Jump to content


Crews changing tanks


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
16 replies to this topic

HighPitch #1 Posted Jun 14 2011 - 17:28

    Major

  • Players
  • 37832 battles
  • 6,057
  • [HAVOK] HAVOK
  • Member since:
    05-24-2011
Hey, I'm new here and have a few question about moving crews to a new tank.

1. If your crew is 100%, and maybe 75% on a secondary skill, what skill do they have when you move them to the new tank?
2. And can they always just go back to their original tank with the same 100/75 skills they had before?
3. Is there a limit to the number of tanks a crew can be trained to use?

Thanks for any info.

Symder #2 Posted Jun 14 2011 - 17:33

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 8976 battles
  • 225
  • [FOXEY] FOXEY
  • Member since:
    03-25-2011
1) http://wiki.worldoftanks.com/Crew
Briefly, secondary skills unchanged. If retraining from 100%, stat will be 100/90/80 using Gold/Credits/Nothing retraining for same tank type (TD-->TD), 100/80/60 if different (TD-->SPG)

2) No, need to retrain again

3) One tank. They can be used on another tank of the same type (TD-->TD) but will have a 10% penalty to their skills. Unsure if they can be used on a tank of a different type without retraining.

HighPitch #3 Posted Jun 14 2011 - 17:57

    Major

  • Players
  • 37832 battles
  • 6,057
  • [HAVOK] HAVOK
  • Member since:
    05-24-2011
Interesting, thanks. Seems it might be an idea to keep some of my guys after all. I was just hiring them at 75% whenever I got a new tank, hadn't even thought about the other aspects.

Zakume #4 Posted Jun 14 2011 - 23:25

    Major

  • Players
  • 25935 battles
  • 3,162
  • Member since:
    09-19-2010

View PostSymder, on Jun 14 2011 - 17:33, said:

1) http://wiki.worldoftanks.com/Crew
Briefly, secondary skills unchanged. If retraining from 100%, stat will be 100/90/80 using Gold/Credits/Nothing retraining for same tank type (TD-->TD), 100/80/60 if different (TD-->SPG)

2) No, need to retrain again

3) One tank. They can be used on another tank of the same type (TD-->TD) but will have a 10% penalty to their skills. Unsure if they can be used on a tank of a different type without retraining.

Actually you DO need to retrain them again to goto a previous tank, all penalties apply.

MrTabs #5 Posted Jun 14 2011 - 23:53

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 11568 battles
  • 485
  • [ME109] ME109
  • Member since:
    02-10-2011

View PostZakume, on Jun 14 2011 - 23:25, said:

Actually you DO need to retrain them again to goto a previous tank, all penalties apply.

Look carefully at his punctuation. ;)

Zakume #6 Posted Jun 15 2011 - 02:14

    Major

  • Players
  • 25935 battles
  • 3,162
  • Member since:
    09-19-2010

View PostMrTabs, on Jun 14 2011 - 23:53, said:

Look carefully at his punctuation. ;)

I fell victim to incomplete sentences T_T

MrPerfect #7 Posted Jun 16 2011 - 09:47

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 5203 battles
  • 150
  • [KK2] KK2
  • Member since:
    01-08-2011
Here's another crew question: If you move a crew member to another tank, but don't retrain him, what skill level will he be at? For example, I'm not quite done with my T-28, but really wanted to take the newly unlocked KV for a spin. I moved the 73% T-28 crew into the KV, but didn't retrain them. Are they effectively 50% when in the KV?

Zakume #8 Posted Jun 16 2011 - 11:21

    Major

  • Players
  • 25935 battles
  • 3,162
  • Member since:
    09-19-2010

View PostMrPerfect, on Jun 16 2011 - 09:47, said:

Here's another crew question: If you move a crew member to another tank, but don't retrain him, what skill level will he be at? For example, I'm not quite done with my T-28, but really wanted to take the newly unlocked KV for a spin. I moved the 73% T-28 crew into the KV, but didn't retrain them. Are they effectively 50% when in the KV?

Didnt even know you could do that. I thought that you cant use them in any other tank at all until you retrain them??...

CaptIceman #9 Posted Jun 16 2011 - 12:11

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 13104 battles
  • 897
  • [VPG-S] VPG-S
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011

View PostZakume, on Jun 16 2011 - 11:21, said:

Didnt even know you could do that. I thought that you cant use them in any other tank at all until you retrain them??...

Actually you can. But it will show his % in red, meaning that it´s not for this particular tank.
Although I don't know how he will perform. I guess at 50%.

IIRC retraining a 100% crew from a tier II light into a tier III light is cheaper than to train it from scratch.

GearaDoga #10 Posted Jun 16 2011 - 14:59

    Major

  • Players
  • 7889 battles
  • 2,496
  • [ODIN] ODIN
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011

View PostCaptIceman, on Jun 16 2011 - 12:11, said:

Actually you can. But it will show his % in red, meaning that it´s not for this particular tank.
Although I don't know how he will perform. I guess at 50%.

IIRC retraining a 100% crew from a tier II light into a tier III light is cheaper than to train it from scratch.

It's a 25% penalty if you're moving them within the same class (light to light, medium to medium, etc), and a 50% penalty if you're changing vehicle classes.  So MrPerfect, your crew is going from a medium to a heavy and therefore suffers the 50% penalty.  They'll do the job, but at a whopping 23% effectiveness, they'll be pretty poor at it.

And make no mistake, the KV is a big, awkward, ponderous beast at the best of times - it NEEDS good crew.  If you've just got to try it out get some free, disposable crewmen at 50%.  Not great, but better than 23%!!

And Iceman?  Crew training always costs the same amount, no matter who you're training or for what tank.  The variable part is when your crew was already better than the basic 50% or 75% training options.  They take a small penalty, but train to a higher level.  Same-class training gives you 90% of their current level for paid training and 80% for free training.  Different-class training is 80% and 60%, respectively.  Gold training is always straight to 100%.

And it's worth noting that if any of your crew have managed to build up a secondary skill (camo, firefighting, repairs), IT NEVER GOES AWAY.  Always retrain a crewman with a secondary skill, never dismiss him.

CaptIceman #11 Posted Jun 16 2011 - 15:33

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 13104 battles
  • 897
  • [VPG-S] VPG-S
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011

View PostGearaDoga, on Jun 16 2011 - 14:59, said:

And Iceman?  Crew training always costs the same amount, no matter who you're training or for what tank.  The variable part is when your crew was already better than the basic 50% or 75% training options.  They take a small penalty, but train to a higher level.  Same-class training gives you 90% of their current level for paid training and 80% for free training.  Different-class training is 80% and 60%, respectively.  Gold training is always straight to 100%.

And it's worth noting that if any of your crew have managed to build up a secondary skill (camo, firefighting, repairs), IT NEVER GOES AWAY.  Always retrain a crewman with a secondary skill, never dismiss him.

Oh, ty. Guess I was mistaken than.  :Smile-hiding:

MrPerfect #12 Posted Jun 17 2011 - 04:35

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 5203 battles
  • 150
  • [KK2] KK2
  • Member since:
    01-08-2011

View PostGearaDoga, on Jun 16 2011 - 14:59, said:

It's a 25% penalty if you're moving them within the same class (light to light, medium to medium, etc), and a 50% penalty if you're changing vehicle classes.  So MrPerfect, your crew is going from a medium to a heavy and therefore suffers the 50% penalty.  They'll do the job, but at a whopping 23% effectiveness, they'll be pretty poor at it.

And make no mistake, the KV is a big, awkward, ponderous beast at the best of times - it NEEDS good crew.  If you've just got to try it out get some free, disposable crewmen at 50%.  Not great, but better than 23%!!
23%? :blink: Holy crap. I guess the KV will wait until a decent crew is available! I was expecting crew skill to go down, but thought that surely you couldn't drop below 50% skill.

Zakume #13 Posted Jun 17 2011 - 10:57

    Major

  • Players
  • 25935 battles
  • 3,162
  • Member since:
    09-19-2010

View PostMrPerfect, on Jun 17 2011 - 04:35, said:

23%? :blink: Holy crap. I guess the KV will wait until a decent crew is available! I was expecting crew skill to go down, but thought that surely you couldn't drop below 50% skill.

Just retrain them for 20k credits a member, or using gold and you're fine. Or if you dont have a good crew yet(at least above 75%) then just get the free 50% crew that comes with the kv.

DeStreGa5 #14 Posted Jul 21 2011 - 08:59

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 23372 battles
  • 145
  • Member since:
    06-25-2011
Sorry I just wanted to verify one of the OP's questions I couldn't find in the wiki. I have a Tiger right now and I want to move my crew to my Tiger 2 when I sell my Tiger. They haven't finished learning their first secondary skill yet. They are pretty much all at 65% on their secondary skills(camo,repair, etc). If I spend 20k per crew member to retrain for my Tiger 2, do they lose all the percentage on those skills since they aren't 100% or just drop in primary skill percentage, but keep the percentage earned on those secondary skills?

GearaDoga #15 Posted Jul 21 2011 - 10:39

    Major

  • Players
  • 7889 battles
  • 2,496
  • [ODIN] ODIN
  • Member since:
    03-26-2011
Secondary skills NEVER GO AWAY.  EVER. PERIOD.

(unless you get rid of the crew, of course!)

Shetland #16 Posted Jul 21 2011 - 18:34

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 14733 battles
  • 700
  • Member since:
    06-17-2011
I have been thinking about another crew idea along these lines.

Say you are getting a Tier 4 tank (PZ 3) that you won't have for very long, but you think you will keep the Tier 5 (PZ4) for much longer (hope I am getting the tank tree correct).  And of course they are both the same nationality and both mediums.  

Buy the PZ3 with no crew.  In the barracks buy a 75% crew for the PZ4.  Equip them on your PZ3.  They will be at maybe 65% on your PZ3, but they will be gaining experience.  When you are done with the PZ 3, and buy the PZ 4, you won't suffer the retraining penalty, you will already have a PZ 4 crew.  And the crew will be quite a bit higher than otherwise.

Would this work?

Zakume #17 Posted Jul 22 2011 - 01:50

    Major

  • Players
  • 25935 battles
  • 3,162
  • Member since:
    09-19-2010

View PostShetland, on Jul 21 2011 - 18:34, said:

I have been thinking about another crew idea along these lines.

Say you are getting a Tier 4 tank (PZ 3) that you won't have for very long, but you think you will keep the Tier 5 (PZ4) for much longer (hope I am getting the tank tree correct).  And of course they are both the same nationality and both mediums.  

Buy the PZ3 with no crew.  In the barracks buy a 75% crew for the PZ4.  Equip them on your PZ3.  They will be at maybe 65% on your PZ3, but they will be gaining experience.  When you are done with the PZ 3, and buy the PZ 4, you won't suffer the retraining penalty, you will already have a PZ 4 crew.  And the crew will be quite a bit higher than otherwise.

Would this work?

Pretty sure they will be performing nowhere near 65% on the pz 3. They would be performing at a maximum of 50% if not lower, and in that case why not just get a free pz 3 crew. Not really worth saving crews and stuff at that tier unless you have the money to train them. After you get the pz 4 though, you could probably save at a safe rate.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users