Jump to content


Make Your Installation Easier!


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

Content_WG #1 Posted May 24 2016 - 22:50

    Wargaming America

  • Administrator
  • 0 battles
  • 3,238
  • Member since:
    01-17-2011
Find out how to automatically update your game with these easy steps!

Full news text

thebeatles0100 #2 Posted May 24 2016 - 22:55

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 37057 battles
  • 144
  • [GOONZ] GOONZ
  • Member since:
    02-20-2011
NOICE

R2D2CAT #3 Posted May 24 2016 - 23:03

    Captain

  • Players
  • 13890 battles
  • 1,005
  • [I_I_F] I_I_F
  • Member since:
    11-12-2012
Then again, it isn't hard to click on WOT in order to update it :trollface:

Colonel_Potter #4 Posted May 24 2016 - 23:35

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 23754 battles
  • 353
  • [DWEEB] DWEEB
  • Member since:
    07-12-2011
No thank you.  Will just do it the old fashioned way by opening the launcher and letting it update.

awesomearty #5 Posted May 25 2016 - 00:20

    Private

  • Players
  • 9047 battles
  • 5
  • [ACF] ACF
  • Member since:
    07-27-2012
Running in the background? How onerous will the process be when "idle" and not actually updating?

Isola_di_Fano #6 Posted May 25 2016 - 00:58

    Major

  • Players
  • 24227 battles
  • 4,196
  • Member since:
    11-05-2012

Hummm ... just too clarify ...

 

for the old ignorant computer illiterate pharts like myself, what is the difference between whatever I am doing now and this new thingie thing thing ?

 

:confused:



imbored4170 #7 Posted May 25 2016 - 01:03

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 24635 battles
  • 155
  • Member since:
    08-11-2011
This literally seems pointless.

spedkey #8 Posted May 25 2016 - 01:11

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 15618 battles
  • 806
  • Member since:
    06-02-2013

"Now the launcher can run in the background. The launcher will also notify you if it needs updating."

 

 

Am I missing something or where is the option to let it run in the background, WG?

And no, it is not the same as MINIMIZING the launcher. That can be done in ANY software

 



werecat #9 Posted May 25 2016 - 01:53

    Captain

  • Players
  • 29973 battles
  • 1,362
  • [TRULL] TRULL
  • Member since:
    11-02-2013
So instead of me having to click on the launcher for it to start updating, it will start updating as soon as I turn on my PC or what?

JLineman #10 Posted May 25 2016 - 02:45

    Private

  • Players
  • 36351 battles
  • 5
  • [CSCAV] CSCAV
  • Member since:
    09-22-2013

View Postimbored4170, on May 24 2016 - 19:03, said:

This literally seems pointless.

 

I dont know brother.  Like I know we are getting the update from 0400-0600 tomorrow morning.  So I am going to enable it for tonight, then disable when I log on the next time.  That way the update has taken place and I have no down time.

leadmelter3rd #11 Posted May 25 2016 - 04:24

    Private

  • Players
  • 12860 battles
  • 1
  • [BITSA] BITSA
  • Member since:
    05-31-2013

i dont have this option whats up with that

 



QWERTYEel89 #12 Posted May 25 2016 - 05:05

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 23031 battles
  • 618
  • Member since:
    02-05-2011
Still trying to figure out whether or not this was worth even mentioning, considering the majority of the game itself doesn't have a clear means of explanation that doesn't require diving through a few years of forum posts and possibly getting cursed out by blues _camo/spotting/normalization/RNG/systematic raci- oh sorry wrong forum). I guess this will help someone who switched off the option and forgot to turn it back on...

Fenriswaffles #13 Posted May 25 2016 - 05:33

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 14653 battles
  • 1,915
  • Member since:
    12-14-2010

I mean, I kind of get the reasoning for the added feature since I've more than once sat down for a session only to open the launcher and have to sit there for a bit waiting for the update, (or a certain WoWS update that took a bloody hour to install), but I don't see how its front page article worthy.

 

If it prompts to download the update and will not continue without interaction then that is like 90% pointless anyways, hope it isn't.



scottsauritch_1 #14 Posted May 25 2016 - 09:16

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1836 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-22-2015
How long is this "scheduled maintenance" going to last? Are they starting the update now and shutting servers down to prepare?

scottsauritch_1 #15 Posted May 25 2016 - 09:19

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1836 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-22-2015
Sorry that was way off topic but I don't get much time to play this month, and I haven't dealt with waiting for maintenance for awhile, usually they say it'll be from let's say "1:00-2:00am Central" or whatever..

Mercer_Keel #16 Posted May 25 2016 - 09:23

    Major

  • Players
  • 39515 battles
  • 2,678
  • [LTD] LTD
  • Member since:
    02-12-2013
You all must have Sh_T for brains. This is a great tool that lets you keep the launcher open and go to bed, work, or what ever and when you come back the game will already be updated and you don't have to wait. 

scottsauritch_1 #17 Posted May 25 2016 - 09:25

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1836 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    01-22-2015
Sorry again, I don't go on forum much obviously... just saw the whole post. Admin could you delete my idiotic post so as not to plague the forum with my stupidity? Thank you.

HOPYDOPY #18 Posted May 25 2016 - 11:31

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 1597 battles
  • 3
  • Member since:
    02-23-2016

no thank you too .

 

do not get in the way playing.  i really hate to do with LAG. pork off!!!!



Work422 #19 Posted May 25 2016 - 11:39

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 13313 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    02-05-2014

the old way works for me..easier makes no differents, you cant go in & play straight after upgrading cause servers are still down so its still no big help to anyone

 



SlotRacer #20 Posted May 25 2016 - 13:59

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 51428 battles
  • 483
  • [TNKGG] TNKGG
  • Member since:
    11-24-2012
Tried this.. didn't update :/




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users