Jump to content


Please fix

Crash to desktop

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

Cuddleme2 #1 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:12

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014
So I have been playing World of Tanks a bit every day for years. And today, I had to download a 0.5mb patch. And ever since then, when I try to log into the game, it will crash to desktop before getting to the log in screen. And this will always happen, no matter what.
I don't use mods. Everything is updated obviously, considering i played literally hours before the update. Anyone found a fix on this? I submitted a ticket, and gave my check report to them through their program. And have not gotten a response.

Kamahl1234 #2 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:18

    Major

  • Players
  • 18395 battles
  • 10,078
  • Member since:
    04-06-2012

Have you tried reinstalling the game?

 



Cuddleme2 #3 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:24

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014

View PostKamahl1234, on Apr 19 2016 - 04:18, said:

Have you tried reinstalling the game?

 

 

Why should I need to reinstall the entire game, because one of their 0.5mb patches are faulty?

TexasTech111 #4 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:26

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11529 battles
  • 1,858
  • [TL-DR] TL-DR
  • Member since:
    07-24-2013
Try sending a ticket to support with your python.log attached to the ticket.

Strigonx #5 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:26

    Major

  • Players
  • 39527 battles
  • 3,277
  • [YOUJO] YOUJO
  • Member since:
    02-05-2012

run the game on safe mode

uninstall mods



Cuddleme2 #6 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:28

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014

View PostStrigonx, on Apr 19 2016 - 04:26, said:

run the game on safe mode

uninstall mods

 

View PostSurprisedPatrick, on Apr 19 2016 - 04:26, said:

Try sending a ticket to support with your python.log attached to the ticket.

 

If you read what I posted, I don't run mods.
And obviously i've tried to run in safe mode.

And again, If you read what I posted, I did send a ticket with logs.

 

Their conclusion, is "reinstall". Which is redundant.

If someone can send me two small files, from NA server client, perhaps i can fix this myself. Let me know if you can, i will message you the two files that seem to need attention


Edited by Cuddleme2, Apr 19 2016 - 04:31.


For_Our_Freedom #7 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:35

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 22106 battles
  • 852
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
Maybe you can try to delete the files that where updated today in the Update folder. Maybe the launcher will re-download them or maybe you will have to uninstall and start from scratch.

Cuddleme2 #8 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014

View PostVape_710, on Apr 19 2016 - 04:35, said:

Maybe you can try to delete the files that where updated today in the Update folder. Maybe the launcher will re-download them or maybe you will have to uninstall and start from scratch.

 

Thats what I thought, and i, removed them from the directory, kept them safe, yet it did not recognise that they were even missing. Again, same result.

Can you PM me? I want to compare these 2 files with yours

For_Our_Freedom #9 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:39

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 22106 battles
  • 852
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

I can send you the file that has todays date on it.

 

sent you a pm.

 


Edited by Vape_710, Apr 19 2016 - 04:42.


Angusprime #10 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:40

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 35913 battles
  • 135
  • [ANVIL] ANVIL
  • Member since:
    03-08-2012
Just uninstall then reinstall a fresh game. Its good practice to do that every now and then with every game. At the very least you remove some bloat from your system. WoT is a very small download too. Takes me all of 10min to download and install it. I uninstall, reinstall every 2 patches.

Edited by Angusprime, Apr 19 2016 - 04:41.


Cuddleme2 #11 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:45

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014

View PostVape_710, on Apr 19 2016 - 04:39, said:

I can send you the file that has todays date on it.

 

 

Okay, so, according to the WGChecker.exe program they sent me,

This file is said to be incomplete, yet it has been untouched since the big update I did on 2nd of March:
C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res\scripts\item_defs\vehicles\uk\gb72_at15.xml

It is 0kb, but never caused a problem.

The second file, that is claimed to be missing is:
C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\res_mods_0.9,14\scripts\common\debug_utils.pyc

Besides logs that are generated upon booting the game, which fails every time, the only additional file i have from today is:
C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\Updates\wot_0.3.21.373_0.3.21.372_launcher.wgpkg


Which is 484kb.
 



For_Our_Freedom #12 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:48

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 22106 battles
  • 852
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010

I can send the first file. but I don't have the second one you listed in the res mods folder

 

if u need gb72_at15.xml let me know

 

I went ahead and pm'd you with the gb72_at15​ file.


Edited by Vape_710, Apr 19 2016 - 04:52.


Cuddleme2 #13 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:54

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014
Problem solves, thank you vape_710 for sending me what i needed. Like i thought it was.

C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\Updates\wot_0.3.21.373_0.3.21.372_launcher.wgpkg

That file was the problem, replaced it, and game works fine.

For_Our_Freedom #14 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 04:55

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 22106 battles
  • 852
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
np. glad I could help. always hate reinstalling a game for a simple fix.

Cuddleme2 #15 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 05:02

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014

View PostVape_710, on Apr 19 2016 - 04:55, said:

np. glad I could help. always hate reinstalling a game for a simple fix.

 

Indeed. I dislike it when people say, oh just redownload a 23gb game, you'll be right.

When they don't particularly understand how a PC works themselves.
Its like cleaning your car, and missing a spot. Then go out and buy a new car, instead of fixing whats missing. Redundant.

Thanks again buddy, I've been waiting for 12 hours just to play, and I've lost my premium time.

I do have another issue ingame, but i've sent a ticket, and only WG can help me with it, but here is a screenshot just so you know whats up.

 

EDIT: If you cannot see whats wrong here, I spent gold and free xp to unlock the turret of the e75, then the tracks, bought the tracks, and the turret relocked itself, yet consumed my gold and free xp. Even relogged and still didnt unlock it, and gold/xp was gone.


Edited by Cuddleme2, Apr 19 2016 - 05:03.


For_Our_Freedom #16 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 05:15

    First lieutenant

  • Beta Testers
  • 22106 battles
  • 852
  • Member since:
    09-15-2010
it does show that you researched it. That sucks. Today just isn't your day for tanks.
 
Hope they respond quickly and get it sorted out for you.

Edited by Vape_710, Apr 19 2016 - 05:17.


diesel__1 #17 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 05:16

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 8095 battles
  • 6,738
  • Member since:
    04-27-2015
Deleted as I have misunderstood the intent of the poster I replied to.

Edited by diesel__1, Apr 19 2016 - 05:37.


Winterpeger #18 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 05:19

    Major

  • Players
  • 52551 battles
  • 2,332
  • [DD-S] DD-S
  • Member since:
    10-25-2011
Now that we see a screen shot..  since when does the default client have the date and time displayed?  There is no settings to display the date and time in the garage.

Cuddleme2 #19 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 05:28

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014

View Postdiesel__1, on Apr 19 2016 - 05:16, said:

 

REGARDLESS of what you think, this person at least tried to help you out!  You asked for advice, that was his!  If you don't like the advice, ask for ONLY the answers that WILL solve your issue.  That would be kind of hard, wouldn't it?

 

Perhaps you read it the wrong way, there was no intention of upsetting anyone or anything lol.

Cuddleme2 #20 Posted Apr 19 2016 - 05:29

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 22068 battles
  • 19
  • [MRC] MRC
  • Member since:
    03-05-2014

View PostWinterpeger, on Apr 19 2016 - 05:19, said:

Now that we see a screen shot..  since when does the default client have the date and time displayed?  There is no settings to display the date and time in the garage.

 

Perks of being able to read and understand game files.
Games working now, just trying to resolve that e75 issue.





Also tagged with Crash to desktop

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users