Jump to content


How to create voice mods (9.14 version and onward)


  • Please log in to reply
171 replies to this topic

TentacLe_Mech_Tank #121 Posted Mar 26 2016 - 19:10

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015

I hope in the future, the developer will allow us to touch their works

Because, currently, there are a lot of problems with sound modding.

I'm creating a music mod, and here are some troubles:

1. By some magic, there are some tracks that when I put it in the mod, it will cause other music event to stop working (not the event I put it in)

2. There are some sorts of limitation to the size or number of tracks, for example, I can only input 8 combat musics within a certain total play time; input 9, not run, input 8 but has longer total play time, not run.

3. Sound mods cause trouble to each other: my music mod cause the gun sound to stop working, when I use gun sound mod to solve that problem, it cause the crew voice to randomly stop working (stop at some time and run back another time).

4. Gara music can only be random, if I choose sequential play mod, it won't run.

 

So now I'm focusing on creating interface mods.


Edited by TentacLe_Mech_Tank, Mar 26 2016 - 19:10.


bernard2243 #122 Posted Mar 27 2016 - 19:25

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 26
  • Member since:
    11-29-2015
my volume setting all 100 except vehicle volume

Soviet_Unions #123 Posted Apr 17 2016 - 04:23

    Private

  • Players
  • 0 battles
  • 6
  • Member since:
    06-30-2013

I'm trying to make music mod.

But it didn't work at all.

 

I make "hangar_prem_v2.bnk" and "hangar_v2.bnk" for hangar music

and other stuffs are in "ExternalMusicSources.bnk"

 

and it works when there's only 1 audio for each Random Container.

 

I don't know what's the problem...

 

Here's my wwise settings

 


Edited by Soviet_Unions, Apr 17 2016 - 04:25.


murdockwan #124 Posted Apr 27 2016 - 15:53

    Captain

  • Players
  • 25618 battles
  • 1,106
  • [CNCRD] CNCRD
  • Member since:
    02-18-2014

View PostThinkingOfYou, on Mar 11 2016 - 09:57, said:

Thank you for making this, the voice over sound mod I have been using for years no longer works, now I know how to fix it.

It doesn't feel like tanks if my commander isn't constantly shouting Allahu Ackbar every time I fire or get shot.

 

Edit: I have a question, do you know where the new engine / gun sounds are located? I positively hate the new sounds with a passion, so much so that they may end up making me not play anymore, I still have all of the old sound files and I would like to swap the new ones (which I can't find the location of) with the old ones.

 

 

FYI: I found gun sounds in "audioww.pkg\audioww\ev_1apr2016_spheretank". There's at least 233 sounds in there.

 

I am looking for batchat 25t gun sound, evidently it is not in this file which makes me think gun sounds are located in multiple files.

 

 

edit: found it. all gun sounds are in one bnk file called wpn.bnk.

WEAPON.bnk. :)


Edited by failbatchat__murdock999, Apr 27 2016 - 16:10.


D2R52 #125 Posted May 05 2016 - 14:45

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 201 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

View Postmurdockwan, on Apr 27 2016 - 15:53, said:

edit: found it. all gun sounds are in one bnk file called wpn.bnk.

WEAPON.bnk. :)

 

Some time ago I had created list of sound events with bank names: events.txt

Also I have guide how to make voiceover banks here: guide

 

 



murdockwan #126 Posted May 05 2016 - 19:03

    Captain

  • Players
  • 25618 battles
  • 1,106
  • [CNCRD] CNCRD
  • Member since:
    02-18-2014

View PostD2R52, on May 05 2016 - 13:45, said:

 

Some time ago I had created list of sound events with bank names: events.txt

Also I have guide how to make voiceover banks here: guide

 

 

 

This batchat gun sound modification mini project is temporarily on hold but when I resume, I will refer to this - thanks!



ArmoredIceCream_Truck #127 Posted May 10 2016 - 13:03

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 24149 battles
  • 17
  • Member since:
    04-21-2011
So i created my own voicepack from this guide , but for some reason it cuts off half way. Is there a time limit on how long each voice over  event needs to be or did i make a mistake somewhere. I know my voice overs were 124 bits , and i had to convert them to 16 bits since wwise only allows 16bit files to do the convert. Thats the onlyl thing that comes to mind that i might have made a mistake on, if there not a limit to how long each voice over is. Before the sound update, i remember my old voice packs having long voice overs , mine are  about 4 ~ 18secs long. most being 6 to 9 secs long, but i remember  some of my old ones feeling like  4 ~ 30 seconds long. Use to have the tiny  tina from boderlands 2 voicepack, one and  theirs  a trigger event where she  rants for like 15 secs or sings the one  stalker chased the bandit  song. : ( really put alot of time into this if anyone can help me out with some info i d be extremely  grateful.   I tired to google this info and there doesn't seem to be any discussion on the length of time restriction on voiceover events or anything releated to events beening stoped half way. 

marcomawerick #128 Posted May 27 2016 - 06:11

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    07-02-2015

Hi ti All,

but something is changed with 9.15 release?

Because the voiceover.bnk created for the 9.14 doesn't work anymore.....



D2R52 #129 Posted May 27 2016 - 11:22

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 201 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

View Postmarcomawerick, on May 27 2016 - 06:11, said:

Hi ti All,

but something is changed with 9.15 release?

Because the voiceover.bnk created for the 9.14 doesn't work anymore.....

 

As I can see, nothing is changed in voiceover.bnk structure  Attached File   voiceover.bnk_events.txt   3.48K

But the size of file is limited, max official voice bnk is 12 Mbytes.

 



marcomawerick #130 Posted May 27 2016 - 12:29

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    07-02-2015

Thank you D2R52,

and it can be compressed or I need to do again the work?



Chr0m3Chaos #131 Posted May 27 2016 - 19:17

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 11996 battles
  • 15
  • [EAGL3] EAGL3
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011

View Postmarcomawerick, on May 27 2016 - 00:11, said:

Hi ti All,

but something is changed with 9.15 release?

Because the voiceover.bnk created for the 9.14 doesn't work anymore.....

 

I believe I can confirm with D2R52. I haven't seen any changes to the names or their corresponding sounds. In my personal experience, whenever I would hit somebody (bounce or pen) there would be no voice...at all. Everything else works as far as I noticed. The only thing I can think of would be as D2R52 has stated about the limit being 12 Mb. (My voiceover.bnk is over 14 :sceptic:) I will try to "condense" my voices and recreate the bnk file and get back to you guys for confirmation.

Edited by Chr0m3Chaos, May 27 2016 - 19:18.


D2R52 #132 Posted May 28 2016 - 21:48

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 201 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

Hello all!

If you have problems with sounds look to your python.log file.

If you see errors with code 52 - it is memory errors.

Spoiler

 

 

I have found interesting information about memory usage in wwise.

First of all, WoT has lowered sizes for memory pools (for some strange reason).

 

Block Quote - engine_config.xml

       <memoryManager>
        <defaultPool>    12    </defaultPool>
        <lowEnginePool>    8    </lowEnginePool>
        <preparedPool>    106    </preparedPool>
        <streamingPool>    2    </streamingPool>
        <IOPoolSize>    4    </IOPoolSize>
      </memoryManager> 

 

But it does not means, that bank size is limited to 12 mb!

Block Quote

 The following items can cause high memory usage:

  • Loading banks increases Default memory pool usage. Note that each bank uses a different amount of memory. Memory used by a bank in the Default memory pool does not depend on the physical size of the bank but on the number of sounds and events that it contains.
  • Some effects, including reverb and delay, consume a certain amount of memory when playing.
  • Playing multiple sounds at once drastically increases the amount of memory used in the Lower Engine Default pool.
  • Sending multiple actions in a short amount of time increases the memory usage of the Default pool.
  • Registering game objects, setting "per object" parameters, and setting object positions all use a small amount of memory in the Default pool. However, be aware that unused game objects must be unregistered to free up this memory. Otherwise, the amount of memory being used constantly increases.

 

I think we need to ask WG to increase the limits to ther default values of 16 mb each, or to it by ourselves by changing engine_config.xml to

Block Quote

       <memoryManager>
        <defaultPool>    16    </defaultPool>
        <lowEnginePool>    16    </lowEnginePool>
        <preparedPool>    106    </preparedPool>
        <streamingPool>    8    </streamingPool>
        <IOPoolSize>    8    </IOPoolSize>
      </memoryManager> 

 

Or you can manually unpack engine_config.xml and modify these values.

Spoiler

 


Edited by D2R52, May 28 2016 - 21:51.


Chr0m3Chaos #133 Posted May 29 2016 - 01:50

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 11996 battles
  • 15
  • [EAGL3] EAGL3
  • Member since:
    04-13-2011
Sorry for the wait guys. Anyways I took my original .wav files and compressed them by using Freemake Audio Converter and chose a lower sample rate, but not too low as to not disturb the quality too much (40% compressed in total). After I compiled the files in Wwise, I used "Bulk Rename Utility" to quickly rename all of my files. Once the voiceover.bnk was finally completed, I tested it and it works perfectly again. D2R52 is probably right on the above post, but this could be another way of getting around this memory usage issue. 

Edited by Chr0m3Chaos, May 29 2016 - 01:55.


marcomawerick #134 Posted May 30 2016 - 19:02

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    07-02-2015

Hi guy,

I solved my problem  select "Vorbis", and select "2" for "Quality" instead of 6.....my file voiceover.bnk of 22Mb become 9,7 Mb and now it is working well.Thank you very much.


Edited by marcomawerick, May 30 2016 - 19:04.


TentacLe_Mech_Tank #135 Posted Jun 03 2016 - 11:44

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015

View PostSoviet_Unions, on Apr 17 2016 - 04:23, said:

I'm trying to make music mod.

But it didn't work at all.

 

I make "hangar_prem_v2.bnk" and "hangar_v2.bnk" for hangar music

and other stuffs are in "ExternalMusicSources.bnk"

 

and it works when there's only 1 audio for each Random Container.

 

I don't know what's the problem...

 

Here's my wwise settings

 

 

You have to create a .PCK file for music, not a .BNK

Your hangar musics should also be included into ExternalMusicSource.pck in order to work.

 

To do so, follow these steps:

1. After you build the .bnk file, go into \Wwise\Authoring\x64\Release\bin\tools (for 64bit window) or \Wwise\Authoring\Win32\Release\bin\tools (32bit) and open FilePackager.App.exe

2. In the SoundBanks Info file section, browse to <your project folder>\GeneratedSoundBanks\Windows and choose SoundbanksInfo.xml

3. In the Files to package, you'll see Init and ExternalMusicSources, choose all of them and press Add to current package

4. In the Packages section, change the Default.pck name into ExternalMusicSources.pck

5. Press Ctrl+G, then go to <your project folder>\GeneratedSoundBanks\Windows, you'll find your ExternalMusicSources.pck, use it to mod the music

 

You can read my posts above to see some limits for the music mod right now.



coyote76340 #136 Posted Jun 07 2016 - 17:54

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    06-07-2016

View PostKyphros, on Mar 11 2016 - 18:19, said:

Greetings,

 

In the past I've made voice mods for WoT's french community but I've abandoned WoT for a long time (especially for the performance issues at the time, which I found ridiculous)... And just today, someone asked me to update a mod that a few people fell in love with. Which I did with fmod, back when the 9.0 wasn't even a project at WG's headquarters.

 

Now I'm a bit lost with the upgrading process: is it possible to tie several files to a single in-game event? I can't see anything on your screenshots, the WG forums have compressed them so much that they're illegible. And I need to know that because I use a lot more files than WoT. My mod used more than 600 audio files last time I updated it...

 

I also know wwise's freeware version prevents me from using more than 200 files, which is another annoying thing, but I wanted to know if at least, it was possible to use a greater number of different sounds than WG for the same in-game events. Otherwise it's going to get bland really fast.

 

Thanks in advance.

 

HI,

I was a big fan of your mod (je suis francais, et les voix de Kaamelott me manquent dans le jeu). I'm workng on making on eby myself.



sneks_thicc_burger #137 Posted Jun 14 2016 - 05:46

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 21479 battles
  • 12
  • [PLSGO] PLSGO
  • Member since:
    02-07-2015
Hi guys, trying to make a voice mod. Got the .bnk and everything, fired up the game, crashed in the first battle as soon as the timer got to 0. Checked and looks like the .bnk is too large, 16 mbs. I will change some things to make it smaller, but my question is is the crashing what happens when voiceover is too large? Or is something else screwed up and I have other things to fix? Thanks.

Airborns101 #138 Posted Jun 16 2016 - 18:24

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 41078 battles
  • 11
  • Member since:
    09-06-2011

Hello All

 

I followed D2R52's guide and the Guide from EU server step by step , created a voiceober.bnk file which is 1.7mb. But there is no voice sound at all in game, and the python log said this:

 

INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot unload sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 54
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot load sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 64
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot unload sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 54
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot load sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 64
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Sound fail: 590598450 Code: 15
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Sound fail: 136522141 Code: 15

 

Please help, I have tried to re-do everything from scratch several times, none work.



TentacLe_Mech_Tank #139 Posted Jun 17 2016 - 02:37

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 0 battles
  • 24
  • Member since:
    09-23-2015

View PostAirborns101, on Jun 16 2016 - 18:24, said:

Hello All

 

I followed D2R52's guide and the Guide from EU server step by step , created a voiceober.bnk file which is 1.7mb. But there is no voice sound at all in game, and the python log said this:

 

INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot unload sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 54
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot load sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 64
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot unload sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 54
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot load sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 64
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Sound fail: 590598450 Code: 15
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Sound fail: 136522141 Code: 15

 

Please help, I have tried to re-do everything from scratch several times, none work.

 

May be it's some thing wrong with the memory manager?

 

Go to engine.xml and search for "memory", you'll find these lines

      <memoryManager>
        <defaultPool>    256    </defaultPool>
        <lowEnginePool>    256    </lowEnginePool>
        <preparedPool>    512    </preparedPool>
        <streamingPool>    256    </streamingPool>
        <IOPoolSize>    16    </IOPoolSize>
      </memoryManager>

 

I increased them already and still testing, my voice and even music mod are running smoothly, you can read for more details here (Russian, use google translate)



D2R52 #140 Posted Jun 17 2016 - 08:29

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 201 battles
  • 15
  • Member since:
    05-03-2016

View PostAirborns101, on Jun 16 2016 - 18:24, said:

Hello All

 

I followed D2R52's guide and the Guide from EU server step by step , created a voiceober.bnk file which is 1.7mb. But there is no voice sound at all in game, and the python log said this:

 

INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot unload sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 54
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot load sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 64
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot unload sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 54
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Cannot load sound bank: voiceover.bnk. Code: 64
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Sound fail: 590598450 Code: 15
INFO: [SOUND_ERROR] Sound fail: 136522141 Code: 15

 

Please help, I have tried to re-do everything from scratch several times, none work.

 

As discussed in PM. the error code 64 is incorrect bank version. 

It is confirmed, that using wwise 2016.1 will produce bank with different version in the header, and WoT does not load it.

Please make sure that you are using wwise 2015.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users