Jump to content


A tip to fix your low FPS in game


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
21 replies to this topic

blacksheepwarrock #1 Posted Jul 03 2011 - 23:42

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 9609 battles
  • 37
  • [TDC-H] TDC-H
  • Member since:
    01-18-2011
The post below explains how to fix MOST Online low Frames Per Seconds (FPS) problems using Nvidia cards that are experiencing Choppiness or Low FPS using either Windows XP or Windows Vista/7.
Works for 32bit or 64bit.


Follow these instructions:

1) Download the latest Official Nvidia or Ati drivers for your card

2) Uninstall your current drivers by using the Control Panel and remove the Nvidia/Ati graphics drivers (or use another program if you prefer)

    * Win XP go to Control Panel > Add/Remove Programs
    * Win Vista go to Control Panel > Programs and Features

3) Restart your computer

4) I will use my Nvidia case from now on .
Double-click the downloaded driver from Nvidia (sample: 177.41_geforce_winvista_32bit_english_whql.exe)

5) Follow the instructions to install the driver and then restart your computer once again.

6) Now that you are running the latest Nvidia driver you will also have access to the Nvidia Control panel. You can access this through your control panel or by Right-clicking on any of the empty space on your desktop and selecting "NVIDIA Control Panel" from the pop-up menu.

7) Once in the Nvidia Control Panel, expand the top left catagory "3D Settings" so that you can select "Manage 3D Settings"


8 ) On the right side of the window you will currently be viewing your Global Settings for your graphics card. You will need to select the 2nd tab labeled "Program Settings"


9) We will now need to add a specific 3D profile for World of Tanks by selecting WOTLauncher.exe from the "add" option. The default location for this file is: (Yours may show up as just WOTLauncher, excluding the .exe)

C:\Games\World_of_Tanks_closed_Beta\WOTLauncher.exe

Average video card





10a) If you do not have a top notch Nvidia card and you like to play at higher resolutions, you should make the following changes:

    * On the Program settings for the WOTLauncher.exe that you just added, scroll down the list towards the bottom and change the Texture filtering to High Performance and then select Apply at the bottom right corner of the NVIDIA Control Panel.
    * Start W.o.T and change your overall graphics settings to medium or less.

High end video card


10b) With a higher end video card you should be able to run the default settings with your preferred resolution with no problem, you can then select whichever graphics profile in W.o.T meets your desire.

Good luck and hopping it helps, cya ingame mates.

daved12 #2 Posted Jul 04 2011 - 00:02

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 12346 battles
  • 386
  • Member since:
    04-03-2011
thx but i'm happy with my fps which reach 30 max

blacksheepwarrock #3 Posted Jul 04 2011 - 04:38

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 9609 battles
  • 37
  • [TDC-H] TDC-H
  • Member since:
    01-18-2011

View Postdaved12, on Jul 04 2011 - 00:02, said:

thx but i'm happy with my fps which reach 30 max
Good to heard that but there is people like me that is suffering from 9 to 16 FPS

Donquan #4 Posted Jul 19 2011 - 16:15

    Private

  • Players
  • 1016 battles
  • 5
  • [FIRES] FIRES
  • Member since:
    07-18-2011
atleast you dont have 3-6

noturmom #5 Posted Jul 19 2011 - 21:16

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 16736 battles
  • 304
  • [DAM-O] DAM-O
  • Member since:
    05-10-2011
i have done this myself already but im glad to you put this up.. This can be a great help to many,, there is also other options in the same box that if clicked on,, tell u what it does at bottom,, ive some luck tweaking other features as well.. just trial and error, or alot of tech forums lol.. anyways, +1 for the guide :)

blacksheepwarrock #6 Posted Jul 23 2011 - 23:21

    Corporal

  • Beta Testers
  • 9609 battles
  • 37
  • [TDC-H] TDC-H
  • Member since:
    01-18-2011

View Postnoturmom, on Jul 19 2011 - 21:16, said:

i have done this myself already but im glad to you put this up.. This can be a great help to many,, there is also other options in the same box that if clicked on,, tell u what it does at bottom,, ive some luck tweaking other features as well.. just trial and error, or alot of tech forums lol.. anyways, +1 for the guide :)
Thanks and a pleasure

Paceman #7 Posted Jan 25 2012 - 23:54

    Private

  • Players
  • 8203 battles
  • 8
  • [ROO] ROO
  • Member since:
    09-14-2011
thanks for that NVIDIA tip my FPS went from 1-3 FPS to 10-12 FPS :)

Mydragonsfly #8 Posted Jan 26 2012 - 01:10

    Major

  • Players
  • 5956 battles
  • 4,166
  • Member since:
    05-01-2011
you can get a fully licensed regestery cleaner for free. Found out about this through software informer.

Its only active till midnight.

[deleted]

[Promo is now over]

Dukaan #9 Posted Jan 26 2012 - 01:29

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 15579 battles
  • 861
  • Member since:
    09-11-2011
I usually play with 6-10 FPS

Except on Fishermans Bay. In which it's 1-3.

JDCollie #10 Posted Jan 26 2012 - 02:36

    Major

  • Players
  • 10277 battles
  • 3,280
  • Member since:
    05-20-2011
+1 for you, good sir!

The_Tankster #11 Posted Jan 31 2012 - 15:12

    Private

  • Players
  • 207 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    01-16-2012
Thx my fps is 3-7 and my game crashes all the time so thx alot!

rangerfrank #12 Posted Feb 02 2012 - 20:08

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 13727 battles
  • 26
  • [-WC-] -WC-
  • Member since:
    12-16-2011
I think I'll leave mine alone; 39-42 fps with fios.

2_minutes_hate #13 Posted Feb 03 2012 - 02:05

    Captain

  • Players
  • 10545 battles
  • 1,171
  • [ADP] ADP
  • Member since:
    04-24-2011
30 when driving is sniper mode. 3 when stopped in sniper mode peeking through foliage

Legiondude #14 Posted Feb 03 2012 - 22:49

    Major

  • Players
  • 13658 battles
  • 17,248
  • [ELVIS] ELVIS
  • Member since:
    08-22-2011
Eh, it didn't work much wonders for me. Then again I'm only using Intel HD Graphics

Raised my max fps by 5 when looking top-down(LoL/God style) for a total of 35

But I'm still averaging 5 fps while in normal third person shooter mode

The transition to sniper mode can shave a few frames off as well for a sec

Rexxie #15 Posted Feb 04 2012 - 00:02

    Major

  • Players
  • 29401 battles
  • 4,292
  • [PBKAC] PBKAC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2011

View PostLegiondude, on Feb 03 2012 - 22:49, said:

Eh, it didn't work much wonders for me. Then again I'm only using Intel HD Graphics

Raised my max fps by 5 when looking top-down(LoL/God style) for a total of 35

But I'm still averaging 5 fps while in normal third person shooter mode

The transition to sniper mode can shave a few frames off as well for a sec

I use the same card as you. I average 15FPS. Have you changed your settings.xml file yet?

Pyrodunces #16 Posted Mar 19 2012 - 23:20

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 5644 battles
  • 541
  • [USAD] USAD
  • Member since:
    11-29-2011
Is it free to download the latest Official Nvidia or Ati drivers for your card???????

Renshaw #17 Posted Mar 21 2012 - 23:10

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 17216 battles
  • 213
  • Member since:
    02-26-2012

View PostPyrodunces, on Mar 19 2012 - 23:20, said:

Is it free to download the latest Official Nvidia or Ati drivers for your card???????

Yes.  www.nvidia.com for nVidia-based cards, or www.amd.com for ATI cards (since AMD bought ATI a few years ago.  I think they're slowly phasing out the ATI name.)

TheDawg #18 Posted Mar 21 2012 - 23:21

    Captain

  • Players
  • 9368 battles
  • 1,727
  • Member since:
    05-17-2011
I'd suggest if you have an older card, say 5-6 years old, that you google a bit to see the LAST suggested drivers.
I know that most cards that old will have problems with the latest drivers. just an fyi, good thread, we need more tweaking threads

Tunka_Elk #19 Posted Mar 25 2012 - 01:12

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 14102 battles
  • 171
  • [B-A-R] B-A-R
  • Member since:
    12-21-2011
Free Registry cleaner, file cleaner and drive optimizer at:

www.piriform.com/ccleaner

Legiondude #20 Posted Mar 25 2012 - 23:42

    Major

  • Players
  • 13658 battles
  • 17,248
  • [ELVIS] ELVIS
  • Member since:
    08-22-2011

View PostTunka_Elk, on Mar 25 2012 - 01:12, said:

Free Registry cleaner, file cleaner and drive optimizer at:

www.piriform.com/ccleaner
This is not spam if you're afraid

I use CCleaner and it's very nice for a quick and free solution to getting rid of that crap data from your computer every now and then.