The Newbies Guide to Being A Newb

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

Zardnaar #1 Posted Jul 26 2011 - 00:33

Major

• Players
  • 20352 battles
First things 1st. I am a newb and have been playing this game for a total of 3 weeks or so. I have been on holiday so it seems to have turned into a full time job. I have managed to grind to tier 7 with an IS, Jagdpanther and T-43 and I have a stable of 10 tanks. Here are some observations I have made.

1. Russians Are Overpowered.
It is a perception here the Russian stuff is overpowered. IMHO this may only be applicable at the higher tiers. My accuracy with Russian tanks for example hovers around 50% while my German stuff is 60-71% in my new toys. With a few exceptions the German stuff also has higher penetration and is a lot more accurate at long range. American stuff has high rates of fire and is in the middle between Russian damage and German accuracy. I prefer a higher rate of fire and accuracy myself and if I could put the long German 88m on a Russian tank I would.

2. The Big Gun Always Isn't the Best
A lot of people like uber damage but I prefer high penetration and a higher rate of fire. I actually improved when I ripped the 105mm off of my Hetzer and put in a smaller gun. I also like the 57mm zis on the T-34 and T-28. I grinded through much of tier 3 and 4 on the American TD line using the humble 57mm those TDs have access to. At higher tiers ammo starts becoming expensive. My IS and Jpanther big guns cost 1000 credits a shot. On the Jagdpanther I ripped out the 105mm and went back to the long 88mm. The reason was the 105mm cost 1000 credits a shot and the long 88 was 250 credits per shot. In the 88 vs 105 debate they both had the same penetration but the 105 dealt 50% more damage while the 88 had a roughly 50% higher rate of fire so DPM (damage per minute) was identical except the 88 was more accurate and a lot cheaper to fire.