Jump to content


Horrendous lag spikes since 9.17.1 update

lag

  • Please log in to reply
133 replies to this topic

GHR1227 #121 Posted Jul 19 2017 - 05:49

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 43114 battles
  • 790
  • [TIGR] TIGR
  • Member since:
    07-08-2013

Been having awful spikes of lag and packet loss.   I'm on an I3-4130 with an nVidia 750Ti using July4th 2017 drivers;

idk the version.    I'm in Houston, on Xfinity 70M down/10M up cable, and have lower ping on East Server.

 

I use team speak and a couple of other online games (splinter cell blacklist and borderlands to name two) and never notice

any ping issues in multiplayer mod there.  Only in WoT.

 

WoT runs at max graphics full screen without any problems UNLESS there is packet loss and lag spikes. 

 

Packet loss makes me have 2-3 sec input delay in driving and shooting with nominal ping of 40.

This obviously takes a toll on my ability to hit enemy since the shots ghost where I thought the tank was.

Or the shot will just seem to explode mid air without any feed back of a hit nor my seeing the shot land.

If I'm platooning my toon mate might see it land far from where I aimed at or right in front short. 

Couple normal dispersion with packet loss and it's a recipe for bad game play.

I've noticed my hit ratio taking a hit such as 45 hits in 100 shots and only 20 penetrations. 

I play a lot of heavies and mediums so he shots should hit more than that.

 

The lag spikes are short bursts or longer ones of ping of 300 for more for a few seconds.

At this point is when my minimap and game begin rubber banding badly and it becomes unplayable.

 

A few minutes ago at about 11:30PM CDT -July 18th I had 300ms spikes in two different battles while in a

light tank.  Both ended with my lagging into the open and getting shot to hamburger.   The ping was 300ms to start

then dropped to near normal 40-50 ping.  Then after a few minutes it started rubber banding but ping

stayed put at 40-50 and then jumped followed by the aforementioned spikes in ping.

 

I have noted others in my clan saying they had bad ping but I thought it was their WiFi, but now I'm not so sure.

A clan I play Strongholds with last had two members unable to play when they kept dropping connection from

WoT and they are both in Montana in same household.



eskimoPC #122 Posted Aug 22 2017 - 21:02

    Private

  • Players
  • 21047 battles
  • 1
  • Member since:
    10-30-2013
I experienced alot of lag recently, only thing different was I had to install Wargaming Center. Don't know how now, but suspected the wgc to be some issue, and uninstalled. Then running WoT directly from folder and .exe; all is good now!

OlTanker #123 Posted Aug 26 2017 - 03:33

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 11128 battles
  • 187
  • Member since:
    01-17-2016

Ping today has been absolutely horrible. I had to log off because you cannot play with a constant ping of 999. I have NEVER had ping issues like this since the central server was activated. I think that there was insufficient thought and planning put into the move. In short you totally screwed the pooch. Either fix the damn thing or put the other 2 servers back into operation.

 



Major_Pain_Diaz #124 Posted Aug 29 2017 - 13:49

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 22220 battles
  • 42
  • [G_S] G_S
  • Member since:
    06-05-2015

I would like to say that since the NA Central server was added, my performance has been much improved. I am usually on cable (25 down, 10 up) in Minneapolis/St. Paul but also played a bit while in Chicago on Xfinity WiFi with good results. On cable, I'm seeing pings in the 20-40 range whereas it used to be 40-60 on East and 50-80 on West. I saw some ping spikes while on WiFi in Chicago but that was probably a local bandwidth issue.

 

Overall, the Central server has made the game much smoother for me. Thanks.



suncat69 #125 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 03:50

    Private

  • -Players-
  • 29881 battles
  • 7
  • Member since:
    09-01-2014
LAG  !!! LAG !!! LAG!!!!

tod914 #126 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 04:03

    Captain

  • Players
  • 49714 battles
  • 1,845
  • [RDNKS] RDNKS
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013
It's something they did in the 9.15 patch that created this, and several other issues.  Friends list ring a bell?  Packet loss makes too many bounced or missed shots.  Server transfer, and game play was fine up until the 25th of Aug..  Finally cleared up at around 1000pm est.  this evening.  Wondering how much of the player base left because of this bs.

Browncow13 #127 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 04:13

    Captain

  • Players
  • 20872 battles
  • 1,100
  • [T-GBU] T-GBU
  • Member since:
    01-11-2013
update yer toasters people. 

tod914 #128 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 04:56

    Captain

  • Players
  • 49714 battles
  • 1,845
  • [RDNKS] RDNKS
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

View PostBrowncow13, on Aug 29 2017 - 22:13, said:

update yer toasters people. 

Computer is 4+ years old.  Windows 10, 16 ram, I7=4770 3.4ghz, GTX 760 video card, solid state hd.  Should do the trick for this, no?  150 Fios connection.


Edited by tod914, Aug 30 2017 - 16:35.


Genarelbetrayus #129 Posted Aug 30 2017 - 15:12

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 17040 battles
  • 167
  • [RACK] RACK
  • Member since:
    09-21-2014
upgrade computer, get better internet and stop looking at naked's on your computer problem fixed.   :bajan:

yewchung #130 Posted Sep 01 2017 - 03:06

    Major

  • Players
  • 17451 battles
  • 4,366
  • [AWOO] AWOO
  • Member since:
    05-03-2011

Odd, my ping rose by 160-250ms today, I'm not sure what's going on but I'm gonna do a virus scan.



klam #131 Posted Sep 02 2017 - 21:12

    Corporal

  • -Players-
  • 9615 battles
  • 34
  • [MOVE] MOVE
  • Member since:
    08-26-2015

60% packet lost for me at Level3. net

 


Edited by klam, Sep 03 2017 - 01:40.


Panzerzor #132 Posted Oct 09 2017 - 02:43

    Private

  • Players
  • 25148 battles
  • 6
  • [TEMPL] TEMPL
  • Member since:
    10-05-2011
Hi there i have been having the same problem ever since the server merge at this location lag-11.ear3.Newark1.Level3.net. I talked to my ip and they said after doing many tests on there end they found that location to be leased to go daddy server.  My ip told them they are paying them to host the game on that level 3. so far all wargaming could do is blame my ip and my ip does insist its wargaming =(

tod914 #133 Posted Oct 11 2017 - 02:36

    Captain

  • Players
  • 49714 battles
  • 1,845
  • [RDNKS] RDNKS
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

30% packet loss right now.  Glad I put money into this game.  Seems the Telia hub is the issue.

 

Spoiler

 


Edited by tod914, Oct 11 2017 - 02:58.


tod914 #134 Posted Yesterday, 12:52 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 49714 battles
  • 1,845
  • [RDNKS] RDNKS
  • Member since:
    12-23-2013

Still @ 30% packet loss, but the last 3 days the game play has been fine.  Not sure why it's so erratic at times.  Support has been having me do a few things to see if we can clear it up.  They have been very timely in their responses in trying to resolve this issue.  Here is the information they provided in case someone wants to try it without going through support.  Essentially resets your connection.

 

Spoiler

 

Maybe this will help. 

 

There is also connection maint. they suggested.  Looks more involved.  I'll post back after I do that and let you know the results.







Also tagged with lag

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users