Jump to content


Overheat


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
5 replies to this topic

FRUITKOMMANDO #1 Posted Jul 24 2011 - 02:22

    Captain

  • Players
  • 16429 battles
  • 1,501
  • Member since:
    04-01-2011
For a free to play game wot pulls an insane amount of power from my comp. This is the only game that has the dubious honor of making my computer overheat and shut down. That and the lag from smoke effects and sniper mode s ridiculous, when can all this be fixed?

Hihibob #2 Posted Jul 24 2011 - 02:24

    Captain

  • Players
  • 3476 battles
  • 1,594
  • Member since:
    04-02-2011
My computer works perfectly with WoT! :D

Do you have a more modern computer (like me), or a crappier one from the 1990s or before (like my school)?

Rose_templar #3 Posted Jul 24 2011 - 02:31

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 4595 battles
  • 499
  • Member since:
    04-30-2011
disabling recoil in sniper mode can help. This may help you as well. It's a particle compression. Also, if you look around the forums you can find a way to disable the smoke all together.  :Smile_honoring:

http://justdan-wot.b...crease-mod.html

mauser13 #4 Posted Jul 24 2011 - 02:37

    Sergeant

  • Beta Testers
  • 11400 battles
  • 244
  • Member since:
    11-13-2010
i had a similar problem with lag when in sniper mode

check it out: http://forum.worldof...post&pid=443341

if it helps let us know

Hotwired #5 Posted Jul 24 2011 - 03:04

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • 20 battles
  • 1,054
  • Member since:
    09-12-2010

View PostFRUITKOMMANDO, on Jul 24 2011 - 02:22, said:

For a free to play game wot pulls an insane amount of power from my comp. This is the only game that has the dubious honor of making my computer overheat and shut down. That and the lag from smoke effects and sniper mode s ridiculous, when can all this be fixed?

You need to fix your rig.

If your computer hardware is all within specifications, all compatible, not old, not overclocked and sufficiently ventilated it will NOT shut down like that.


If your PSU isn't putting out enough power to run your CPU and graphics card at maximum power draw then the system will frankly drop dead - you don't see your hardware pulling its maximum power normally, you need to run stress tests or play system demanding games to get them doing that.

Possibles:

- Old PSUs deliver less power than when they were new

- Overclocks, hardware upgrades such as CPU or graphics cards increase power demand - does the PSU have the correct wattage to run it all at full load?

FRUITKOMMANDO #6 Posted Jul 24 2011 - 20:14

    Captain

  • Players
  • 16429 battles
  • 1,501
  • Member since:
    04-01-2011
Let me clarify, i am using a laptop that is pretty much brand new with a  Core i7 720QM 2.66 GHz and mobility hd5870 gpu, both came with the laptop so i expect that the psu is correct. Also i have played other graphically demanding games on full settings without anything near this effect.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users