Jump to content


Question about crew


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
6 replies to this topic

jagdpanther01105 #1 Posted Jun 24 2011 - 18:57

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10451 battles
  • 80
  • [-GSL-] -GSL-
  • Member since:
    06-14-2011
Ok so i have read alot about transfering crew and from what i have gathered its suggested i have one set of crew for TD's, one set for SPG's and one set for your battle tanks. So im working my way down the german tier and i get one of my first lot of crew members from my 2nd tank and just put them into VK3601. They lost their previous tanks competancy so they are useless in their old tank and they needed retraining for 20k anyway to be able to be usefull in the medium tank.

Am i missing something? Seems silly to bring them into new tanks since there are no benefits?

MustafaJim #2 Posted Jun 24 2011 - 19:08

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4948 battles
  • 52
  • Member since:
    02-22-2011
Crew that are retrained to a new tank of the same type as their previous one(Example: Medium tank to medium tank) lose 10% of their skill%. Crew that are retrained to a new tank of a different type than their previous one(Example: Medium tank to Heavy tank) lose 20% of their skill%.

In order for their to be any benefit of crew retraining, you should only be retraining your old crew to a new tank if they are at least 86% level crew if you are transferring to a new tank of the same type or if they are at least 96% level crew if you are transferring to a new tank of a different type.

Personally I do not transfer any crew up until I go from tier 6 to tier 7, because my  tier 6 tank crews always hit 100% before I unlock the next tank, and that gives me a 90% crew on my next tank with some secondary skill% unlocked.

merig00 #3 Posted Jun 24 2011 - 19:22

    Major

  • Special Beta Testers
  • 416 battles
  • 2,976
  • [TB-H] TB-H
  • Member since:
    06-14-2010
Wiki on crew: http://wiki.worldoftanks.com/Crew

CaptCrusader #4 Posted Jun 24 2011 - 19:27

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 4477 battles
  • 759
  • Member since:
    04-21-2011
If you dont see the benefit of transfering a crew, by all means dont do it.

There is no rule that says you have to. I can see why some would want a fresh crew for a new tank.

That being said, the benefits of transfering a 100% crew are many. For 20k credits you get a crew that is 90% trained in your new tank. This is huge. When your crew is at 100% your tank is operating at optimum efficiency. When you add in things like a crew vent, your tank operates even better.
If you buy a new crew, for 20k credits, you only get a 75% crew. Now, if your current crew is less than 75%, transferring them may not make sense. You will have to look at each case individually and make a decision that works for you.

Rasputitsa #5 Posted Jun 24 2011 - 19:42

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 7965 battles
  • 44
  • Member since:
    06-13-2011
I believe you also keep 100% of any secondary skills they have learned when transferring.

TargetOnTracks #6 Posted Jun 24 2011 - 19:42

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 22443 battles
  • 544
  • Member since:
    04-16-2011
Plus, any secondary skills that have been acquired remain....that is when it really makes sense to transfer crews....no need wasting all that time to get the next crews up to those levels.

jagdpanther01105 #7 Posted Jun 25 2011 - 05:04

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 10451 battles
  • 80
  • [-GSL-] -GSL-
  • Member since:
    06-14-2011
awesome cheers for the explanation!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users