Jump to content


AMD RX480 Driver Crash


  • Please log in to reply
89 replies to this topic

SuperShermanTanker2 #1 Posted Jul 17 2016 - 22:36

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12228 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    10-01-2012
So ever since I got my new AMD RX480 GPU the driver has been crashing when I play world of tanks I do play using some mods but those mods work fine when I use my old GPU I'm kinda confused now on what to do because I don't know if it could be causing the driver crash and I have reinstalled the latest driver multiple times the driver crash happens randomly and only when I'm playing world of tanks

HellsBells_ #2 Posted Jul 17 2016 - 22:51

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 27802 battles
  • 661
  • [HLBL] HLBL
  • Member since:
    04-03-2011

have you tried changing the setting in crimson to use application settings for as many of those as you can?

 



johnmadara #3 Posted Jul 17 2016 - 23:13

    Major

  • Players
  • 31504 battles
  • 5,903
  • Member since:
    10-09-2011
Its not even been a week since release, if you bought it expecting AMD products to be good you clearly bought the wrong brand

HellsBells_ #4 Posted Jul 17 2016 - 23:16

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 27802 battles
  • 661
  • [HLBL] HLBL
  • Member since:
    04-03-2011

View Postjohnmadara, on Jul 17 2016 - 16:13, said:

Its not even been a week since release, if you bought it expecting AMD products to be good you clearly bought the wrong brand

 

i have an amd gpu but ive been thinking about getting something else, what do you use?

HippoLeef #5 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 00:24

    Staff sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 586 battles
  • 492
  • Member since:
    11-04-2014

View PostSuperShermanTanker2, on Jul 17 2016 - 22:36, said:

So ever since I got my new AMD RX480 GPU the driver has been crashing when I play world of tanks I do play using some mods but those mods work fine when I use my old GPU I'm kinda confused now on what to do because I don't know if it could be causing the driver crash and I have reinstalled the latest driver multiple times the driver crash happens randomly and only when I'm playing world of tanks

 

I run twin 390Xs with no crashes. We basically have the same drivers even for being different GPUs you need to update both crimson and your radeon drivers. They are seperate. Then go into your global overdrive settings/Wattman and set everything to neutral. Chances are that it's the bug regarding the release of wattman and your card being under powered. 

johnmadara #6 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 00:25

    Major

  • Players
  • 31504 battles
  • 5,903
  • Member since:
    10-09-2011

View PostHellsBells_, on Jul 17 2016 - 22:16, said:

 

i have an amd gpu but ive been thinking about getting something else, what do you use?

 

its Nvidia or AMD I believe, unless you are buying it because you are low on money Nvidia is byfar the better choice. Get a GTX 1060/70/80 the recording software alone is worth the buy

Bavor #7 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 01:10

    Major

  • Players
  • 28319 battles
  • 2,297
  • [REL2] REL2
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View PostHellsBells_, on Jul 17 2016 - 17:16, said:

 

i have an amd gpu but ive been thinking about getting something else, what do you use?

 

What GPU you buy depends on your budget and what games you play.    If you play just WoT and don't want to max out the settings, a GTX 960 will work fine.

 

If you can wait a little while, the GTX 1060 is going to be available soon.  The MSRP is $249.

 

If you have a $400-$500 budget, the GTX 1070 plays most new games well at 2560x1440 and 34440x1440 resolution.  Sometimes they are hard to find in stock online because they are a new GPU and very popular.  If you ever signed up for Best Buy's newsletter or the reward zone you probably received a 10% off coupon in your email recently.  With that coupon you can pick up a Nvidia GTX 1070 Founders Edition for $404.99 at your local Bestbuy.  Bestbuy stores around most major cities have them in stock now.



SuperShermanTanker2 #8 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 05:43

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12228 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    10-01-2012

View Postjohnmadara, on Jul 17 2016 - 23:25, said:

 

its Nvidia or AMD I believe, unless you are buying it because you are low on money Nvidia is byfar the better choice. Get a GTX 1060/70/80 the recording software alone is worth the buy

I already have a recording software and I have the intel HD graphics being used for a thitd display that is usimg VGA so I can use the intel Quick Sync with OBS for recording and it works fine and also I don't make much money becaus I'm in collage and most of my money is going to be saved for collage and I do know it's just a software problem and should be worked out in the next few weeks and I don't mind too much because all of my other games work fine and I can still run world of tanks no problem on my gaming laptop so I'm really not missing out on anything just because of a simple software issue



SuperShermanTanker2 #9 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 05:50

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12228 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    10-01-2012

View PostBavor, on Jul 18 2016 - 00:10, said:

 

What GPU you buy depends on your budget and what games you play.    If you play just WoT and don't want to max out the settings, a GTX 960 will work fine.

 

If you can wait a little while, the GTX 1060 is going to be available soon.  The MSRP is $249.

 

If you have a $400-$500 budget, the GTX 1070 plays most new games well at 2560x1440 and 34440x1440 resolution.  Sometimes they are hard to find in stock online because they are a new GPU and very popular.  If you ever signed up for Best Buy's newsletter or the reward zone you probably received a 10% off coupon in your email recently.  With that coupon you can pick up a Nvidia GTX 1070 Founders Edition for $404.99 at your local Bestbuy.  Bestbuy stores around most major cities have them in stock now.

AMD's rx480 isn't bad for the price I got mine for $230 and it's on par with the 970 for a fraction of the price of the 970 and even though the 1060 will be out soon AMD still has a chance with DX12 and Vulkan also before everyone calls me out for defending AMD I'm someone who goes for both AMD and Nvidia and doesn't care what they use because I have 2 machines one with a AMD A8-7650k and my GTX 950 that I tossed in there after I upgraded my main machine to the RX480 and I have my main machine with a Core i5 4690k and a RX480 and the reason I got the problem with my RX480 is because I was one of the one's who had to buy it on day 1 and got tangled into all the early bird bugs



SuperShermanTanker2 #10 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 05:52

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12228 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    10-01-2012

View PostHellsBells_, on Jul 17 2016 - 22:16, said:

 

i have an amd gpu but ive been thinking about getting something else, what do you use?

 

I have used the GTX950 and currently have the RX480 in my main machine and they bolth are strong enough to completely max out world of tanks at 1080p

SuperShermanTanker2 #11 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 05:55

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12228 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    10-01-2012

View Postjohnmadara, on Jul 17 2016 - 22:13, said:

Its not even been a week since release, if you bought it expecting AMD products to be good you clearly bought the wrong brand

 

View PostHellsBells_, on Jul 17 2016 - 22:16, said:

 

i have an amd gpu but ive been thinking about getting something else, what do you use?

 

View PostHippoLeef, on Jul 17 2016 - 23:24, said:

 

I run twin 390Xs with no crashes. We basically have the same drivers even for being different GPUs you need to update both crimson and your radeon drivers. They are seperate. Then go into your global overdrive settings/Wattman and set everything to neutral. Chances are that it's the bug regarding the release of wattman and your card being under powered. 

I will try to play arround with the AMD crimson stuff when I get the chance too and yah I did get cought out by the early bird bugs because I grabbed my RX480 literally on day 1 it was released on newegg 



Bavor #12 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 06:37

    Major

  • Players
  • 28319 battles
  • 2,297
  • [REL2] REL2
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View PostSuperShermanTanker2, on Jul 17 2016 - 23:50, said:

AMD's rx480 isn't bad for the price I got mine for $230 and it's on par with the 970 for a fraction of the price of the 970 and even though the 1060 will be out soon AMD still has a chance with DX12 and Vulkan also before everyone calls me out for defending AMD I'm someone who goes for both AMD and Nvidia and doesn't care what they use because I have 2 machines one with a AMD A8-7650k and my GTX 950 that I tossed in there after I upgraded my main machine to the RX480 and I have my main machine with a Core i5 4690k and a RX480 and the reason I got the problem with my RX480 is because I was one of the one's who had to buy it on day 1 and got tangled into all the early bird bugs

 

Its not even close to a fraction of the price of a 970.  You can find GTX 970's for as little as $199 now.  There is one GTX 970 on Newegg for $199 right now.  Its the ASUS GeForce GTX 970 TURBO-GTX970-OC-4GD5.  Many graphics car manufacturers are clearing out their 970's now.  For example EVGA is clearing them out on their web page.

Also, the GTX 970 overclocks well and offers near GTX 980 performance when overclocked.

 

The other issue is due to low supply and high demand for the RX 480, many places that have them in stock are selling them for $300-$360 now.  The cheapest RX 480 on Newegg is $359.99.  On Amazon, the cheapest RX 480 right now is $320.  With the price gouging on the RX 480, its almost worth it to spend the extra $45 over the current selling price of the RX 480 and get the GTX 1070 for $405.  Then you get GTX 980 ti/Titan X performance.  For the $360 selling price of most RX 480's you can buy a new factory overclocked GTX 980 or spend $399 and get a new GTX 980 ti.  Unless you are one of the few lucky enough to find a RX 480 at MSRP the price/performance ratio isn't that good at $320-$360.

 

Also there is the issue of the RX 480 killing motherboards before the most recent driver patch because it was drawing a lot more than 75 watts through the PCI Express slot.  Now that its limiting power through the PCI Express slot, will that have an effect on the RX 480's performance?  Since the RX 480 can't draw as much power through the PCI Express slot, its not limited even more by its 6 pin power connector.  This can either hurt its ability to overclock or reduce the ability of the card to increase its clock speeds under load.

 

I'm not loyal to one GPU manufacturer, and I own graphics cards with both AMD and Nvidia GPUs.  However, the RX 480 price gouging, the very limited supply(After AMD said there would be a huge supply and no shortages), and the RX 480 killing motherboards while drawing more power than it should then having to be fixed really hurts the RX 480.  I really wanted the RX 480 to have an amazing launch to make Nvidia either lower their prices or step up their game and increase the competition again.  



SuperShermanTanker2 #13 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 07:19

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12228 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    10-01-2012

View PostBavor, on Jul 18 2016 - 05:37, said:

 

Its not even close to a fraction of the price of a 970.  You can find GTX 970's for as little as $199 now.  There is one GTX 970 on Newegg for $199 right now.  Its the ASUS GeForce GTX 970 TURBO-GTX970-OC-4GD5.  Many graphics car manufacturers are clearing out their 970's now.  For example EVGA is clearing them out on their web page

Also, the GTX 970 overclocks well and offers near GTX 980 performance when overclocked.

 

The other issue is due to low supply and high demand for the RX 480, many places that have them in stock are selling them for $300-$360 now.  The cheapest RX 480 on Newegg is $359.99.  On Amazon, the cheapest RX 480 right now is $320.  With the price gouging on the RX 480, its almost worth it to spend the extra $45 over the current selling price of the RX 480 and get the GTX 1070 for $405.  Then you get GTX 980 ti/Titan X performance.  For the $360 selling price of most RX 480's you can buy a new factory overclocked GTX 980 or spend $399 and get a new GTX 980 ti.  Unless you are one of the few lucky enough to find a RX 480 at MSRP the price/performance ratio isn't that good at $320-$360.

 

Also there is the issue of the RX 480 killing motherboards before the most recent driver patch because it was drawing a lot more than 75 watts through the PCI Express slot.  Now that its limiting power through the PCI Express slot, will that have an effect on the RX 480's performance?  Since the RX 480 can't draw as much power through the PCI Express slot, its not limited even more by its 6 pin power connector.  This can either hurt its ability to overclock or reduce the ability of the card to increase its clock speeds under load.

 

I'm not loyal to one GPU manufacturer, and I own graphics cards with both AMD and Nvidia GPUs.  However, the RX 480 price gouging, the very limited supply(After AMD said there would be a huge supply and no shortages), and the RX 480 killing motherboards while drawing more power than it should then having to be fixed really hurts the RX 480.  I really wanted the RX 480 to have an amazing launch to make Nvidia either lower their prices or step up their game and increase the competition again.  

I was just going off the price I paid early in the mourning on newegg on launch day of the RX480 and once all the stock issues of the RX480 get worked out the price should be back at it's $230 price for the 8gb model and I only grabed the RX480 because it was a good price for a latest gen card and I didn't want to get stuck with 3.5gb of vram with the falsly advertised 4gb on the 970 and also I basically paid the price a bit for getting somthing on launch day but after the bugs got ironed out with the power issue and hopefully the software issue soon with World of Tanks I'm still pretty happy with buying it also Nvidia is also doing some wierd stuff like the Founders Edition with the Founders Tax causing us to wait on the board partners to get the inexpensive stuff so AMD made a good move making their card at $200-$230 for the base price when all the stock situation is sorted out and we can only see what nvidia has to hold after their Founders card rolls out all overpriced in all with the and after the board partners finally get their cards out with the less expensive 1060s and the better overclocking rx480s then we can see who has the better card



black_colt #14 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 15:52

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,036
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostSuperShermanTanker2, on Jul 17 2016 - 13:36, said:

So ever since I got my new AMD RX480 GPU the driver has been crashing when I play world of tanks I do play using some mods but those mods work fine when I use my old GPU I'm kinda confused now on what to do because I don't know if it could be causing the driver crash and I have reinstalled the latest driver multiple times the driver crash happens randomly and only when I'm playing world of tanks

 

I have an 4GB AMD Radeon R9 M395x dedicated card in my iMac [MS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 4.0GHz Intel Core i7, and 5k screen] and found that the latest MS Windows drivers for that hardware were causing random crashes when the game graphics were set to Improved and Maximum. 

 

Turning down the game graphics to Improved and Medium all but eliminated the crashes.  While it is not as immersive as Improved and Maximum - at least the game was not crashing right at the good parts. 

 

Also setting the World of Tanks process to High helped as well as increasing the FPS [from 30 to 50] and reducing the ping [from 200/300 to 100/110] in any game graphics setting on a 150 MBps direct Internet connection.



SuperShermanTanker2 #15 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 15:58

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 12228 battles
  • 35
  • Member since:
    10-01-2012

View Postblack_colt, on Jul 18 2016 - 14:52, said:

 

I have an 4GB AMD Radeon R9 M395x dedicated card in my iMac [MS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 4.0GHz Intel Core i7, and 5k screen] and found that the latest MS Windows drivers for that hardware were causing random crashes when the game graphics were set to Improved and Maximum. 

 

Turning down the game graphics to Improved and Medium all but eliminated the crashes.  While it is not as immersive as Improved and Maximum - at least the game was not crashing right at the good parts. 

 

Also setting the World of Tanks process to High helped as well as increasing the FPS [from 30 to 50] and reducing the ping [from 200/300 to 100/110] in any game graphics setting on a 150 MBps direct Internet connection.

 

I'm just going to wait for a new driver because my machine is a over $1200 custom built gaming desktop that I'm only going to run gams at max setings on and if the driver becomes too much of a problem I'll put my old GTX 950 back in there but all of the games I play do seem to work fine and World of Tanks is the only one crashing

black_colt #16 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 18:26

    Major

  • -Players-
  • 3370 battles
  • 2,036
  • Member since:
    01-11-2015

View PostSuperShermanTanker2, on Jul 18 2016 - 06:58, said:

 

I'm just going to wait for a new driver because my machine is a over $1200 custom built gaming desktop that I'm only going to run gams at max setings on and if the driver becomes too much of a problem I'll put my old GTX 950 back in there but all of the games I play do seem to work fine and World of Tanks is the only one crashing

 

I play World Of Tanks under MS Windows and OS X [same hardware - 4GB AMD Radeon r9 M395x discrete graphics card] and cannot use the highest settings in either OS without issues - so I suspect that it is an AMD graphics driver issue.

 

Have been playing more on WinTel than OS X since the graphics settings can be set higher in MS Windows - pity since that is the only reason I boot into MS Windows on my iMac.  The 9.15 update has really messed up the WoT Mac Wrapper.  MS Windows is better but since getting crashes, freezes, etc. - not something I would expect for an iMac with 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 4.0GHz Intel Core i7, and a 5K screen.

 

NVIDIA discrete cards seem to have no issues in either OS [both on an older iMac - 1GB NVIDIA discrete card and MacBook Pro Retina - 2GB NVIDIA discrete card] so it probably would be prudent to put the NVIDIA graphics card back in your WinTel machine.

 

Update: Settings for my AMD Radeon R9 M395X [4GB] for reference

 

Radeon Software Version - 15.11
Radeon Software Edition - Crimson
Windows Version - Windows 10
System Memory - 32 GB
CPU Type - Intel® Core™ i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz

 

Radeon Settings Version - 2016.0209.2253.41136
Driver Packaging Version - 15.301.2101-160209a-299468C
Provider - Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
2D Driver Version - 8.1.1.1533
Direct3D® Version - 9.14.10.1171
OpenGL® Version - 6.14.10.13417
OpenCL™ Version - 2.0.4.0
AMD Mantle Version - 9.1.10.99
AMD Mantle API Version - 98309
AMD Audio Driver Version - 10.0.0.2

 


Edited by black_colt, Jul 19 2016 - 02:56.


Danglebeef #17 Posted Jul 18 2016 - 22:04

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 30241 battles
  • 82
  • [GMV] GMV
  • Member since:
    05-11-2013

check out the AMD community too, they've pretty much come to the same conclusion that there is some sort of incompatibility with the 480 and WOT.  I too bought it from my local microcenter when it came out, the card benched well, and stress tested fantasically, it was just gameplay in WOT, where i spend most if not all of my gaming time.  I got fed up, and said fu-get-about-it and returned the card and used the credit to get the MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X.  Personally, i was really disappointed with the bug experienced, if i played any other game i would more than likely have picked up my second and had another Xfire config to replace my aging R9290X's in crossfire.

 

https://community.am...m/thread/202877

https://community.am...m/thread/202843

https://community.am...m/thread/202889


Edited by Danglebeef, Jul 18 2016 - 22:07.


TheInnovator #18 Posted Jul 24 2016 - 20:45

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 29137 battles
  • 10
  • [WONKA] WONKA
  • Member since:
    06-06-2012
My WoT crashes too with the RX 480. Damn amateurs @ AMD. My first AMD GPU buy and it will be the last. Unfreakingbelievable!

nightmare190 #19 Posted Jul 25 2016 - 19:10

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 7236 battles
  • 18
  • [AR-15] AR-15
  • Member since:
    01-27-2014
Ditto on the RX 480. I have a Gigabyte reference card and it crashes on world of tanks ONLY. Just world of tanks. I have had it crash 3 times in a row as soon as I get back into battle.

Bavor #20 Posted Dec 17 2016 - 18:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 28319 battles
  • 2,297
  • [REL2] REL2
  • Member since:
    04-21-2013

View PostGoodsnpr, on Dec 15 2016 - 12:01, said:

Never had an issue with AMD, so piss off nCrapia fanboy. 

 

Way to bring a thread back from the dead necromancer!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users