Jump to content


StratSketch - Map Tactic Planning Website

clan wars strategy map planning tactic stratsketch

  • Please log in to reply
118 replies to this topic

Cyral #61 Posted Jun 14 2015 - 21:03

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

View Postkonyvfalovb, on Jun 14 2015 - 13:58, said:

I miss quite a few symbols from the menu. The program is really valuable for planning team battles, but after discussing the strategy with StratSketch for 3+ maps we agreed that we're in need of some markers: crosses, dots (which we couldn't really do with the current "line" tool), and we also couldn't reset the color palette (which automatically clears itself after a restart).

Another confusing tool is the "minimap sector", we feel it's obsolete and has no value due to the existence of the "tracker" and "ping" tool. The Base Flag icon should also be replaced by the capture circle's exact size. It makes planning base capture (using cover) easier.

The area highlight tool is extremely useful, thank you for adding that.

 

I also have to agree with the slideshow feature. Without it there is no real way of discussing different reactions to in-game events than forking different briefings.

 

P.S. I seem to have a bug that after every restart, there is an immovable, not removable copy of what I suppose is my last action.

 

Thanks for the feedback, I'm currently on vacation but I will look into implementing these features when I'm back next week. I think the slideshow feature will be by main priority as it will be very useful.

 

I cannot seem to reproduce the bug where the last object placed is non removable, could you post specific steps on how you can cause the issue to occur?



konyvfalovb #62 Posted Jun 15 2015 - 20:26

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 1150 battles
  • 12
  • Member since:
    02-23-2015

View PostCyral, on Jun 14 2015 - 21:03, said:

 

Thanks for the feedback, I'm currently on vacation but I will look into implementing these features when I'm back next week. I think the slideshow feature will be by main priority as it will be very useful.

 

I cannot seem to reproduce the bug where the last object placed is non removable, could you post specific steps on how you can cause the issue to occur?

 

It's a funny little bug, couldn't replicate it deliberately yet and even though I code regularly in C++ I can't think of a reason. I'll try to replicate it again, but I doubt that I can tell you anything exact. We'll see.

I'd prefer the undo feature before the slideshow one, mainly because of the frequent misplacement of objects. Another easy-to-make feature would be, I suppose, to let us create multiple labels of the same text. You should also consider that.



RevODekcuF #63 Posted Jun 16 2015 - 03:44

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 20436 battles
  • 55
  • Member since:
    05-04-2013
Is there an ability to re size the window?

Cyral #64 Posted Jun 16 2015 - 04:35

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

View Postkonyvfalovb, on Jun 15 2015 - 14:26, said:

 

It's a funny little bug, couldn't replicate it deliberately yet and even though I code regularly in C++ I can't think of a reason. I'll try to replicate it again, but I doubt that I can tell you anything exact. We'll see.

I'd prefer the undo feature before the slideshow one, mainly because of the frequent misplacement of objects. Another easy-to-make feature would be, I suppose, to let us create multiple labels of the same text. You should also consider that.

 

Text boxes actually used to keep their content, but it was suggested they should reset after placing.

 

View PostRevODekcuF, on Jun 15 2015 - 21:44, said:

Is there an ability to re size the window?

 

There is no way to resize the window. What size would you like it to be?

---

 

Looks like there have been some network issues tonight, which I haven't seen in quite a while. I'll see what I can do about it.



Cyral #65 Posted Jun 24 2015 - 17:51

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012
About halfway done with the slideshow update, expect a release Thursday or Friday.

Cyral #66 Posted Jun 27 2015 - 00:46

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

The slideshow update is here!

 

 

Release Post: StratSketch Update 1.3.0 - Slideshows!



SunTzu71 #67 Posted Jun 27 2015 - 16:56

    Major

  • Players
  • 51537 battles
  • 5,321
  • Member since:
    04-02-2012

I love this program.

 

We are soon to be implementing this into our clan's framework!

 

One problem. The Live Oaks image seems to be the older version.

 

Is there an ETA as to when this'll be updated?



Cyral #68 Posted Jun 27 2015 - 17:04

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012
Looks like I missed updating Live Oaks, I will include the updated version in the next update, which will be for the 9.9 update, which I think will be out soon since the common test recently started.

Bluech #69 Posted Jun 29 2015 - 00:37

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 20122 battles
  • 328
  • [200IQ] 200IQ
  • Member since:
    07-18-2012

The location for the caps on attack defense on Ghost Town are wrong. Other than that this program is awesome.

http://puu.sh/iGkh0/6fb0100d30.jpg

Edit: also there are two new corridors added


Edited by No_One_Likes_Fame_Points, Jun 29 2015 - 00:39.


Cyral #70 Posted Jun 29 2015 - 01:02

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

View PostNo_One_Likes_Fame_Points, on Jun 28 2015 - 18:37, said:

The location for the caps on attack defense on Ghost Town are wrong. Other than that this program is awesome.

http://puu.sh/iGkh0/6fb0100d30.jpg

Edit: also there are two new corridors added

 

Thanks! All the maps will be updated in the next release (for 9.9).

 

(You can fix the spawn point manually if you really want to by editing line 1610 of C:\Users\Username\AppData\Local\StratSketch\app-1.3.0.0\Resources\maps.pak to 0.55)



Charlie2125 #71 Posted Jun 29 2015 - 01:28

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 6841 battles
  • 177
  • [DUTY] DUTY
  • Member since:
    01-15-2012

Suggestion

 

I would really appreciate if in each session, we could create multiple strategies, on multiple maps. Having a slide selection and a map seclection, but all saved.



Cyral #72 Posted Jun 29 2015 - 17:58

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

View PostCharlie2125, on Jun 28 2015 - 19:28, said:

Suggestion

 

I would really appreciate if in each session, we could create multiple strategies, on multiple maps. Having a slide selection and a map seclection, but all saved.

 

I see the reason for wanting slides is because it is difficult to have everyone switch sessions quickly. I will work on a solution that allows you to "link" briefings together or group them in some way. (As briefings were only designed for one map and changing the structure of how they work would take quite some time for me)

Cyral #73 Posted Jun 29 2015 - 20:29

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

View PostCharlie2125, on Jun 28 2015 - 19:28, said:

Suggestion

 

I would really appreciate if in each session, we could create multiple strategies, on multiple maps. Having a slide selection and a map seclection, but all saved.

 

I actually just thought of a better solution, I could add a button somewhere that allows you to select a new briefing, and bring everyone else in the room to it.

Iyer #74 Posted Jul 08 2015 - 18:49

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 8744 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    01-11-2011
You should add a feature which allows you to see the draw distance box and spotting circle from a particular location on the minimap (click on a spot on the minimap and the draw distance box and spotting circle will be placed relative to the spot specified). Not sure how hard it would be to accomplish this but I think it will be a cool addition. 

Cyral #75 Posted Jul 08 2015 - 18:52

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

View PostIyer, on Jul 08 2015 - 12:49, said:

You should add a feature which allows you to see the draw distance box and spotting circle from a particular location on the minimap (click on a spot on the minimap and the draw distance box and spotting circle will be placed relative to the spot specified). Not sure how hard it would be to accomplish this but I think it will be a cool addition. 

 

That would be a useful feature. If I understand correctly, the spotting distance will be different for each tank? That would be hard to integrate.

Iyer #76 Posted Jul 08 2015 - 19:47

    Private

  • Beta Testers
  • 8744 battles
  • 9
  • Member since:
    01-11-2011

View PostCyral, on Jul 08 2015 - 10:52, said:

 

That would be a useful feature. If I understand correctly, the spotting distance will be different for each tank? That would be hard to integrate.

 

Just do the max spotting distance circle (445 m). It's up to the caller to know the view ranges of each tank imo. 

Edited by Iyer, Jul 08 2015 - 19:49.


Cyral #77 Posted Jul 12 2015 - 22:55

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

Because of the downtime we experienced a few days ago, I have decided to buy a new server from a better host so we don't run into any more issues. (Hopefully)

 

The new server will probably be ready next weekend or maybe once the 9.9 update is live.



Scarchie #78 Posted Jul 14 2015 - 02:27

    Private

  • Players
  • 16061 battles
  • 8
  • Member since:
    06-23-2012

Hey Cyral,

  My clan has started using StratSketch, and it's quite a nice program!  I do have a question though, have you had anyone test it who has their Documents folder on a drive other than C:?  I can't get StratSketch to install on my desktop.  After running the program the system sits there for a moment or two, then pops up with a dialogue stating :
"Installation has failed

There was an error while installing the application.  Check the setup log for more information and contact the author."

I've gotten it to install on my laptop, but on my desktop where I get the hex codes, it just doesn't want to work.  Would you happen to have any ideas?

Cyral #79 Posted Jul 14 2015 - 02:36

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 9567 battles
  • 105
  • Member since:
    10-23-2012

Hmm, someone else had the same error and I couldn't find the reason, this could be it!

 

StratSketch installs to %LocalAppData%/StratSketch (Not the documents folder), is this on another drive?

 

Look at the manual installation link near the bottom of this thread: https://community.py...p?f=13&p=60#p60

 

I'll do some research and reply if I find a better solution.



Lethal_Force #80 Posted Jul 14 2015 - 08:52

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 29579 battles
  • 519
  • Member since:
    03-04-2012

View PostCyral, on Apr 11 2015 - 15:37, said:

 

Excellent alternative to Map Tactic. I honestly prefer it now after using it. Well done.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users