The return of the Newcomers Helpline -- Ask any question you need answered!

• Please log in to reply
159 replies to this topic

Cazamal #21 Posted Jan 24 2017 - 00:24

Corporal

• -Players-
  • 2750 battles
How do I stop hull lock from deactivating when I move?

Dhizi #22 Posted Jan 24 2017 - 00:41

Captain

• -Players-
  • 4286 battles
  • [IOC] IOC

View PostTitaneus_, on Jan 23 2017 - 14:31, said:

I am having trouble when it comes to pushing forward. In some battles I overextend and get completely obliterated and in others I stay too far back. Or I just get destroyed by artillery. How can I stop this? I'm a heavy tank driver (T29).

Also, what is a good tank that I can use to make money? (Non premium)

It's pretty easy to gauge appropriate aggression time and when to stay in cover. But still, it requires some practice and time in the tank you choose before you find the perfect timing.

First things first -- It looks like you're rushing quickly through tank tiers from your statistics. I'd recommend using the T29 as a good stopping point until you feel you're comfortable with your performance, as it's a great tank and T7 is usually the tier where learning the finer mechanics of the game begin. You've only got near-800 battles played, so even at that point, you're doing reasonably well for a new tanker.

As far as pushing up in battle -- It's all map-dependent and team-dependent. You need to analyze the enemy teams composition of tanks and your own before pushing. For example:

• Do you have scouts still alive, and actively scouting the map? If so, and they are not taking fire, that is probably a good time to move up -- within the areas they're scouting.
  • Is the enemy team mostly tank destroyers or slow, immobile tanks? If so, you CAN proceed -- but move carefully, and keep in cover after each movement for a few seconds. Always be moving your tank though -- wiggle the turret and the hull a tiny bit as to make it hard to hit weakpoints.