How does Aiming Work?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
7 replies to this topic

Gottvonalle #1 Posted Jul 05 2011 - 10:34

Private

• Players
  • 987 battles
Newbie here and I did a search for aiming already to no avail. I get that you can right click a target and you should be "auto-aiming". Does this do everything for you? I am used to fps games that have a recticle getting bigger if you are running and it is most accurate when you are crouched and the recticle is at its smallest.  TL:DR How does tracking work in this game for aiming?

Lert #2 Posted Jul 05 2011 - 10:49

Major

• Beta Testers
  • 44728 battles
When you move your mouse, your gun does its best to follow where you're looking, within the limits of gun elevation / depression and turret traverse (Both limits and speed). The mouse and the gun both have a seperate reticle.

When your tank is moving or your gun is traversing, your gun's reticle (IE, accuracy) will be at it's biggest. If you hold your gun still for a few moments, your gun's reticle will automatically shrink to become it's most accurate.

If you fire your gun, your shell will hit somewhere within your gun's reticle, with a gaussian distribution (IE, more likely to hit somewhere near the center than the outer edges)

All that auto-aim does (I strongly recommend against relying on it) is try to always point your gun at the gun mantlet of the enemy tank. This is a tank's strongest armor. It also doesn't take movement into account, so it won't lead shots. This is why auto-aim is a terrible idea in all but the most rare of circumstances.

Gottvonalle #3 Posted Jul 05 2011 - 11:01

Private

• Players
  • 987 battles
OK, i'm kind of getting it better. Auto Aim tries to help but it isn't a true auto aim. If i'm rolling over trees and giant hills and the recticle is just flying everywhere, then I'm not hitting anything ever. I will keep getting the feel for it. Great game so far. Thank you for the quick reply