Jump to content


Chronic CTD's

crash CTD

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

Dead_Bishop #1 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 03:23

    Private

  • Players
  • 3935 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    09-27-2013

Hello Fellow Tankers,

 

Maybe some of you have encountered & solved this problem.

 

Early this year, I "quit" WoT & uninstalled. Sometime before Thanksgiving, I reinstalled & started playing again.


Since I have started again, I have nights where the client crashes every 2nd, 3rd, 4th game, usually but not always early in the match, and often (I think this might be the problem) on maps I haven't played yet that night. Some nights, I get no crashes, but I almost always get at least one. Tonight it crashed after I'd moved ten yards in my first match. Highly annoying, and I've about had it.*

 

My near-potato exceeds minimum requirements, but not recommended. I am running vanilla WoT, no mods. I have all graphics settings at minimum except draw distance, which I have been lowering. My graphics driver is less than 30 days old, and I cut my running applications down to system only to play. My internet DL connection is 60 Mbps. I play east coast server, which is "local."

 

It would be nice to have a newer machine, but since the AC/Heater unit went out Christmas Eve, my Christmas cash will be keeping me warm rather than entertained.

 

Has anyone else experienced this scenario, and were you able to fix it w/o buying new hardware?

 

PRACTICAL advice greatly welcomed.

 

*PS. While I like auto restart of the client, it shouldn't require my "click" to acknowledge that it's crashed, and sometimes it doesn't restart so it takes even longer to get back in game.

 



Demonic_Angel_of_Death #2 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 03:32

    Major

  • Players
  • 2160 battles
  • 3,983
  • [DEMON] DEMON
  • Member since:
    09-29-2012
Define CTD please... 

AdmiralDefcon97 #3 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 03:33

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 12168 battles
  • 791
  • Member since:
    11-18-2011

View PostDemonic_Angel_of_Death, on Dec 27 2016 - 21:32, said:

Define CTD please... 

 

ctd= crash to desktop

AdmiralDefcon97 #4 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 03:34

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 12168 battles
  • 791
  • Member since:
    11-18-2011
i used to get these, went away when i updated my physical video card ;/

jt1alta #5 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 03:47

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 41947 battles
  • 603
  • Member since:
    01-15-2014

I run 2 monitors,WoT on one and music,forums and misc. on the other.I sometimes had this problem which seems to be caused by Adobe Flash.If you are running Mozilla they have a protocol to fix it.

I hope this helps.



Harkonen_siegetank #6 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 03:53

    Major

  • Players
  • 28025 battles
  • 5,441
  • [_LOL_] _LOL_
  • Member since:
    04-26-2011

Lol I read the title as "Chronic STD" and was like....wat?

 

OT: Your near potato rig specs please.



Dead_Bishop #7 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 06:15

    Private

  • Players
  • 3935 battles
  • 2
  • Member since:
    09-27-2013

View PostHarkonen_siegetank, on Dec 28 2016 - 02:53, said:

Lol I read the title as "Chronic STD" and was like....wat?

 

OT: Your near potato rig specs please.

 

Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU     E8400  @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)

Win Vista

3Gb RAM

2xNvidia GTS240 SLI

~500Gb HD free

 

 



Pakratte #8 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 06:32

    Captain

  • -Players-
  • 12551 battles
  • 1,562
  • Member since:
    09-08-2014

View PostDead_Bishop, on Dec 28 2016 - 00:15, said:

 

Intel® Core™2 Duo CPU     E8400  @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)

Win Vista

3Gb RAM

2xNvidia GTS240 SLI

~500Gb HD free

 

 

 

Still better than that pos a family member got me for a 'present'



Harkonen_siegetank #9 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 07:30

    Major

  • Players
  • 28025 battles
  • 5,441
  • [_LOL_] _LOL_
  • Member since:
    04-26-2011

My guess would be the SLI setup. Disable it and try running it again.

 

This thread have something similar, might worth checking it out.

 

http://forum.worldoftanks.com/index.php?/topic/523213-917-crash/



omi5cron #10 Posted Dec 28 2016 - 12:45

    Major

  • Players
  • 22323 battles
  • 3,029
  • Member since:
    04-01-2013
as i understand it , SLI is not supported? i had a crossfire rig when i first started,had to disable one of the cards to make the game run.finally i just upgraded to a more powerful single card. if you can disable 1 card without removing it,try running that way. also,use the launcher to do an integrity check,just in case the install is corrupted.





Also tagged with crash, CTD

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users