Jump to content


Driving Delay


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

PATRIOTICTYLERK #1 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:20

    Private

  • Players
  • 7680 battles
  • 4
  • [L-O-W] L-O-W
  • Member since:
    06-11-2011
When i'm in game i try to drive but the tank doesn't respond until a few seconds after I press w,a,s, or d keys. can anyone help me with this?

nerdbomb07 #2 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:32

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 12591 battles
  • 554
  • Member since:
    09-22-2010
Sounds like lag, what's your ping and is the lag icon flashing red?

Akira_ #3 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 9078 battles
  • 16
  • Member since:
    05-26-2011
It happens to me too, but only when my ping is over 200-300. I wouldn't worry about it tbh.

PATRIOTICTYLERK #4 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:37

    Private

  • Players
  • 7680 battles
  • 4
  • [L-O-W] L-O-W
  • Member since:
    06-11-2011

View Postnerdbomb07, on Jun 12 2011 - 21:32, said:

Sounds like lag, what's your ping and is the lag icon flashing red?

No it's not lag the icon is green my ping is 999

Valkeiper #5 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:41

    Major

  • Players
  • 8176 battles
  • 2,018
  • Member since:
    04-15-2011
this could be associated with something electronic (and I really couldn't help you with that).

it could also be your expectations.

your not trying to drive a sports car here (or even a 4&1/2 ton hummer).

even the smallest tier-1 tank weighs in at more than 8 tons. if you're talking some of the larger tanks, you're talking heavier than 100 tons. It takes a lot of "oomph" to get that moving.

we are also talking WW2 gasoline and diesel engines. These are not exactly the most responsive engines in history.

if you are wondering about turning; we are not using your family steering wheel here.

most tanks use complicated steering mechanisms which sometimes take time to effect the entire vehicle.

indeed, most soviet tank makers of WW2 tried to simplify the matter with a simple "clutch and brake" system. With this system the driver pushed the clutch for one track (right or left) and/or applied the hand-brake for that track while also applying power to the other.

In other words, the driver was often fighting the tank's power plant. this gave the associated tank very little maneuverability and wore out the drivers quickly.

If you look at the crews in some of the soviet tanks, you'll notice two or even three radio operators. Historically, only 1 in 4 soviet tanks of WW2 even had radios (though the ratio was MUCH better in heavy tanks); but they DID have those extra crew members.

they were actually relief drivers.

Druterium #6 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:43

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 993 battles
  • 187
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

View PostPATRIOTICTYLERK, on Jun 12 2011 - 21:37, said:

No it's not lag the icon is green my ping is 999

999ms ping is NOT good. Not sure why the light would be green unless it hasn't caught on to lag at that moment.

Do you get this all the time or just once in a while? I know I've occasionally run into lag spikes that are so bad, when I come out of them I'm 200 meters down the street, driving into a building :D

PATRIOTICTYLERK #7 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:46

    Private

  • Players
  • 7680 battles
  • 4
  • [L-O-W] L-O-W
  • Member since:
    06-11-2011

View PostDruterium, on Jun 12 2011 - 21:43, said:

999ms ping is NOT good. Not sure why the light would be green unless it hasn't caught on to lag at that moment.

Do you get this all the time or just once in a while? I know I've occasionally run into lag spikes that are so bad, when I come out of them I'm 200 meters down the street, driving into a building :D
I just started playing the game today i've played about 6 matches and it's been like that for all of them it says there is no lag put ping is 999 and fps is usually around 5

do0ob #8 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:53

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 14243 battles
  • 52
  • Member since:
    05-25-2011
this happens when i open songs and play sometimes,
to get rid of that i just close my laptop restart it and wait a while then everything goes back to normal

Clockworkred #9 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 21:55

    Major

  • Beta Testers
  • 16962 battles
  • 2,005
  • [LBAS] LBAS
  • Member since:
    07-19-2010

View PostPATRIOTICTYLERK, on Jun 12 2011 - 21:46, said:

I just started playing the game today i've played about 6 matches and it's been like that for all of them it says there is no lag put ping is 999 and fps is usually around 5

0_0

It sounds like your rig is choking. Turn all visual settings to low in the options menu if you hadn't done so already. Try this low-res pack, which gets rid of the smoke and dust and junk, shut down any programs you're not using, and if you're on a laptop, put it on high power mode. Download Gamebooster to turn off unneeded processes.

PATRIOTICTYLERK #10 Posted Jun 12 2011 - 22:03

    Private

  • Players
  • 7680 battles
  • 4
  • [L-O-W] L-O-W
  • Member since:
    06-11-2011

View PostClockworkred, on Jun 12 2011 - 21:55, said:

0_0

It sounds like your rig is choking. Turn all visual settings to low in the options menu if you hadn't done so already. Try this low-res pack, which gets rid of the smoke and dust and junk, shut down any programs you're not using, and if you're on a laptop, put it on high power mode. Download Gamebooster to turn off unneeded processes.
Will do thanks for the help

Salidorian1 #11 Posted Jun 13 2011 - 01:35

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 2591 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
I Just started having this myself. and only when trying to move my tank. it happens at random and only after i press one of the  w, a, s, d Keys lasts for a couple of seconds then normalizes...i wouldnt be concerned by this but as im in the south east i thinks its still related to the Level3, NCarolnet routing issue. i can sit all day with my turret moving all i want but when i try to move or change direction while moving my ping can shoot up into the 800's never had this issue before the whole 0.6.4 lag issue.

Salidorian1 #12 Posted Jun 13 2011 - 01:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 2591 battles
  • 14
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
should also note this happens multiple times per battle too. has gotten me killed more times than i have ever been the past few days




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users