then desktop.  The compatibility troubleshooter tells me that there's an update available while I know there's none, then dumps me to the WOT Russian page.  :amazed: 

Z0i0 #35 Posted Nov 06 2014 - 23:12

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30551 battles
  • 51
  • [200IQ] 200IQ
  • Member since:
    07-11-2013

Hi,the same thing is happening to me!! when i try too launch the game....white screem and nothing happens....

Someone fixed the problem already?


Edited by Z0i0, Nov 06 2014 - 23:12.


cptnbubblebeard #36 Posted Nov 14 2014 - 15:36

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 10442 battles
  • 747
  • Member since:
    09-28-2012
A friend of mine has a brand new Lenovo y50 that arrived yesterday. My recommendation (because I got his working after this error) Install the DirectX 9.0c package from Microsoft http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=8109 when you run this it will extract to a folder and then you run DXSetup from inside that folder. I hope this helps you guys. 

KenFlorian #37 Posted Nov 15 2014 - 16:57

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 6599 battles
  • 48
  • [LABS] LABS
  • Member since:
    07-21-2013

same situation.

new install of 8.1, latest nvidia drivers, complete uninstall/reinstall multiple times.

tried the solutions offered here in various permutations.

 

nadda

 

I'm not exactly a noob at this stuff.

 

Support ticket submitted but ready to take more suggestions.

 

 



jonpl #38 Posted Nov 17 2014 - 09:53

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12714 battles
  • 22
  • [F0XEY] F0XEY
  • Member since:
    10-14-2014

View PostBetadingo, on Nov 06 2014 - 06:13, said:

I'm running an MSI GT 70.  With Windows 8.1, same problem.  Won't launch, just flashes to a blank box and then desktop.  The compatibility troubleshooter tells me that there's an update available while I know there's none, then dumps me to the WOT Russian page.  :amazed: 

 

Betadingo, I had the same issue and followed everything WG told me to after I submitted a ticket. I also ran the compatibility shooter and it gave me the same thing. However, I read around and ended up just downloading the driver that it suggested on the link on the Russian page and it worked. It's the DirectX one and its a downgrade from the one that's built in to windows 8.1, but after I did it WoT started right up. Maybe try that because it's simple and if it doesn't fix the issue then there's no harm done and you don't have to mess with any settings. I already mentioned my setup above and it's different than the one you have, but maybe this is a windows 8.1 issue? Try it and let me know if it works for you. 

jonpl #39 Posted Nov 17 2014 - 09:54

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12714 battles
  • 22
  • [F0XEY] F0XEY
  • Member since:
    10-14-2014

View PostIchibod, on Oct 28 2014 - 07:28, said:

Yay, I got it to work.  It was the directx driver.  You don't need the latest version of directx, you need directx 9c.  Thanks jonpl for your response.

 

Glad you got it working Ichibod!

BornToStayAlive #40 Posted Nov 19 2014 - 20:29

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 48406 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    10-28-2014

 

 

I got a similar error !
 


 

Try with a "préférences.xml" file in this directory

user.... \AppData\Roaming\Wargaming.net\WorldOfTanks

 


 

Regard's

Marc


 


 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File   preferences.xml   18.14K






Also tagged with launcher

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users