Jump to content


Fix for the RX 470/480 CTD's!


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

Punk_Dude #1 Posted Mar 11 2017 - 07:12

    Private

  • Players
  • 18208 battles
  • 4
  • Member since:
    06-01-2013
The fix for the RX470/480 CTD is to create a shortcut on your desktop for the "C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\WorldOfTanks.exe" and add after it with a space in between "-clientGraphicsAPI d3d9".  It is an issue with DX.  You need to force it to run in DX9mode.  I have had absolutely NO CTD's since doing this for about 3 weeks now.

rich73 #2 Posted Mar 11 2017 - 07:45

    Major

  • Players
  • 39012 battles
  • 4,270
  • Member since:
    10-17-2011
So it would look like     C:\Games\World_of_Tanks\WorldOfTanks.exe -clientGraphicsAPI d3d9       ?

Edited by rich73, Mar 11 2017 - 07:46.


ZeuS1911 #3 Posted Mar 11 2017 - 07:53

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 24499 battles
  • 218
  • [4NZAB] 4NZAB
  • Member since:
    12-29-2011

They probably buggered it up for all AMD users.  It was crashing to desktop in battles for me also with an ATI 7950 3GB, when they did the big dx11 graphics update.

 

I only added -dx9 and it doesnt crash anymore.

 

C:\World_of_Tanks\WoTLauncher.exe -dx9

 

Didnt even need to do it to the main .exe, just on the launcher shortcut worked fine adding just -dx9

 



rich73 #4 Posted Mar 11 2017 - 07:58

    Major

  • Players
  • 39012 battles
  • 4,270
  • Member since:
    10-17-2011

View PostZeuS1911, on Mar 10 2017 - 22:53, said:

They probably buggered it up for all AMD users.  It was crashing to desktop in battles for me also with an ATI 7950 3GB, when they did the big dx11 graphics update.

 

I only added -dx9 and it doesnt crash anymore.

 

C:\World_of_Tanks\WoTLauncher.exe -dx9

 

Didnt even need to do it to the main .exe, just on the launcher shortcut worked fine adding just -dx9

 

 

Thanks ,will try..just did a full reinstall trying to fix this and the issue where I cant get chat box in battle or ping map and other fine things WG has made for us to figure out for them.

rich73 #5 Posted Mar 11 2017 - 08:52

    Major

  • Players
  • 39012 battles
  • 4,270
  • Member since:
    10-17-2011
Crash to desktop with -dx9..trying the other method at top as per Punk_Dude..

KnightOfEris #6 Posted Mar 12 2017 - 02:57

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 5478 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    12-20-2014

I've had no issues with crashes using my RX480, none whatsoever. Then again I follow recommended procedure before upgrading my Radeon drivers, and remove the old drivers completely in Safe mode before installing the new drivers. Also, I disable 'automatic driver updates' for the video card in Windows 10.

 

http://www.guru3d.co...r-download.html



KnightOfEris #7 Posted Yesterday, 05:12 AM

    Sergeant

  • -Players-
  • 5478 battles
  • 129
  • Member since:
    12-20-2014
Just to update my last post, I do now get CTD on the arctic map when setting 'Foliage' to anything other than 'low'.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users