Jump to content


Having issues try the following before reinstalling


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

heavymetal1967 #1 Posted Mar 11 2016 - 17:02

    Major

  • Players
  • 74326 battles
  • 23,242
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

This is by no means a complete list or a sure fire way to fix anything.  It's a few basic steps to consider which cover a good chunk of issues.

 

Make sure your drivers are updated as well as DirectX.

 

If you've ever ran mods you may have residual mod stuff in your files even if you're not running mods on the current patch.  Some mod files are put in res_mods not just your current version mod folder.

 

Also remember just because mods are out doesn't mean they're updated.  Especially if they're part of a mod pack as often mods in a mod pack have multiple authors independent of the mod pack creator.

 

So try the SAFE mode via the start button drop down to confirm it's mod related or not.

 

If so uninstall/update the problem mod(s).  Or if you don't know which one make a blank res_mods with a blank x.x.x mod folder in it. Backing up or renaming your current folders is a good idea.

 

If that doesn't do it try this as it's a lot quicker than reinstalling.

 

Use the reset graphic settings on the start button's dropdown.

 

Edit:  They've added an integrity check to the client in the launcher start up window.  Under settings (gear icon in upper right) go to the support tab.

 

Try an integrity check which should replace any missing/corrupt game files.

 

This is the current version (works with 0.9.14) as it was changed several patches ago.  Edit:  Confirmed via forum posts works with 0.9.15.1.1

 

Block Quote

1. go to your WOT folder and find the wotlauncher.exe

2. Create a shortcut and paste it somewhere you can find it. "right click" on th new shortcut and go to properties.

3. Alter the target to add " -integrity_default_client" after the target (notice the space after .exe and before -integrity)

4. Run the shortcut and the client will check your game. Hopefully it will find missing/corrupt content and replace it.

 

then just re-launch from your usual location.

 

Credit to EU forum member brownape for the "new" integrity check, http://forum.worldoftanks.eu/index.php?/topic/466290-wot-client-problems-client-integrity-check/

 

Also this can sometimes resolve problems, especially if it's settings related. 

 

Open your desktop search and type %APPDATA%

 

This will show a folder called Roaming.  Open it.

 

Now scroll down to the Wargaming.net folder and open it you will see a World of Tanks folder inside. Delete it completely.

 

Be advised removing the appdata will revert your settings to default so any customized settings will have to be reapplied.

 

Remember to back up your replay and screenshot folders if you do a fresh install.


Edited by heavymetal1967, Sep 13 2016 - 17:18.


heavymetal1967 #2 Posted May 25 2016 - 15:12

    Major

  • Players
  • 74326 battles
  • 23,242
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

BUMP!!!   Can't advise if integrity check works with 9.15 for sure.

 

 

 



capt_jay #3 Posted May 25 2016 - 21:21

    Captain

  • Players
  • 20648 battles
  • 1,082
  • Member since:
    08-28-2013
integrity check did not do the trick for me...dumped folder in Roaming as well...neither regular nor safe mode...only mod i have is XVM

heavymetal1967 #4 Posted May 26 2016 - 05:27

    Major

  • Players
  • 74326 battles
  • 23,242
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

View Postcapt_jay, on May 25 2016 - 15:21, said:

integrity check did not do the trick for me...dumped folder in Roaming as well...neither regular nor safe mode...only mod i have is XVM

 

Beyond me unfortunately. Several folks are having success updating video drivers.  If that doesn't work I'd still make a blank res_mods with a blank 0.9.15 folder in it.  Unless both are already blank.

 

Good luck.



Remnak #5 Posted May 26 2016 - 15:55

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 14229 battles
  • 36
  • Member since:
    09-07-2013
While the integrity check did work for me in 9.15 (it found files to redownload and install) game is still crashy, vanilla for me. Updated all my drivers, but was forced to update to Windows10 yesterday, and other games had to be reinstalled for me to get them to work right. I think I will be reinstalling from scratch. Thanks for keeping this link up and available.

Sesshu #6 Posted May 26 2016 - 17:30

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16234 battles
  • 790
  • [TBF] TBF
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011

I did the integrity check as well, full screen mode still broken. The WOT game can't find my native screen resolution 1280x768

 

This is my personal worst update ever, I hope they fix this with an upcoming micropatch.


Edited by Sesshu, May 26 2016 - 17:30.


Blindman081 #7 Posted May 28 2016 - 22:37

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 17359 battles
  • 731
  • Member since:
    09-18-2011
Trying this in hopes that itll fix Wargaming's total screw up.

Sesshu #8 Posted May 29 2016 - 20:39

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 16234 battles
  • 790
  • [TBF] TBF
  • Member since:
    10-21-2011

View Postheavymetal1967, on May 26 2016 - 00:27, said:

 

Beyond me unfortunately. Several folks are having success updating video drivers.  If that doesn't work I'd still make a blank res_mods with a blank 0.9.15 folder in it.  Unless both are already blank.

 

Good luck.

 

I'm already playing vanilla, I did as you said, still doesn't work in full screen mode. I'm stuck going through safe mode launch, it's the only temporary fix.

I tried this because I'm desperate for any solution. Dang it, thanks for trying to help your fellow community players!



heavymetal1967 #9 Posted Aug 03 2016 - 15:37

    Major

  • Players
  • 74326 battles
  • 23,242
  • [HSOLO] HSOLO
  • Member since:
    05-30-2012

Confirmed via another member the integrity check works with 0.9.15.1.1.

 

EDIT:  Also they've added it to the launcher start up window.  Under settings (gear icon in upper right) go to the support tab.

 

And good luck to anyone utilizing this thread.


Edited by heavymetal1967, Sep 01 2016 - 14:42.


Meigs #10 Posted Sep 07 2016 - 23:06

    Private

  • Players
  • 36407 battles
  • 6
  • [_E_] _E_
  • Member since:
    03-02-2011
Didn't work for me!

Blindman081 #11 Posted Oct 05 2016 - 01:26

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 17359 battles
  • 731
  • Member since:
    09-18-2011

View Postheavymetal1967, on Mar 11 2016 - 11:02, said:

Open your desktop search and type %APPDATA%

 

This will show a folder called Roaming.  Open it.

 

Now scroll down to the Wargaming.net folder and open it you will see a World of Tanks folder inside. Delete it completely.

Go to C:, then users, then pick your username for your computer, and then go to appdata (thats how you find this folder).

 

I had to do this again, seriously wargaming get your craptogether. Im not running any mods at all.






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users